No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Chilworth , Southampton, SO16 7PT
Snuggly set in 12 acres of beautiful landscaped grounds and enveloped by peaceful surroundings, BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor is the perfect setting for Weddings, Conferences or for a relaxing Spa break on the South Coast. Just north of Southampton City Centre, we offer a tranquil getaway for guests, who might find it hard to believe that we're just a few minutes' drive from both the M3 and M27. The hotel is also a handy distance from Southampton International Airport and Southampton Parkway Rail Station for anyone who's treating themselves to the ultimate stopover en route to a holiday destination overseas (or a honeymoon to follow your big day here!). The Edwardian BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor offers charming hotel accommodation (95 bedrooms' worth!) and is designed with your needs in mind. To that end, we boast the modern conveniences for business and leisure requirements, with an exclusive Health Club taking care of your fitness fix!
Picture of BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor, Southampton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic staff
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at chilworth manor. The staff were very efficient, friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
anita m

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little disappointing
A large hotel with grand stature but sadly in need of refurbishment . The room was very spacious but tired and dated. I had room service which was an effort as the person on the other end of the phone had no idea. All in all if I hadn't been claiming this stay through work I would have been very unhappy.

Reviewed by
Richard L

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Only stayed 1 night but would stay again, set in beautiful grounds too.

Reviewed by
Lee Hutchison

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bathroom left a lot to be desired
The bedroom was quite nice but the bathroom left a lot to be desired. I stayed in room 205, the bathroom door didn't shut properly, the handle on the toilet looked broken and it sound like the cistern was filling up all night, and there was mold all over the ceiling. We were literally only there for one night and we only really slept there so we didn't bother complaining.

Reviewed by
R Carter

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing food - shabby elsewhere
Having only been to Chilworth before for weddings and events etc, I was looking forward to experiencing the hotel as a guest. The room was quite a letdown, as although it was a standard room, we found things like sorely outdated decor, mildew in the bathroom, and an irritating fan or motor type noise coming from the bathroom that went on all night.
The Spa was free to use during our stay which we enjoyed - again a tiny bit run down here and there but the sauna and steam rooms were big enough and it was always quiet when we went. The jacuzzi was fantastic, gave us a good pummelling!
The food was an absolute highlight and on the Saturday night we had three delicious courses plus wine in the restaurant. Again the decor was more dining room than fancy restaurant (something I hadn't expected at Chilworth) but the food made up for it and we savoured every bite. The maitre d' was also charming.
We paid £95 for 'room only' (ie no breakfast) but this did include use of the pool etc. Overall I would say that it wasn't worth this money because the room is what we came for and it was so 90s - nothing special about it at all, faded picture on the wall, wardrobe door didn't shut properly, and that flipping noise from the bathroom! We enjoyed our stay enough, but I hope Chilworth will do some serious refurb of its standard rooms soon in order to preserve its 'cut above' reputation.

Reviewed by
Ruth K

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely setting on the edge of a city
A nice hotel with swimming available....but nothing special for the price. Missing the luxurious feel I expected.

Reviewed by
Mary K

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Place to Be!.
We had to book an extra night, so stayed 2 nights. We were upgraded to the Dwight Eisenhower suite, which was extremely comfortable and we were made very welcome at the front desk. It is ideally situated for visiting Southampton and the beautiful surrounding countryside. This hotel has great facilities and you could not help but love it.

Reviewed by
H Morris

From Beckenham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was very old fashioned and could do with updating, the heating was on throughout the hotel, so it got extremely hot (no air con) in the night.
Also our room was positioned above the function room where the weddings take place and so it was very noisy and went on past 12.00pm as stated when we booked. On the Friday night there was two weddings taking place and so it took quite a long time to be served at the bar.

Reviewed by
Sarah H

From Brentwood, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dingy, depressing, disappointing!
Grand drive and impressive facade; everything else sub-standard. Glad we were only booked in for one night, couldn't wait to get out. In need of some serious refurbishment. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

Reviewed by
T Hunnaball

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Hotel was near enough to Southampton but in a quiet location. Had a very peaceful night's sleep. Good gym facilities and the pool looked inviting. Decided to eat in the hotel and was impressed with the quality.

Reviewed by
Rachel M

From Newmarket, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next