Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Berkshire > Wokingham > Earley Hotels > BEST WESTERN PLUS Reading Moat House
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN PLUS Reading Moat House

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Mill Lane,Sindlesham , Reading, RG41 5DG
Overlooking the river Loddon, the Best Western Reading Moat House successfully combines the individual elegance of a modern hotel with the charm of a once productive 19th century mill house. With 129 refurbished air-conditioned bedrooms, including 25 Executive bedrooms and 4 Junior Suites, the stylish Sindlesham Mill Restaurant and the quaint character of Poachers Pub, this hotel is the perfect location to explore Royal Berkshire or simply relax. Ideally located just off the M4 set in peaceful landscaped grounds.
All bedrooms refurbished and air-conditioned including 25 Executive bedrooms and 4 Junior Suites built in June 2007 situated in the original Mill
Sindlesham Mill Restaurant & Bar offering peaceful views over the river Loddon
Poachers Pub serving traditional pub fayre & real ales
Set in a converted Mill House offering peaceful surroundings with views over the river Loddon
Well established 4 star hotel offering superior service
Ideal location for visits to London, Oxford, Henley, Reading City Centre & Windsor
Picture of BEST WESTERN PLUS Reading Moat House, Reading at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 63 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money, friendly and clean.

Reviewed by
Amy M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Generally nice hotel with pleasant staff, rooms good size and comfortable.The only thing that I recommend is a soft pillow is provided as the 4 pillows were all hard and so uncomfortable that my wife and I both had poor sleep and awoke with stiff necks.It is only a small gripe but a soft pillow would make a beneficial difference.Other guests remarked the same when we chatted to them in the Poacher pub.Finally , the cost of drinks in the pub are too expensive! They are more costly than The Celtic Manor Hotel near to us and that is an international 5* Resort! As you are probably aware. Many Thanks.

Reviewed by
Stephen Clarke

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect accommodation for business travellers in the Reading area.

Reviewed by
Mark B

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel but they hadn't any record of our booking....
When we arrived at 10.30pm, the hotel had no record of our booking of two family rooms (despite me having all the confirmation emails to hand). They had only one family room available and therefore offered two double rooms. This was less than ideal and we all had a dreadful nights sleep, however complimentary breakfast was provided. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and apologetic.
I thought the hotel was great value for money.

Reviewed by
K Parr

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over night stay
Over all a nice modern hotel and good access to area. Staff very accommodating and nicely furnished. Excellent food and drink.
The only issue we had was the room temperature. This was far to warm and the air conditioning unit was inefficient and was like sleeping next to a power station. If I was staying any longer than one night I would have asked for a room change. Get that sorted and it would be great!

Reviewed by
Christine Thompson

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

legoland weekend
Lovely hotel in great location, close to Reading and Legoland. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Our daughter was even given an activity pack so she was very chuffed! Only thing i would say is that when we left our room and checked under the bed to make sure we hadnt left any toys we found a soft toy which wasnt ours.

Reviewed by
Rachel C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Moat House Mixed Review
After viewing the photograph of the Reading BW Moat House, it looked all the part, a country house hotel. However the photo is not of the hotel but the attached bar around the corner.
The reception gave a four/five star portrayal, the rooms four star, however the breakfast and service only 2 star.Dinner was a four star looking offer, with no real complaint other than blunt cutlery knives.
The only real let down was the breakfast ,.....bit of a shambles.....albeit the staff were trying their best to please.It could have been more organised and the food could have been better and certainly hotter, as by the time the food was half consumed ,it had gone cold
Having visited many hotels and in many countries it was certainly not the worst we have been to.
We have never complained bitterly about any hotel as it is through these sites that some hotels have been badly portrayed or even closed.
These are only our opinions, and should not detract from any other visits

Reviewed by
jane charlton

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

enjoyable stay
Quality hotel, very friendly helpfull staff. Rooms spotlessly clean and we stayed in a pet room with our black lab.

Reviewed by
Stuart b

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice comfortable room, ideal for a weekend away.

Reviewed by
tania c

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bland, Overpiced
Nice friendly staff and very good service but a bland, very overpriced room and poor food. Pizza that may well have been frozen for £13:00, tired watery eggs in the underwhelming breakfast buffet, which, amazingly, was not included in the room price.

Reviewed by
Simon W

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next