Reviews - The Old Palace Lodge

4

Church Street, Dunstable, LU5 4RT

Price From 112.86 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (32)

84% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Andrew R

  • January 2016

Very nice hotel

Very nice hotel, staff very helpful, would definitely stay again.

  • Adam Booth

  • December 2015

weekend away

none

  • Beverley W

  • December 2015

Wonderful weekend stay

  • Luke S

  • December 2015

Nice place. Friendly staff

I enjoyed my stay and the food was great.

My one complaint would be having a double room which consisted off two singles pushed together.

  • Sharon Howell

  • October 2015

Lovely Hotel

The Old Palace Lodge is well worth its 4 star rating.

The customer service was excellent right from checking in to checking out. My only query would be the price of the breakfast was £11.50 each which I thought was a little excessive although it was very nice. The only other problem was the pillows where very hard but the bed was a king size and very comfortable.

  • S Probert-Hill

  • August 2015

Is great but could be better

We have stayed in this hotel once before to visit family in St Albans and on both occasions the staff were friendly and attentative, the room was spacious and clean and the facilities were good.

There are a few areas for improvement, some may be harder to fix than others. The walls between rooms are thin. On both occasions we were kept awake until the early hours by noisy neighbours. The first occasion was by partying neighbours the second, and rather more grim, by the sound of a couple having sex followed by several hours of arguing!. ( the mind boggles!!) The first time I did call reception to see if they could have a quiet word, which they did but without much success. The second time I didn't bother - but perhaps I should have. The problem is that the walls are very thin and any chat (or otherwise!) comes through loud and clear.

There is no aircon in the rooms and it got very hot, even with the windows open. Last time the breakfast was amazing and we were really looking forward to more of the same. This time they have clearly cut back and the choice was much more limited. No choice of egg either which was disappointing and the tea came in vacuum jugs so it didn't taste great. Still a decent spread but I missed my eggs benedict.

  • paul B

  • August 2015

Nice staff clean hotel and lots of places to eat and have a drink close by.

Good value

  • steve jones

  • July 2015

Business Traveller

Couldn't get closer to the centre of Dunstable than this, so spot on.

Everything was great for a one night stay - would definitely go again

  • Richard Coyne

  • June 2015

Last Minute Change of Plan

We used the hotel as a base to get up to Whipsnade zoo.

Perfect location as the zoo is only 10 minutes up the road. I've had a years worth of bad experiences with hotels but i'm glad to say the curse has been lifted. The quietest night sleep i've had in a long time, pitch black room with the curtains drawn and really comfy bed. All I ask for in a hotel.

  • R Carrey

  • June 2015

Excellent food and service in a charming hotel