Reviews - Inn on the Lake Hotel


Watling Street,Shorne, Gravesend, DA12 3HB

Price From 128.13 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (118)

73% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • i griffiths

  • September 2015


It was full of contractors.

allsorts bad.

  • Stuart M

  • September 2015

A disappointment

The room we were given was pleasant and had a good view of the lake.

THEN, the group started up. from about 4pm a group was rehearsing in the function room just 30 yards away. BOOM BOOM BOOM. After 45 minutes I went and asked how long this would last and found out there was a function and it would go on all evening. Does a hotel not consider noise for its' guests. To give the hotel their due, within 10 minutes we were in another room as far away from the noise as possible, we were just aware that the music continued very late. However, I feel sorry for the people that were then given our old room. Food - the menu looked good, we plumped for the pulled lamb which was tasty, as were the roast potatoes, but the veg - frozen veg in a restaurant like this at those prices. The broccoli was unedible. What a let down to a meal that could have been good. Chaos reigned in the restaurant as nobody quite knew what was happening with a coach party which eventually were seated in the restaurant, and then finally moved to a separate room. Don't expect soft towels - although clean, they were old and hard. Sound proofing between rooms is poor, we were woken at 4 a.m. by people next door arriving back in their room and then followed several hours of noisy conversation.

  • l sait

  • September 2015

Could do with updating

Was difficult to find hotel even with sat nab .arrived at hotel checked in went to bar for drink no one to serve as they had a function on waited 15 mins .

  • Ian W

  • September 2015

Short stay at a convenient location

The hotel is dated but clean.

Rooms are large, plenty of towels, hot water and Tea and Coffee. Food was good quality and plentiful with a wide range of all types of breakfast. Security could be a concern with the fire door to the car park wedged open evening and morning so no control over who can enter the building.

  • David H

  • September 2015

Poor food and service and hotel very tired, needs a makeover.

The restaurant food was expensive and only of average quality.

Sunday restaurant was closed so we ate in bar, had to wait 1 hr 20 mins for food and there were only 10 people in bar had to chase order twice and was told there was only one chef on duty. What was he/she doing. There was also a couple with a dog in bar where people were eating food the dog was dirty and smelt but no staff member asked for it to be removed, very unhygienic and surely against the law.

  • John Shillito

  • August 2015

good value accommodation

Although this hotel could do with an update the accommodation was clean and comfortable, the food was good and the staff very friendly.

The only negative was the lack of staff in the evening, we had to wait too long for our evening meal, the next day we ate out.

  • D G

  • August 2015

One night emergency stopover

We had an emergency and my brother and I needed a bolt Hole in North Kent for the night.

When we got to reception there was a wedding on, and one then two receptionists and finally three were all dealing with a problem over swapping two rooms. After a considerable wait, we went to the bar to have a drink and back at reception afterwards the same thing was still going on so had to interrupt and ask if one of the three could please check us in. They did, but we could have had a much better first impression. Our Twin Room was clean as was bathroom, beds very comfortable. We had a meal in the bar - lighting very harsh, could do with softer lights for dining. The food was pretty standard, but piping hot and after a hellish day we were hungry. Rooms and bathroom a bit out of date, shower could have been more powerful, but price included breakfast which was OK but no muesli available. Cooked breakfast was one of everything ie one piece of bacon, one sausage etc. Lots of guest noise late into the night because of wedding, but that wasn't the hotel's fault. We had a standard room facing the motorway double glazing coped adequately, and I am sure more deluxe rooms at the back would have less traffic noise. The final interesting twist was that when I arrived at reception to check out, they were convinced we were swapping to another room on the floor above. The receptionist was bemused, almost to the point where you could see she almost wanted to ask if I was sure I was checking out, because it said on the card I was moving. Never did see the lake. Presumably the rooms reserved for the wedding looked out on them. Subject to the vagaries of reception, the hotel provided a standard, clean and comfortable no frills one night stay.

  • J Drake

  • August 2015

Overall good value for money.

Bed comfortable, room well furnished.

Bathroom clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast good.

  • Mark Hobbs

  • July 2015

Room with a View

Don't let the exterior let you think that it's stuck in the 60s.

Well the receptions and bar are but that's in trend. Isn't it?. The 1 1/5 scale lodge style rooms have a strange mix of Country pine furniture and early 80s decor but are very clean and have flatscreen TV. TripAdvisor gives good reviews on food but did not Mention the frozen vegetables served on a dish costing £14+. Not good. Breakfirst made up for it. Plenty of choice with a cooked to order full English. Lake facing rooms have been dragged into the 21st century but cost more than the £50 per room I paid!. Would I stay there again?. Yes cheaper than a other hotel in that part of the country.

  • R S

  • July 2015

Very good overnight stop