Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Berkshire > Wokingham > Earley Hotels > BEST WESTERN PLUS Reading Moat House
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN PLUS Reading Moat House

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Mill Lane,Sindlesham , Reading, RG41 5DG
Overlooking the river Loddon, the Best Western Reading Moat House successfully combines the individual elegance of a modern hotel with the charm of a once productive 19th century mill house. With 129 refurbished air-conditioned bedrooms, including 25 Executive bedrooms and 4 Junior Suites, the stylish Sindlesham Mill Restaurant and the quaint character of Poachers Pub, this hotel is the perfect location to explore Royal Berkshire or simply relax. Ideally located just off the M4 set in peaceful landscaped grounds.
All bedrooms refurbished and air-conditioned including 25 Executive bedrooms and 4 Junior Suites built in June 2007 situated in the original Mill
Sindlesham Mill Restaurant & Bar offering peaceful views over the river Loddon
Poachers Pub serving traditional pub fayre & real ales
Set in a converted Mill House offering peaceful surroundings with views over the river Loddon
Well established 4 star hotel offering superior service
Ideal location for visits to London, Oxford, Henley, Reading City Centre & Windsor
Picture of BEST WESTERN PLUS Reading Moat House, Reading at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 66 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy to Return
Excellent stay in peaceful location convenient for Reading and Wokingham. Very pleasant public areas for relaxing.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth E

From Helston, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

TV needs to be fit for purpose
I enjoyed my room overlooking the weir. It was just for one night & checkout was at 11am, great. What spoiled my stay was the TV - I couldn't change channels without unplugging the tv first. The duty manager said it was a problem, but didn't indicate that anything was being done about it. I hope I wasn't given the room with the dud TV just because it was a Lateroom deal. Also, by comparison to similar hotels, the buffet breakfast was nowhere near worth the full price let alone the cheaper price I paid as part of the deal. And the dining room was chilly.

Reviewed by
Linda K

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice place
enjoyed our brief stay

Reviewed by
Diane S

From Dunmow, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly welcome
A very warm welcome greeted us on our arrival, staff were very chatty and friendly and made a fuss of our 3 year old daughter. The hotel is very pleasant, with plenty free parking. Our "family" room was smaller than we expected but given the cost this was acceptable. Clean and comfortable. However, I was very disappointed to learn on our arrival that we couldn't use the restaurant or bar area due to a large party being held. I understand it's party season but this should have been mentioned before arriving. This meant we had to use the pub next door which required a walk across a single track bridge with busy traffic, no pavement, freezing cold and in the dark!! We booked a table in the pub for 7pm but when we arrived our table had been given to someone else and the only free table was next to the door. The staff were indifferent to this and not as friendly or helpful as next door. The pub had a nice atmosphere, service was ok but our food wasn't enjoyable. The hotel is lovely though and perhaps had we been able to use the restaurant and bar would have been ideal for our stay.

Reviewed by
R Fairweather

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

see below
Very nice hotel but poor service and well over priced if you pay there normal tariff. Unable to find disabled parking space so had to leave car on a muddy patch of grass, due to the main car parks being flooded. Reception said are room was on the 4th floor room 410 not a major problem as there was a lift. Until we got to the room and pass card did not work. I then had to leave my wife there as her legs were getting tired while i went back to reception only to find they had not updated there system and we should of been in room 105 on the first floor. We could not have a drink in the bar or have a meal in the restaurant as there was a tribute night going on. If we wanted a drink we would have to drink it in the reception area. would not recommend or return in the future...

Reviewed by
R Duggan

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would recommend for cheap but cheerful
Could not complain about our hotel room, Family room- very comfortable king size bed, 10 year old daughter very happy on sofa bed. Room, bedding, towels & bathroom spotlessly clean & well appointed. Would recommend for a cheap family weekend. We ate in attached pub on our first evening & didn't have a great meal. Daughters burger was fine but my husbands steak was over cooked, chips were forgotten on plate, when they did arrive weren't cooked. Felt is was expensive for the portions & sadly not a great standard. Staff in Hotel were friendly & helpful. Would use again,

Reviewed by
CLARE D

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel. Friendly staff and although breakfast was busy the staff were helpful and cheerful.

Reviewed by
Rachel C

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Reception staff were all great with the children. The room was a very good size we weren't cramped in at all. We did loose a piece of lego on the carpet and when looking we realised that the carpet etc wasn't as clean as we would like. However as we were only there for one night it did not impact on our stay. The pub next door was great and also family friendly although the walk there was a bit dangerous and we know the road well. We discussed that there is a fancy long pedestrian bridge from the car park to the front door yet you have to walk on the dangerous rd to the pub. surely there is a safer solution?

Reviewed by
judith j

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, tidy, comfortable.

Reviewed by
B Smith

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money, friendly and clean.

Reviewed by
Amy M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next