No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crown & Cushion Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
23 High Street , Chipping Norton, OX7 5AD
A warm welcome to the Crown & Cushion Hotel. In an area steeped with history the Crown & Cushion is a relaxing home away from home. Originally a 15th Century Coaching Inn - the Crown and Cushion is now a proud 40 bedroom hotel right in the heart of the Cotswold's. In the past the Crown and Cushion was owned by the legendary drummer Keith Moon from 'The Who' and his legacy of decadence lives on today.

A New Era in now here, under new ownership, it would be an understatement to say, the locals have seen a vast improvement in standards, service & attention to detail as well as a re-decorate and freshen up. As well as boasting 40 en-suite bedrooms there is a cosy, traditional bar, bistro restaurant, comfortable lounge, alfresco dining on our the floral terrace, private dining room (up to 16 guests), 160 guest function suite (with own bar & separate entrance), 2 further conference rooms, health club - pool, gym, squash court and WiFi available in the hotel grounds.

So why not come in, relax and let the surrounding peacefulness of the countryside take you away.

Dogs are allowed at a cost of £5.00 per dog per night.
Picture of Crown & Cushion Hotel, Chipping Norton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 96 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
Lovely stay the staff were brilliant as was the food and service

Reviewed by
Richard close

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap room, cheap service
For a late booking for a bank holiday we got a bargain of only £140 for two of us, two nights with breakfast.. Room was absolutely fine. Service was awful and practically non-existent. Food in the main restaurant was awful. Breakfast was fine, and meals in the bar were good pub grub. They just didnt seem to know what they were doing service wise which meant an incredibly long delay to get drinks; no local knowledge of the area to help us with walks (the information office being closed in the town, on weekends!).

Reviewed by
Penny A

From Kingston upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and helpful Staff
A short stay, accommodation good, evening dinner and breakfast cooked to order.

Reviewed by
S Hoy

From Diss, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely four-poster bed!

Reviewed by
Hilary D

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant
We didn't think it was at all very good value, especially if we HAD to have paid the full amount at £120.00 a night. We paid £60.00
Unfortunately our bed was hard and very uncomfortable and it was on a busy road. We only stayed for one night. The breakfast was good.. I would not go as far as NOT to recommend the Hotel. The beds need renewing. We didn't complain at the hotel. Maybe we should had said something then.

Reviewed by
Pauline B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful room (upgraded to a superior one) and extremely friendly staff.......lovely little town too!
Private parking round the back for my car so all in all......very happy!

Reviewed by
John Frearson

From Coalville, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My wife and I stayed at this hotel recently. We had booked a four poster room, the bedroom side was okay however the bathroom had mild dew on the walls and ceiling.
We visited the bar for a night cap and was very, very disheartened to hear the manager speak to bar staff in such a rude and aggressive manner. We overheard him threaten to slap a member of the bar staff if she 'didn't shut it'. This is not what we wish to hear. Not happy.

Reviewed by
John C

From , UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location. Needs cleaning and decorating.
The location of this hotel is ideal. It is situated in the centre of pretty Chipping Norton. Unfortunately that is the only thing it has got going for it. The rooms are dated and the bathroom was not clean. I had paid for a double (2 people) but the room was only made up for 1 person (towels, coffee facilities etc)
Some friends staying in the hotel on the same night as us were given a room on the ground floor that was damp and smelly.
The staff were not overly helpful and when the fire alarm went off at 7.45am, there was no one around to supervise.
The hotel has character and could be lovely, but sadly there is a lot of work to be done before it would get a thumbs up from me.
I would not recommend.

Reviewed by
Cath J

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
A nice welcome and a lovely comfortable room. Eclectic in places but clean and good facilities. We were well looked after and thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back!

Reviewed by
Jaimie Taylor

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel with great views and history in a charming town

Reviewed by
David Tunnicliffe

From Surbiton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next