No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Palace Lodge

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Church Street , Dunstable, LU5 4RT
Located in the historic Market Town of Dunstable, The Newly Awarded 4 Star Old Palace Lodge Hotel stands as it has for several hundred years with warm old English charm.

With 68 en-suite spacious bedrooms, designed to a Standard or Executive level, and three Meeting and Event suites, offering the perfect fit for Business Seminars and Private Functions, the hotel has been described as a Jewel in Dunstable and, it really is....

The Popular Henry Restaurant, has welcomed Andrew Hill the new Executive Head Chef. Andrew and his brigade have comprised a set of exciting brand new menus, from the A La Carte, wedding, Banqueting, to the Room and Lounge. The superb presentation and accompanied of course, with our new selection of fine Wines, these mouth watering dishes would compliment any palate.

The Old Palace Lodge offers complimentary on-site car parking, gym onsite and WI-FI internet access.

Ideally located, The Old Palace Lodge is in walking distance to Dunstable Town and situated only 10 minutes drive from the hustle and bustle of the nearby Town of Luton and London Luton Airport. The M1 junction 11 is located 5 minutes drive away.

Dunstable Town 2 Minutes Walk
Luton Airport Only 5 Miles
Woburn Abbey 8 Miles
Whipsnade 4 Miles
Picture of The Old Palace Lodge, Dunstable at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

High class place with nice staff
I booked this Hotel as a one of because I was planning to go to Whipsnade Zoo. This Hotel looked the nicest for the distance from there. There Hotel was of very high quality and the Service I receieved was great, from the Reception Staff to the Bar Staff.

Reviewed by
Liam C

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel, customer service poor.
We stayed here for a night in July before heading off on holiday the following day. The hotel is lovely from the outside and the downstairs area is very atmospheric. The room was lovely, very comfortable.
Now for the staff. We entered the hotel with 2 huge, heavy suitcases which we had to carry down stairs to reach the reception. A male member of staff stood and watched while we struggled without an offer of help. We reached reception to find a female member of staff on the phone. A second phone rang, she then put the first phone on hold to answer the second. We waited for at least 10 minutes while she juggled 2 phone calls. The initial male member of staff approached reception and the female asked him to check us in. He then proceeded to lecture her on how to deal with multiple phone calls in front of us.
The following morning we requested a taxi to the airport. We didn't have cash so asked the receptionist to phone a specific firm we knew had card machines in the taxi. He dialled a number to book a taxi, turned to us and informed us that the firm didn't have card machines in their vehicles. It turns out he had ignored our request to phone a specific company and called one the hotel deals with.
Lovely hotel, shame about the staff.

Reviewed by
Fiona L

From Carluke, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value, friendly staff, and lovely room
Loverly clean big room,with lots of little extras, we will be going back again

Reviewed by
M Hayward

From Skegness, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A costly night of no sleep
A quiet room was requested and supplied but a wedding disco was held that night and the music was very evident in the room despite the assurance we would hear nothing. Staff came and checked noise and insisted it could not be heard yet it could and continued to the early hours. Why accept non wedding guests if you can't offer a nights sleep. Apologies were given in the morning but no recompense. The breakfast room was the darkest ever seen and food was modest. Overall a poor hotel and a shadow of what it had once been. I would not recommend staying here

Reviewed by
p williams

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing
Fantastic two night break staff couldn't do enough especially Ali. Highly recommend it

Reviewed by
S Bowen

From Stoke on trent, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel!
Beautiful hotel- extremely comfortable.
Unfortunate that hotel was not able to serve food that night, as could not find a local restaurant... but room was excellent.

Reviewed by
g lyttle

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room but a little noisy
The room was great, clean and had everything you would expect. There was quite a lot of noise throughout the night from other guests but not sure if you could put that down to the hotel.

Reviewed by
C Holton

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent care and service
We stayed at the hotel over night as part of a birthday outing. As such we arranged a table in the restaurant which included our children. The staff took great pains to make our stay very special. They adjusted the menu so that we could enjoy A la Carte whilst the boys could eat less flamboyant food from the bar menu. It did seem that nothing was too difficult. The overall price was excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
Peter Dewar-Haggart

From Lee on The Solent, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great delux room a little too hot with no air conditioning
Lovely room with good decor. Room did smell of a smokers room which wasn't pleasant. Room got very hot as we were unable to find the thermostat to turn down the radiator. Otherwise good room.

Reviewed by
C Robinson

From Walton on Thames, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very good find
The hotel was very welcoming, warm and comfortable for a snowy weekend. Lovely room, a quiet and calming atmosphere, and a considerate staff made for a very pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
Wendy S

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next