No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Palace Lodge

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Church Street , Dunstable, LU5 4RT
Located in the historic Market Town of Dunstable, The Newly Awarded 4 Star Old Palace Lodge Hotel stands as it has for several hundred years with warm old English charm.

With 68 en-suite spacious bedrooms, designed to a Standard or Executive level, and three Meeting and Event suites, offering the perfect fit for Business Seminars and Private Functions, the hotel has been described as a Jewel in Dunstable and, it really is....

The Popular Henry Restaurant, has welcomed Andrew Hill the new Executive Head Chef. Andrew and his brigade have comprised a set of exciting brand new menus, from the A La Carte, wedding, Banqueting, to the Room and Lounge. The superb presentation and accompanied of course, with our new selection of fine Wines, these mouth watering dishes would compliment any palate.

The Old Palace Lodge offers complimentary on-site car parking, gym onsite and WI-FI internet access.

Ideally located, The Old Palace Lodge is in walking distance to Dunstable Town and situated only 10 minutes drive from the hustle and bustle of the nearby Town of Luton and London Luton Airport. The M1 junction 11 is located 5 minutes drive away.

Dunstable Town 2 Minutes Walk
Luton Airport Only 5 Miles
Woburn Abbey 8 Miles
Whipsnade 4 Miles
Picture of The Old Palace Lodge, Dunstable at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

LT Old Palace Lodge Review
Only stayed the one night but I have no complaints. The room was certainly good value for money, and the staff and waitresses were friendly. I thought the food was a little over priced but that was only a minor issue.

Reviewed by
Luke T

From , UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent service
The staff were exceptional.. nothing was too much trouble

Reviewed by
T Hutton

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A perfect night stay at Old Palace Lodge
It was my boyfriends 25th birthday so I wanted to book something memorable and that's exactly what I got. The room was clean, and comfortable. The food was outstanding and the customer service was brilliant. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be coming back again.

Reviewed by
yasmin b

From bedfordshire, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute decision to stay in Dunstable at the Old Palace Lodge
Great service from the hotel staff and the Late Rooms Website. Reception staff even took the time to phone our room to see if everything was ok. Food in the bar was first class as was the service from the bar staff. Excellent value.

Reviewed by
R Soanes

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Need no smoking signs on all doors!
Wasnt a bad place to stay but the shower was shocking had no pressure at all, the bathroom needs a make over and a deep clean but not all bad for the price we got it. I would stay again but only at that price.If we were paying the full price then i would be seriously underwhelmed.

Reviewed by
j dove

From Dunstable, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We have used this hotel before whilst visiting friends.The service and room quality are consistently good and we will not hesitate to book again on our next visit to Dunstable.

Reviewed by
James Entwistle

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pritty good, but food left a lot to be desired
The accommodation was great, and the staff were lovely, couldn't do enough for me. I Ordered room service as I can't stand eating in a restaurant alone. When it arrived it was cold, the burger was under cooked and the bun bloody! To be fair, the receptionist was great, very apologetic and reimbursed me.
This is a good hotel, but id pop to dominos down the road if your eating.

Reviewed by
Andrew P

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent staff

Reviewed by
anthony norman

From Biggleswade, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Away
The Hotel rooms were very clean and of an excellent standard. Breakfast was excellent quality, and the service at breakfast was prompt and efficient. Where the service fell short was in the evening. The first night we found the restaurant closed, at 7.45pm, after travelling for 4hours. The bar food however was of excellent quality and good value. Saturday we found the restaurant open only for bar food, the explanation being that there was a party on - the party was approx 20 guests. We were advised on arrival that the restaurant would be fully open on Saturday evening. For a 4 star hotel I find the lack of a restaurant with good menu (which was still advertised outside and on the website) to be very poor, and it lets down what is otherwise a very pleasant hotel.

Reviewed by
Kevin W

From Knutsford, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was very quiet, probably because it was between Christmas and New Year, I only saw one family staying. The restaurant wasn't open but food was available, however we didn't plan to eat at the hotel so didn't sample the food. Lovely old buidling with very nice Christmas decorations - only downside for me was our room was a long way from reception and the lights in the corridor were motion sensored which didn't always work, therefore you found yourself in a pitch black corridor until the lighting kicked in and initially the room was freezing cold, central heating was not on, this was fixed by the hotel staff but not a pleasant welcome! Otherwise, everyone was friendly and helpful the price was great!

Reviewed by
Erica B

From England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next