VILLAGE URBAN RESORT Maidstone

3

Forstal Road Sandling, Maidstone, ME14 3AQ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (94)

77% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • F Griffith

  • October 2014

The room we stayed in was very stylish, clean and came with a very comfortable bed.

It was lovely to be able to have drinks in our room and the nice touch of it being Starbucks was good. The inclusion of the biscotti was a good extra touch. Unfortunately we'd forgotten our gym stuff but it was great to know we could have used the gym facilities. I'd definitely recommend a stay to friends.

  • Steven M

  • October 2014

Value for money

Restaurant food not value for money.

The lamb was not cooked as asked the first time and came with food which i asked not to accompany the meal and had to ask for a steak knife. Hardly any edible lamb on the plate even when cooked further. The starter chicken liver pate had two tiny slices of baguette without butter and cost more than have paid for in other hotels. Breakfast fine. Would use the accommodation but not the restaurant.

  • P K

  • October 2014

Lots of little things could've been better.

As someone who visits Madistone half a dozen times each year, I stay here reasonably regularly, and this was by far the most dissatisfying visit.

There were a lot of little things that generally irritated me:

- The pillows, while usually not great as they are far too soft, were more so this time around;

- There was only one plug socket available. First world problems - yes. But on a business trip when I need to plug my laptop in, charge my phone and preferably have a desk light on at the same time, this seems like a bit of an oversight.

- The sign in the shower advising me to ensure that the shower curtain should be tucked inside the shower seemed a touch misplaced seeing as it didn't exist. In its place was a glass sheet that did not seem to fit the purpose, and as a result, I spent a while using the complementary towels to mop up the water.

- When I mentioned these things to the man on reception, he offered a cursory "Sorry. That'll be £xxx.xx Please."

Like I said, nothing major to bother me, just lots a few little things that made my stay a bit worse and left a bad taste in the mouth when there wasn't a sincere apology afterwards.

  • E T

  • October 2014

Looking tired but generally OK

The Village looks quite hard worn but is generally at an acceptable standard.

The gym/pool are extensive, but also look quite hard-used.

  • Paul J

  • October 2014

Relaxing Retreat

Stayed for a night, wish it could have been longer.

Enjoyed a clean, comfortable room in a very relaxed environment. Leisure facilities and gym were excellent. Only slight complaint was that jacuzzi was out of action, my wife's favourite, and also room was too hot during the night, which made it quite a restless night. However, lovely setting and close to Medway , so a river walk was only two minutes away.

  • tina j

  • October 2014

Weekend, one night stay

Just the one night stay.

Staff friendly and efficient. Upper Deck room very nice. Did not have time to try the leisure facilities. Good quality breakfast ... Evening meal in the restaurant was very good too but a tad pricey for the quantity. Overall a very relaxed and enjoyable stay.

  • Clare F

  • September 2014

Upper deck room, good facilities, room clean, fresh, comfprtable, staff - particularly reception len

A Surprise overnight stay for my husbands birthday, I mentioned this to staff on booking and they had a complimentary bottle of wine in the room.

The finishing touch to a perfect overnight stay. Sky movies in the room excellent - well worth the £20 upgrade to upper deck

  • Kate W

  • September 2014

Charged extra for a family room but exactly the same as a double

I found that booking online said that only family rooms were left at £142 per night rather than the double which is £102.

Upon arrival my room was identical to the double my friends were sharing down the hall. Either they moved me to a double and didn't have the courtesy to refund me the difference or the "family" room is a con.

  • C Creasy

  • September 2014

Saturday Night Stay

Everything I would expect.

i.e. clean and fit for purpose although somewhat overpriced. I paid £104 for night B&B. I paid less for a better stay at Eastwell Manor. I would say in the region of £70 would have been better. Breakfast was ok but very limited Continental selection with no cheeses or meats to choose from or brown breads. Had to make do with self service English breakfast which included choices of black pudding and eggs that had been on display to long. Reminded me of breakfast on a large cruise ship.

I don't wish to be over critical but a Premier Inn would be much better value for overnight stay. Oh yes and the Starbucks in main reception is priced at Airport levels with Latte's priced at 50p more than I pay in Canary Wharf.

  • Margaret N

  • September 2014

Worried

Having read some of the bad reviews, I wasn't sure of what to expect, however it was a pleasant experience after all.

The room was clean, the staff were friendly and helpful. I wouldn't stay at the full rate but was happy with the deal I'd got so I would stay again at the lower price. Bit of a delay in answering email query though. A quicker response would be more helpful.