No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crown & Cushion Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
23 High Street , Chipping Norton, OX7 5AD
A warm welcome to the Crown & Cushion Hotel. In an area steeped with history the Crown & Cushion is a relaxing home away from home. Originally a 15th Century Coaching Inn - the Crown and Cushion is now a proud 40 bedroom hotel right in the heart of the Cotswold's. In the past the Crown and Cushion was owned by the legendary drummer Keith Moon from 'The Who' and his legacy of decadence lives on today.

A New Era in now here, under new ownership, it would be an understatement to say, the locals have seen a vast improvement in standards, service & attention to detail as well as a re-decorate and freshen up. As well as boasting 40 en-suite bedrooms there is a cosy, traditional bar, bistro restaurant, comfortable lounge, alfresco dining on our the floral terrace, private dining room (up to 16 guests), 160 guest function suite (with own bar & separate entrance), 2 further conference rooms, health club - pool, gym, squash court and WiFi available in the hotel grounds.

So why not come in, relax and let the surrounding peacefulness of the countryside take you away.

Dogs are allowed at a cost of £5.00 per dog per night.
Picture of Crown & Cushion Hotel, Chipping Norton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 97 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pool
room was smaller than expected with a rubbish view but bed was really comfy and was nice and quiet at night. Great shower but no bath if wanted. Pool was clean but very cold to say it was called a 'heated pool'.

Reviewed by
Ashley S

From Melton Mowbray, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

crown and cushing chipping norton
i booked a room in this hotel for myself and my husband we found the hotel to be a very nice place some of the staff were very polite and courteous however our visit was somewhat spoilt as when we went to our room it was freezing cold the heating was not on it was a really cold day both my husband and myself suffer with arthritis getting too cold makes us feel ill we did ask at reception about the heating to be told that the heating would be coming on shortly that shortly being 45 mins later we felt that knowing you have guests arriving the hotel should have made sure the room was warm, i think the only time we would ever go back to there is in the warmer weather

Reviewed by
kath s

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, comfortable hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was a little cold in the restaurant but the meal was very good.

Reviewed by
K Coates

From Yateley, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfy bed, duvet could have been better quality.
Buzzing sound all night from somewhere from our room, 24. Will ask for another room next visit.
Had early am appointment so missed breakfast. My husband asked for a bacon sandwich for me for when I got back and this was made up ready when he left, thank you. Also, young lady. At reception remembered us from last year!!!! That was great, also she very polite. We liked that.

Reviewed by
Sheila Potter

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Glad it was only for one night!!!!
When I booked, it was for a 'single room with lots of space'. What I got was a double with very little space! My window basically faced a brick wall so I kept the curtains closed. The furniture was tired and old and the bed had cardboard on the back of the headboard to stop it banging against the wall!!!! It wasn't central to the light switches so I nearly dislocated my shoulder trying to get to the switch. The bath had to be the smallest I have ever seen in my life. Breakfast was not great, I think food was mass cooked then heated up, not made fresh to order. I asked for toast, and the waiter brought toast to every table but mine so I just upped and left. I would never stay at this hotel again, even if someone paid me.

Reviewed by
P Goodall

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hotel to avoid
Although we booked this hotel at short notice due to forecast weather conditions, the accommodation allocated to us in the courtyard (room 40) fell far short of what is required in terms of warmth. The central heating radiators were barely warm and the bathroom was freezing. Following our complaining, a lady attempted to cure the problem but was unable to do so therefore we were provided with portable heaters which helped somewhat. The bed, however, was as cold as a mortuary slab to the point of it feeling damp. We slept fully clothed in what would have been a comfortable bed had it been warm. The heating did come on early morning but only for a short period which lead us to think that there was a serious timing problem with the system. We were also disappointed to be told that breakfast finished at 9am. Again, the breakfast room was heated with portable gas fire. This hotel sadly lacks an effective heating system

Reviewed by
Kenneth B

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant surprise after a long drive and a long day working
Only able to stay for one night but met at reception by helpful and courteous staff who went out of their way to provide information and then went to a spacious room with four poster bed and everything that you could need. Had to opt for the continental in room breakfast due to a very early start but the restaurant in the evening looked quite inviting so sorry to not have taken advantage of it. Definitely would stay again, highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Malcolm Noon

From Heanor, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

chipping norton hotel
have stayed before and always a pleasant experience
nice hotel with old and new perfectly situated in centre of chipping
staff very helpful and friendly

Reviewed by
r mckeown

From Harlow, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top quality hotel
Reception desk was very helpful checking me into hotel explaining all the facilities on offer including meals, gym and swimming pool.
Room was on the larger side plus cleanliness and comfort very good.
Location of hotel was right at the middle of the town, good location for a walk into town centre.
I used both swimming pool and gym and I found the room and rest of hotel to be clean & tidy.

Reviewed by
Peter Mason

From England
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Crown and Cushion
We had a lovely stay in your hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially the Asian waiter who couldn't do enough for us, from lunch on the first day to breakfast on the last. He was always smiling and so helpful. The food in the bar was excellent and good value. The furnishings in the bar were a bit tired looking but apart from that we had no complaints.

Reviewed by
Janette Chapman

From Milton Keynes, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next