No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crown & Cushion Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
23 High Street , Chipping Norton, OX7 5AD
A warm welcome to the Crown & Cushion Hotel. In an area steeped with history the Crown & Cushion is a relaxing home away from home. Originally a 15th Century Coaching Inn - the Crown and Cushion is now a proud 40 bedroom hotel right in the heart of the Cotswold's. In the past the Crown and Cushion was owned by the legendary drummer Keith Moon from 'The Who' and his legacy of decadence lives on today. A New Era in now here, under new ownership, it would be an understatement to say, the locals have seen a vast improvement in standards, service & attention to detail as well as a re-decorate and freshen up. As well as boasting 40 en-suite bedrooms there is a cosy, traditional bar, bistro restaurant, comfortable lounge, alfresco dining on our the floral terrace, private dining room (up to 16 guests), 160 guest function suite (with own bar & separate entrance), 2 further conference rooms, health club - pool, gym, squash court and WiFi available in the hotel grounds. So why not come in, relax and let the surrounding peacefulness of the countryside take you away.
Dpgs are allowed at a cost of £5.00 per dog per night.
Picture of Crown & Cushion Hotel, Chipping Norton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 97 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful room (upgraded to a superior one) and extremely friendly staff.......lovely little town too!
Private parking round the back for my car so all in all......very happy!

Reviewed by
John Frearson

From Coalville, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My wife and I stayed at this hotel recently. We had booked a four poster room, the bedroom side was okay however the bathroom had mild dew on the walls and ceiling.
We visited the bar for a night cap and was very, very disheartened to hear the manager speak to bar staff in such a rude and aggressive manner. We overheard him threaten to slap a member of the bar staff if she 'didn't shut it'. This is not what we wish to hear. Not happy.

Reviewed by
John C

From , UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location. Needs cleaning and decorating.
The location of this hotel is ideal. It is situated in the centre of pretty Chipping Norton. Unfortunately that is the only thing it has got going for it. The rooms are dated and the bathroom was not clean. I had paid for a double (2 people) but the room was only made up for 1 person (towels, coffee facilities etc)
Some friends staying in the hotel on the same night as us were given a room on the ground floor that was damp and smelly.
The staff were not overly helpful and when the fire alarm went off at 7.45am, there was no one around to supervise.
The hotel has character and could be lovely, but sadly there is a lot of work to be done before it would get a thumbs up from me.
I would not recommend.

Reviewed by
Cath J

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
A nice welcome and a lovely comfortable room. Eclectic in places but clean and good facilities. We were well looked after and thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back!

Reviewed by
Jaimie Taylor

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel with great views and history in a charming town

Reviewed by
David Tunnicliffe

From Surbiton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend away
The hotel is very clean and the staff pleasant. It was difficult to find someone on Reception though both when we booked and booked out. It is an old coaching inn with long corridors and no lift. This is reasonable enough but you need to be aware of this. Breakfast was very good - delicious poached eggs.

Reviewed by
Kathryn H

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 night stay
Room at the top no complaints,shower boiling or freezing so we bathed instead,pool great and warm,parking tight but adequate and no problem.Fan heater in room but not needed.Bar very nice ,location in the main street we would use this pub again!!!

Reviewed by
J BULLOCH

From Ilminster, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
The hotel was extremely hospitable and the service was wonderful. We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was excellent. The breakjfast next morning was second to none and there was pleanty to choose from. Glad wechoose to stay here.

Reviewed by
Jerry D

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Crown & Cushion
Great hotel, wonderful service

Reviewed by
C Mitchell

From Buxton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant hotel although reception was lacking in key information. Breakfast was staffed by just one waiter but did work very well and the food was good. Timing of 7 to 9am was too early and led to a rush at the end. Dinner in the bar was very good and service was excellent. Room was o.k. but uninspired and rather tired. Overall enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
David B

From Market Harborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next