No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dog House

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Faringdon Road, Frilford Heath , Abingdon, OX13 6QJ
The Doghouse Hotel Frilford Heath near Abingdon and Oxford sits with easy access to Abingdon via the A420. The traditional Dog House Hotel started its life in the early 18th century as a smallholding, and in later years became an inn in 1847. The name of the Dog House Hotel has rather an unusual origin. In days gone by, wealthy farming gentry sent their offspring to be educated in Oxford and would arrive there complete with their horses and hunting dogs. The Colleges allowed their students to stable horses but not the dogs! Alas, with nowhere else to house the animals, the proprietor of the local inn offered an invaluable 'dog sitting' service and the venue became known as the Dog House.

There is also a tradition that the Dog House came by its name because it was once the kennels for a local hunt. Today the Dog House Hotel is a pretty country hotel set in the beautiful Oxfordshire countryside. Hotel is a firm favourite with locals and travellers alike and a great base for exploring the local area.
Picture of Dog House , Abingdon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In the dog house
Very good staff and service let down by very scruffy decor. Ie no chrome on the taps in the bathroom, all worn away. Dirty and stained carpets. The whole place is overdue for a major overhaul

Reviewed by
K Finch

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, fantastic customer service
I thought this was a really nice hotel. The welcome I received set the tone for the fantastic service throughout my stay. I found all the staff to be very helpful, polite and efficient. I ate in the restaurant for my evening meal and the choices were good and varied and the quality of my meal was excellent. I also had breakfast which, again, was very good.

Reviewed by
Debbie H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good discount but
lovely setting,comfortable room and bed,and all nice and clean, so decided to have dinner there in the evening.' big mistake'.as non meat eaters we had the two fish dishes from the menu. i thought i could not go wrong with the cod and chips, the batter was a dirty brown colour,the cod??? watery greyish brown and white,with the skin on,tasted awful. my partner attempted the smoked haddock casserole,it was obviously reheated,dried out and crusty.the new potatoes were in the same condition.the waiter asked what was wrong why had we left so much,we pointed to the fish to which he mumbled something about the fault of their supplier.and to add insult to injury they charged £9-20 for a gin and tonic and a bottle of cider. and so to breakfast,it is served until 10-oclock,we arrived at 9-45, no orange juice or fruit left, so i asked the waitress if there was anymore, she pointedly looked at her watch and told me that the fruit was finished and that there was some earlier. sounds petty but the watch routine was carried out again as she was clearing the dining room .

Reviewed by
c felix

From newquay, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business trip
The DogHouse is ideally located for work in Abingdon. It is comfortable. And friendly place where the staff really do their best to provide good service. The kitchen is excellent, I have never had a bad meal there. I would recommend the Dog House to anyone.

Reviewed by
Rupert Groves

From Dunstable, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean hotel with nice food
Stayed here while doing a charity bike ride locally , the room was slightly dated but clean, great value for money, food was excellent and reasonable priced

Reviewed by
J Watmough

From Billericay, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good quiet spot

Reviewed by
Kevin Weston

From Mold, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good. Relaxed.

Reviewed by
K Weston

From Mold, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms need TLC
It was a beautiful setting, to have the fire burning on arrival and that wonderful smell. Breakfast was very good and a great selection. Just a little disappointed with the room, was a lovely size and bed was comfy, but could do with a bit of TLC.

Reviewed by
T Harris

From Abingdon, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very plesant stay
Very plesantly surprised, although we only stayed at The Dog's House Hotel for one night we had a very enjoyable evening. Had a lovely well priced eveing meal and one of the best nights sleep in a very comfortable bed.

Reviewed by
Christine C

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Impressed
We were not expecting such good service for such a small overnight charge very impressed staff very friendly food excellent no complaints

Reviewed by
Julia P

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next