Reviews - Crown & Cushion Hotel


23 High Street, Chipping Norton, OX7 5AD

Price From 146.20 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (71)

80% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Bruno Diaz

  • September 2015

Good people, good vibes

Nice stay in this lovely hotel.

Met some locals at the bar and had a nice meal with them. The told me to go for the fillet steak. What a meal. Perfectly cooked. The room was good size and very traditional. Go for the 4 poster. Lovely!


  • September 2015

Fantastic! I will be back next week!

Really nice hotel.

The bed was comfy and the room nicely decorated. The bar was nice and very inviting. I had a couple of drinks with my friends. The breakfast was really nice and actually a surprise for me. Both the quality and the variety were there. Just stayed one night, but i'll be back for sure. Ps. Try the delicious liquor coffes. Delicious.

  • Robert P

  • August 2015

comfortable, on the ball staff, reasonable overall

Welcoming and attentive staff, we had a room with a great view but the room is in need of updating and some new shower curtains.

Lovely outside area for whirling away the evening and good base for oxford.

  • Julia V

  • May 2015

Crown & Cushion Hotel

The hotel is well positioned in the centre of Chipping Norton.

My room was clean and comfortable but the TV was in a separate room off the bedroom which wasn't ideal. The hotel could do with a general tidy up decoratively but staff were helpful and I would stay again.

  • robert k

  • April 2015

Not the best ive stayed in by any means.

If you have leg trouble go for a high room number as we had 35+ stairs to climb to a low room number.

the hair drier was pointless as the socket was nowhere near a mirror and the kettle had to be put on the floor or the bed to use it. the light switches were hidden behind the headboard, very strange. the hot water supply was hit and miss, if hot in shower then cold in handbasin and visa versa. the window was a poor fit as the wind whistled through all night therefore little sleep.on the plus side we had a good view and the food was adequate although no sausages on day two and eggs were left to get hard. all in all not a very pleasant stay.

  • sarah w

  • March 2015

Mothers Day Weekend

We were disappointed by the quality of the room which was damp and needed redecorating.

The bathroom was really damp with mould on the walls. The dining experience was not good. We were served the wrong starter, the wine was fizzy, though they did change this and my steak was overcooked. We ate out the second night. Breakfast was average at best. I have had much better experiences in Cotswold hotels for the same price point.

  • B Bullock

  • March 2015

Crown & Cushion Hotel

Arrived to a very warm welcome and extremely clean and pleasant room.

Warm, comfortable, good food.

  • T Rose

  • March 2015

A great little find

A wonderful, proper rural hotel with character.

Lovely staff on the desk, great rooms, each individual. Nice atmosphere. Will be staying again.

  • Tim B

  • March 2015

Comfortable but in need of cosmetic improvement

As others have noted, the hotel would benefit from redecoration and new carpets - but I have seen much worse elsewhere.

A definite positive was the bed - probably the most comfortable I've ever slept in

  • Helder S

  • January 2015

Perfect stay

Lovely room and great service.