No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dog House

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Faringdon Road, Frilford Heath , Abingdon, OX13 6QJ
The Doghouse Hotel Frilford Heath near Abingdon and Oxford sits with easy access to Abingdon via the A420. The traditional Dog House Hotel started its life in the early 18th century as a smallholding, and in later years became an inn in 1847. The name of the Dog House Hotel has rather an unusual origin. In days gone by, wealthy farming gentry sent their offspring to be educated in Oxford and would arrive there complete with their horses and hunting dogs. The Colleges allowed their students to stable horses but not the dogs! Alas, with nowhere else to house the animals, the proprietor of the local inn offered an invaluable 'dog sitting' service and the venue became known as the Dog House.

There is also a tradition that the Dog House came by its name because it was once the kennels for a local hunt. Today the Dog House Hotel is a pretty country hotel set in the beautiful Oxfordshire countryside. Hotel is a firm favourite with locals and travellers alike and a great base for exploring the local area.
Picture of Dog House , Abingdon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a dog in sight
Lovely stay at old inn visiting family nearby, excellent meal on the evening and pleasant room clean and comfortable. .

Reviewed by
Christine D

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
A comfortable relaxing place to stay, very clean with everything we needed. Good sized bathroom and the shower worked well. Super breakfast which is also available to non-residents so we could have family living close by join us. Our 'superior' room was just that.

Reviewed by
Gill H

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everyone was most welcoming and helpful; could not be bettered

Reviewed by
P Clark

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Dog House - Oxfordshire
Good quality accomdation for the money. Friendly helpful staff who are unfortnuately let down by the speed of the kitchen, and quality of food produced. The main bar area could do with updating, decor looks unfinished and resturant area unfined. Better use of space required. Outside area's looked attractive, and well keep but was to cold to make use of :-)

Reviewed by
G C

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value - Cheap and Cheerful - A Little Gem in Oxfordshire

Reviewed by
Richard T

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly country inn
I felt that the room could have been to a higher standard for the price, however overall it was a pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
N Morley

From , England
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff are friendly, large Car park, good quality breakfast and evening meals. rooms are clean and spacious however our room (20) was above the kitchen and the hummm from the fridge working all night kept us awake

Reviewed by
Scott G

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good

Reviewed by
Sylvia W

From France
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location
Excellent Breakfast, good room, disappointing meal in the evening

Reviewed by
Gill H

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the quiet, restful stay expected ...... or required!
Unfortunately we were told on arriving at 10pm that a disco was going on but would be finished by 11.30pm and would not cause us any problems. Our room was directly above the disco which finished at 12.10am. After a long day this is not what we needed and somewhat spoilt our visit. The food at breakfast was good but the service was rushed, disorganised with tables left uncleared and repeated requests for service.

Reviewed by
Mark R

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next