No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Elstead Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
12-14 Knyveton Road , Bournemouth, BH1 3QP
This highly rated central Bournemouth hotel is located in a quiet tree-lined avenue, just a short stroll from the beach. It offers superior accommodation, a superb health & leisure club, an adaptable range of air-conditioned conference rooms with the latest equipment and car parking. The 50 ensuite bedrooms are of a high standard and well equipped with facilities such as satellite television and direct dial telephone with voice mail. The attractive and spacious air-conditioned restaurant has an excellent reputation for traditional, home-cooked food.The Nordic Leisure Club at the Elstead offers the very best of leisure facilities in the most elegant of surroundings - including a 46' heated pool and fitness suite.

A member of Classic British Hotels.
Picture of Elstead Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 43 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surrealist attic
The most striking thing about this hotel is the creaking floorboards which will delight some and irritate others. The picture hang is one of the oddest I have seen with pairs of images hung at different heights and bizarre combinations- perfect for the surrealist imagination. Standing out amongst the CMYK prints faded to a uniform cyan is a rather good modern Chinese painting of a frog on textured paper. The surrealist effect is completed by the 1980s country-house-style fully tiled bathroom with stripes and bows. The wireless booster didn't reach the attic level, but there was a quiet lounge on the ground floor which was quite pleasant, offering a case crammed full of ceramic figurines. Definitely a place to re-read Andre Breton's Nadja or to do some automatic writing.

Reviewed by
Philip S

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surely it not ONLY a 3 star!
From the point of arrival the friendly and efficient receptionist set the tone. Have you ever met a nice South African? Well I have and she was my first impression of the hotel and I can tell you that the room, pool, steam room and sauna were very clean and well maintained. Sure I can be picky and make a point that the water pressure in the basin wasn't high enough but that is only my personal preference and to be honest that is the only thing I could possibly be negative about. The bar staff were friendly when we have a few before going out and even the guy who served us at almost midnight was very accommodating. Brilliant value on a quiet street close to the station and a cheap cab fare into town. We will be back and will gladly take the family next time. But my wife and I were very impressed.

Reviewed by
Ed Shaw

From Stockbridge, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mid week stay in January
I booked the hotel quite late and chose it for the leisure facilities, which were as described. We had breakfast included which was excellent with a good range of hot and cold food. We also had meals in the restaurant and in the bar. I thought the menu choices were excellent and the food arrived piping hot (hot food served cold is a real bugbear for me!!) the staff were attentive and very helpful. The hotel is situated a comfortable walk to the sea front or shopping centre. We enjoyed our stay and would definately return , I think it represents good vAlue for money.


Reviewed by
Michelle K

From Crowthorne, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

elstead hotel
room was tidy and staff helpful and friendly.Good value

Reviewed by
gary v

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely relaxing stay
Very comfortable accommodation but the room was on the snug side but was nice and cosy and fine for our two night break but I think a week in there and it would feel cramped. We had dinner on the first night and the food was lovely. The pool, jacuzzi, steam, sauna and gym were great and open till late which was great, the ladies changing room could have done with an air freshener as there was a district odour of cheesy feet. All of the staff were very friendly and courteous and made us feel very welcome. The mulled wine was a real bonus!!!

Reviewed by
J Winter

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel
Great hotel - my only disappointment was with the limited menu in the restaurant. However, there is an excellent bar menu with wide choice of food.

Reviewed by
garry barker

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Elstead Hotel
A friendly hotel with a bonus of a swimming pool. Full english buffet style breakfast.

Reviewed by
C West

From Romsey, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very satisfied
The staff were very polite and helpful ,the buffet style breakfast is of a very good standard, also there s other options kippers etc that you have to order, the fitness centre has a good choice of machines and a nice pool, sauna and steam room, however the jacuzzi was a bit cold. My room was well decorated and kitted out, just about big enough ,if you have the window open traffic can be heard but there is a ceiling fan. Overall the hotel was clean and well furnished and decorated, the car park had plenty of spaces, the location was a fair walk into town and not at the nicest side.
If the price remains reasonable I would be very happy to stay again.

Reviewed by
david m

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Room was spacious although an extra bed was put up in the middle of the room for our 11 year old. Food excellent, good value for money. Would have preferred breakfast to be served until 10am. All staff were very friendly and helpful. Location was fair, a little further out of town than I anticipated. There was adequate parking. All in all, an excellent hotel and I would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
K James

From Ludlow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Stay
A very compact room but perfectly adequate for a short stay and at a very reasonable price. Very helpful receptionist. Decent breakfast and attentive restaurant staff. Excellent location for access to railway station.

Reviewed by
Graham W

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next