Reviews - The Old Palace Lodge

4

Church Street, Dunstable, LU5 4RT

Price From 275.88 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (31)

77% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Anna B

  • June 2014

Good value and close to whipsnade zoo

Great hotel and quality of exec double room very good.

Would have liked more vegetarian options on evening menus, but otherwise ticked all the boxes.

  • D Bradford

  • May 2014

Nice clean hotel

Everything was great but they need a new chef and menu, I would have also expected an offering of real ale at the bar.

  • Jo C

  • May 2014

A great stop over.

The hotel is in a good location close to the motorway.

There is plenty of parking in the private grounds. An attractive building with lots of character. Our bedroom was large with a huge, very comfortable bed and a good bathroom with a large bath. Staff were friendly and very helpful. The hotel was busy but despite this we were made to feel very welcome . We had to leave early so did not have an opportunity to sample the breakfast but we certainly will next time we stay.

  • L GILES

  • April 2014

Pleasantly surprised

  • Jamie E

  • October 2013

Very nice hotel, only shame was the so called 24 hour room service.

I stayed there as a little treat for me and my partner to relax for a night away from kids.

Was greater well and room quality and finishing was great.

I stayed in the executive suite.

The bed was massive and gave us both a good nights sleep, the tv and radio was good. Nice modern feel.

Only down point was I went to ring for room service at around mid night to which I found my room telephone didn't work. I then used my mobile to contact the hotel and tried placing an order off the clearly labelled 24 hour menu. To which I got a reply of the chef has gone home I can only do you a sandwich or lasagne as he's left nothing else for me.

I understand they may not want to pay a chef for 24 hours but don't offer a menu offering hot food if you can't provide.

But breakfast in bed in the morning was nice, the room service people were very polite.

Overall a good night stay just wouldn't get your hopes up over room service menu.

  • Brian Doig

  • September 2013

Downside

We felt guest's dining in on the Saturday night played second fiddle to the Wedding function going on and we left without having a sweet or coffee, but returned to our room.

The table of eight or ten in the room had booked a special event and we could overhear how critical they where.

  • tracey rands

  • August 2013

fantastic hotel

loved this hotel real great character booking in lady was very polite and cheerful very helpful and let us have room early to attend a wedding

  • Billy Idol

  • August 2013

Very Nice

Apart from a grumpy receptionist, the stay was very nice, lovely breakfast, had a nice stay.

  • Matthew Danes

  • August 2013

Very nice well positioned hotel with creaky floor boards!

Very nice hotel with clean well appointed rooms.

Only criticism is that the floor boards do creak a lot and a very loud. So if you are on the ground floor that may be an issue for the light sleepers.

  • Nigel R

  • August 2013

great hotel excellent value

Good size room clean and well presented would stay again