No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crown & Cushion Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
23 High Street , Chipping Norton, OX7 5AD
A warm welcome to the Crown & Cushion Hotel. In an area steeped with history the Crown & Cushion is a relaxing home away from home. Originally a 15th Century Coaching Inn - the Crown and Cushion is now a proud 40 bedroom hotel right in the heart of the Cotswold's. In the past the Crown and Cushion was owned by the legendary drummer Keith Moon from 'The Who' and his legacy of decadence lives on today.

A New Era in now here, under new ownership, it would be an understatement to say, the locals have seen a vast improvement in standards, service & attention to detail as well as a re-decorate and freshen up. As well as boasting 40 en-suite bedrooms there is a cosy, traditional bar, bistro restaurant, comfortable lounge, alfresco dining on our the floral terrace, private dining room (up to 16 guests), 160 guest function suite (with own bar & separate entrance), 2 further conference rooms, health club - pool, gym, squash court and WiFi available in the hotel grounds.

So why not come in, relax and let the surrounding peacefulness of the countryside take you away.

Dogs are allowed at a cost of £5.00 per dog per night.
Picture of Crown & Cushion Hotel, Chipping Norton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 104 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, convenient and upgraded
Having stayed here several times before, I was upgraded and enjoyed the experience.
This hotel is very conveniently located in the centre of Chipping Norton and has parking, albeit in a rather tight car park.

Reviewed by
T Kneller

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
The hotel was easy to find, great staff, room was a little cramped and bathroom could do with looking at the shower you had to hold and no curtain. Breakfast was lovely and the food was to die for bar was cheep and a great drink too. Gym was ok could again do with looking at tho as some of the equipment wasn't working but still good. Will be staying here again.

Reviewed by
Adam P

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sleepless nights in Chipping Norton
The rooms at the front of the hotel are unbearably noisy. And on this particularly evening the rack of lamb in the restaurant was inedible. Trust you instincts - restaurants are usually empty for good reason.

Reviewed by
Christopher L

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good sized room which was all it had going for it. Cold and tired decor. Not value for money

Reviewed by
Michelle M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint Crown and Cushion
First impressions were that the Crown and Cushion is a quaint and quirky, It has a traditional feel, and is very quiet. I did think there was much atmosphere which was a shame, but if you want to be left alone then this is fine. There is a walkway through the main building, with decking and a bit of a courtyard at the back. This would be loveley when all the plants were out I imagine, although they all looked desperate for water whilst we were there.(It was the only hot Bank Hol for ages). Our room was out the back in what would have been the coach house, all it's original features were tastfully incorporated into the deco, and I liked the fact that it wasn't the usual sterile hotel room. We had a four poster bed that we weren't expecting, and It's also great that you can open the windows! What a novelty. There is a nice pool in one of the buildings at the back, and you are just left to your own devices which is also unusual. All in all, a lovely surprise and a nice relaxing stay.

Reviewed by
Amanda W

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay
The room was fine although because the weather was cold the room had become very cold probably because the heating was shut off when the room was unoccupied. However they had provided an electric heater as well which did eventually warm the room.
The bar meals were very good.
Breakfast was fine.

Reviewed by
D L P

From Orpington, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
I booked this place as recommended by a friend, I was suprised by a four poster rather than the standard double I had booked. The room was well furnished and kept and had a brand new bathroom which was really nice.

Reviewed by
K Murray

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
The staff were very pleasanr but the accommodation needs a serious upgrade. The towels were an interesting shade of grey!

Reviewed by
L Taylor

From Wargrave, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the conditon of hotel was a little tired but cosy.Excellent customer service from everyone.wonderful breakfast and plenty of choice.We had a bar meal on both nights which was excellent,very good value for drinks in the bar,with plenty of friendly locals to chat to.
We were disapointed with the condition of changing rooms at the pool,however the pool was clean and warm,the showers at the pool were cold water only.
We would love another stay at the crown and cushion.

Reviewed by
gillian austin

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little things let this hotel down...no soap in the bathroom for handwashing and, though the room was large, the bed was only a small double and rather hard. We had to ask for another duvet as the one on the bed was NOT warm enough for winter.
Overall good but could be much better!

Reviewed by
B O'Farrell

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next