No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Palace Lodge

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Church Street , Dunstable, LU5 4RT
Located in the historic Market Town of Dunstable, The Newly Awarded 4 Star Old Palace Lodge Hotel stands as it has for several hundred years with warm old English charm.

With 68 en-suite spacious bedrooms, designed to a Standard or Executive level, and three Meeting and Event suites, offering the perfect fit for Business Seminars and Private Functions, the hotel has been described as a Jewel in Dunstable and, it really is....

The Popular Henry Restaurant, has welcomed Andrew Hill the new Executive Head Chef. Andrew and his brigade have comprised a set of exciting brand new menus, from the A La Carte, wedding, Banqueting, to the Room and Lounge. The superb presentation and accompanied of course, with our new selection of fine Wines, these mouth watering dishes would compliment any palate.

The Old Palace Lodge offers complimentary on-site car parking, gym onsite and WI-FI internet access.

Ideally located, The Old Palace Lodge is in walking distance to Dunstable Town and situated only 10 minutes drive from the hustle and bustle of the nearby Town of Luton and London Luton Airport. The M1 junction 11 is located 5 minutes drive away.

Dunstable Town 2 Minutes Walk
Luton Airport Only 5 Miles
Woburn Abbey 8 Miles
Whipsnade 4 Miles
Picture of The Old Palace Lodge, Dunstable at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice well positioned hotel with creaky floor boards!
Very nice hotel with clean well appointed rooms. Only criticism is that the floor boards do creak a lot and a very loud. So if you are on the ground floor that may be an issue for the light sleepers.

Reviewed by
Matthew Danes

From Ramsgate, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic hotel
loved this hotel real great character booking in lady was very polite and cheerful very helpful and let us have room early to attend a wedding

Reviewed by
tracey rands

From Basildon, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel excellent value
Good size room clean and well presented would stay again

Reviewed by
Nigel R

From Poulton le Fylde, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Contrasting meal experience
The room and the evening meal in the restaurant were excellent and catered for my young niece and nephew by adding garlic bread to the lasagne. We came down for breakfast to find the only table for 4 had been used, stained tablecloths, I had to ask for food to be cleared away from under the table and the american pancakes were as hard as rocks. Not quite 4 star and a contrast from the evening meal.

Reviewed by
Suzanne E

From Ilford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was very nice but was dark due to high trees outside the window, this stopped light entering the room.

Reviewed by
paul ogiliev

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel - good value
We had a great stay at the hotel. The rooms are very spacious, modern and clean. Although breakfast was not included we found that £45 for the night was a bargain. Would stay again :o)

Reviewed by
Dan Tucker

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel, customer service poor.
We stayed here for a night in July before heading off on holiday the following day. The hotel is lovely from the outside and the downstairs area is very atmospheric. The room was lovely, very comfortable.
Now for the staff. We entered the hotel with 2 huge, heavy suitcases which we had to carry down stairs to reach the reception. A male member of staff stood and watched while we struggled without an offer of help. We reached reception to find a female member of staff on the phone. A second phone rang, she then put the first phone on hold to answer the second. We waited for at least 10 minutes while she juggled 2 phone calls. The initial male member of staff approached reception and the female asked him to check us in. He then proceeded to lecture her on how to deal with multiple phone calls in front of us.
The following morning we requested a taxi to the airport. We didn't have cash so asked the receptionist to phone a specific firm we knew had card machines in the taxi. He dialled a number to book a taxi, turned to us and informed us that the firm didn't have card machines in their vehicles. It turns out he had ignored our request to phone a specific company and called one the hotel deals with.
Lovely hotel, shame about the staff.

Reviewed by
Fiona L

From Carluke, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

High class place with nice staff
I booked this Hotel as a one of because I was planning to go to Whipsnade Zoo. This Hotel looked the nicest for the distance from there. There Hotel was of very high quality and the Service I receieved was great, from the Reception Staff to the Bar Staff.

Reviewed by
Liam C

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value, friendly staff, and lovely room
Loverly clean big room,with lots of little extras, we will be going back again

Reviewed by
M Hayward

From Skegness, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A costly night of no sleep
A quiet room was requested and supplied but a wedding disco was held that night and the music was very evident in the room despite the assurance we would hear nothing. Staff came and checked noise and insisted it could not be heard yet it could and continued to the early hours. Why accept non wedding guests if you can't offer a nights sleep. Apologies were given in the morning but no recompense. The breakfast room was the darkest ever seen and food was modest. Overall a poor hotel and a shadow of what it had once been. I would not recommend staying here

Reviewed by
p williams

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next