No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - VILLAGE URBAN RESORT Maidstone

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Forstal Road Sandling, Maidstone, ME14 3AQ
Village Maidstone is situated on the banks of the River Medway and is perfectly located to explore Kent and beyond. Dover and the Channel Tunnel are just too handy making this an ideal venue for an en-route stop to Europe. Explore some of the pretty Kent villages or visit one of the loveliest castles in the World, offering breathtaking views and beautifully landscaped gardens.

Village Urban Resorts offers you everything under one roof: cool room big bed; a pool you can swim in; a gym to relax in; a choice of stylish dining or traditional pub grub; a Starbucks and FREE Car Parking. All rooms are uber chic and include FREE wifi which is also available in all public areas. Why not upgrade to an UpperDeck room – the must-have room with genuinely good extras!

Enjoy the wonderful amenities and great service at the Village Urban Resort Maidstone.

Picture of VILLAGE URBAN RESORT Maidstone, Maidstone at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 115 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No more than travel lodge accommodation and for the steep price not really worth it.
Hotel room was basic, pullout sofa bed for children was uncomfortable. Accommodation relatively basic, toiletries very basic. For the price paid I would have expected better. Leisure facilities ok but for a short stay wouldn't pay the difference in price and cheaper accommodation of same standard as room.

Reviewed by
M Wade

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy to return
I have stayed at this hotel twice before and was glad to see that what we liked about it has not changed.
We travel to Kent for our granddaughter , and the location is just right .
The hotel has a family friendly feel and the space that children require.
The breakfasts are still good quality with choice.
Location wise it is ideal to visit zoos etc and a lovely walk along the river is always enjoyed by all the family.
I would and have, recommended this hotel and location

Reviewed by
Lorraine Piper

From Milford Haven, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired Room
I was underwhelmed by the hotel in general and thought the room was tired in decor and furniture. I will never stay there again. I checked into the Premier inn next door the following night. That was a great hotel, value for money and the room was 100% better. I have no further comment.

Reviewed by
Andrew T

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

De Vere Village Maidstone
Pleasant welcome and check-in. WiFi password was not pointed out although it was displayed on the front desk. Had to return from room to ask since telephone in room did not work. Reception and bar are very busy/noisy in the day and evening especially with Starbucks franchise in lobby. Verve restaurant has very limited menu. Don't expect to have a quiet, leisurely meal/drink in Victory bar - very noisy. Ate in Victory one night and then went across to Harvesters for second. Breakfast was OK, plenty of choice although bacon was 'leathery' on all three mornings. Very busy lobby and much foot traffic to and from leisure facilities. . You can see the 'mist' rising rom the lobby stair well access to leisure area and smell the chlorine. Room was very warm even with heating off - opened windows and used the fan in the room all night. Staff readily supplied fresh milk when requested. Tea/coffee mugs were not cleaned on the first day and on the second they had been cleaned with bleach - remains of bleach ruined first cup of tea. Glasses taken to room from bar previous evening were not removed by room service. Television packed up on second evening - was exchanged but then only a very limited number of channels and certainly not BBC News. Overall an average stay although, in general, staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Reviewed by
J Jones

From Dinas Powys, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

As described
would not pay the full price but with laterooms very good value

Reviewed by
JOHN SAYLES

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really nice Easter stay
We booked a total of 6 nights here on a B&B basis. We requested a twin room in a quiet location, and boy did they deliver. The room was very large with two 3' beds in and a pot cupboard by each, a little couch enough for 2 people to watch the TV, and 2 chairs round a small table, where I kept my lap top. A nice bathroom with shower over bath, and a shower screen so the floor did not get soaking wet. Breakfast was enough to set you up for the day. Easy parking, very easy to find just off M20. Will return when they have another offer.

Reviewed by
J Bell

From Bedford, England
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
Good location, plenty of parking, adequate sized room. Wifi bandwidth was fine. Gym was excellent and certainly one of the best I have used.
On the negatives, the food isn't great, and expensive.

Reviewed by
Jon R

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxed and enjoyable
I arrived at a busy time but was dealt with swiftly unpacked and had a swim in the pool which was very enjoyable. The evening meal was cooked to perfection and the waitress was very pleasant and helpful

Reviewed by
B Hall

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Road noise an issue
I don't think it matters how much of a bargain you get a hotel room for; if you don't get a good sleep it's not worth the money.
The room was very nice and comfortable as had upgraded to Upper Deck, but the noise from the nearby road was constant. Had to use earplugs even though the double glazing was closed.
The Verve grill was closed on the night I attended, therefore had to use Victory pub. The food that came out was not great to be honest. The side salad consisted of 2 lettuce leaves, 2 slices of tomato, and 4 long slices of cucumber and the mince in the penne pasta felt a little chewy/gristly. My pint of lager looked and tasted fantastic though - nice head lasting to the bottom of the glass, and plenty of bite from the gas suggesting line cleaning done well.
Had to sit in the lobby area to eat, as the bar was filled with a quiz night - gave the whole place the feel of the local boozer rather than a quality hotel
So - nice hotel (great staff. clean bathroom, big soft pillows and duvet, free internet, nice decor, breakfast included), but the road noise is a deal breaker and would stop me from booking again. If hotels near Heathrow can block out the sounds of the planes, am sure something can be done to stop road noise coming through at this hotel.

Reviewed by
C Thomson

From York, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked a standard double room, the staff were very polite on arrival. Quality of room was good but noticed the sheets were a bit grubby. Reported it to reception and after inspecting the sheets agreed to give us an alternative room. To ensure we were satisfied we were relocated to the upperdeck premium accomadation. So all in all room could have been a lot cleaner but the staff were very helpful in ensuring we enjoyed our stay. Cant comment on the food or facilities as we did not make use of them

Reviewed by
C Farrell

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next