No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crown & Cushion Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
23 High Street , Chipping Norton, OX7 5AD
A warm welcome to the Crown & Cushion Hotel. In an area steeped with history the Crown & Cushion is a relaxing home away from home. Originally a 15th Century Coaching Inn - the Crown and Cushion is now a proud 40 bedroom hotel right in the heart of the Cotswold's. In the past the Crown and Cushion was owned by the legendary drummer Keith Moon from 'The Who' and his legacy of decadence lives on today.

A New Era in now here, under new ownership, it would be an understatement to say, the locals have seen a vast improvement in standards, service & attention to detail as well as a re-decorate and freshen up. As well as boasting 40 en-suite bedrooms there is a cosy, traditional bar, bistro restaurant, comfortable lounge, alfresco dining on our the floral terrace, private dining room (up to 16 guests), 160 guest function suite (with own bar & separate entrance), 2 further conference rooms, health club - pool, gym, squash court and WiFi available in the hotel grounds.

So why not come in, relax and let the surrounding peacefulness of the countryside take you away.

Dogs are allowed at a cost of £5.00 per dog per night.
Picture of Crown & Cushion Hotel, Chipping Norton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 105 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel, Room Needs Updating
This is my second time staying at The Crown and Cushion. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. I was very disappointed with the bathroom though, I went to have a shower and there was virtually no pressure in the taps, in order to get some pressure I needed to turn the cold tap up which then made the shower too cold to use. The rest of the bathroom was a bit neglected and in need of a revamp. The mattress is in need of replacement, I could feel every spring through it. Apart from the stated the room and hotel were otherwise very nice, very clean, and very warm and welcoming.

Reviewed by
M Wood

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another night at theCrown and Cushion
Got put in a great room with a four poster bed. It was a very pleasant surprise as I have stayed several times before.

Reviewed by
Tim Kneller

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OUr one night stay was better than expected. The staff were all very helpful and attentive. The room was clean and adequate although there could have been more shelf space in the bathroom.
We had a meal in the restaurant and it was excellent the lamb perfectly cooked and served.
Breakfast unfortunately was not so good although there was an array of cereals and fruit when it came to the cooked items the toast took forever to make and then had to wait for the eggs. by the time we got it to the table it was almost cold. it would be better if they served the cooked items to the table to order.All in all a good experience and value for money.

Reviewed by
Janet H

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chipping Norton disaster.
The hotel was booked hurriedly and we made the mistake of not viewing guest reviews. The initial impression of the hotel was good but the warning signs soon emerged when the receptionist recommended that we took our key with us by car to the hotel car park. We were housed in the furthest extremity of an annexe whose entrance hall had probably not been hoovered since Keith Moon was the owner. There was no lighting, either natural or artificial, on the short staircase outside our room and it was difficult to locate the keyhole. We wanted to take a drink in the bar and maybe eat there as well but we couldn't as, amazingly, the hotel allows bar tables to be reserved (and they all were) so we were excluded even though we were residents of the hotel. Dinner was a Chinese takeaway eaten in our room. The next morning breakfast was defined by the lipstick on the cup. We had self-service toast and left rather quickly.

Reviewed by
C Sutcliffe

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, convenient and upgraded
Having stayed here several times before, I was upgraded and enjoyed the experience.
This hotel is very conveniently located in the centre of Chipping Norton and has parking, albeit in a rather tight car park.

Reviewed by
T Kneller

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
The hotel was easy to find, great staff, room was a little cramped and bathroom could do with looking at the shower you had to hold and no curtain. Breakfast was lovely and the food was to die for bar was cheep and a great drink too. Gym was ok could again do with looking at tho as some of the equipment wasn't working but still good. Will be staying here again.

Reviewed by
Adam P

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sleepless nights in Chipping Norton
The rooms at the front of the hotel are unbearably noisy. And on this particularly evening the rack of lamb in the restaurant was inedible. Trust you instincts - restaurants are usually empty for good reason.

Reviewed by
Christopher L

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good sized room which was all it had going for it. Cold and tired decor. Not value for money

Reviewed by
Michelle M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint Crown and Cushion
First impressions were that the Crown and Cushion is a quaint and quirky, It has a traditional feel, and is very quiet. I did think there was much atmosphere which was a shame, but if you want to be left alone then this is fine. There is a walkway through the main building, with decking and a bit of a courtyard at the back. This would be loveley when all the plants were out I imagine, although they all looked desperate for water whilst we were there.(It was the only hot Bank Hol for ages). Our room was out the back in what would have been the coach house, all it's original features were tastfully incorporated into the deco, and I liked the fact that it wasn't the usual sterile hotel room. We had a four poster bed that we weren't expecting, and It's also great that you can open the windows! What a novelty. There is a nice pool in one of the buildings at the back, and you are just left to your own devices which is also unusual. All in all, a lovely surprise and a nice relaxing stay.

Reviewed by
Amanda W

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay
The room was fine although because the weather was cold the room had become very cold probably because the heating was shut off when the room was unoccupied. However they had provided an electric heater as well which did eventually warm the room.
The bar meals were very good.
Breakfast was fine.

Reviewed by
D L P

From Orpington, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next