No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
Writtle Road, Margaretting , Chelmsford, CM4 0EH
The BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel is set in a nine acre site in the village of Margaretting near Chelmsford.
Originally a Victorian country house, our attractive accommodation has been sympathetically extended to add even more room for relaxation, and now offers 33 contemporary bedrooms along with modern and flexible conference facilities and a picturesque setting for your wedding or party!

Within a recently built extension to the lounge you will find Bartellas', an independently operated restaurant, offering good food, professionally served in smart but comfortable surroundings. Suitable for all the family and for any occasion, Bartellas' has something to tempt everyone from the A la Carte menu with its regularly changing specials, or opt for one of the Traditional Favourites.
Please call 01277 355021 to book or visit bartellasrestaurant.co.uk for more details.

Whatever your excuse for visiting (as if you needed one!), we will be more than happy to host you! Nestled in the Essex countryside but just moments from the A12 between Chelmsford and Brentwood, we offer more convenience than most, especially if you are taking residence in our function rooms which can cater for parties of any size between 2 and 220 guests. Everyone's invited, so be our guest!
Picture of BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, Chelmsford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Night at the Ivy
Room 25 (I have had better rooms)
- very creaky floors, also quite loud with noise filtering in from neighbouring rooms.
The air- vent in the bathroom - very loud ...
The bathroom, although clean and functional, is an small size. (Example: if you were sitting on the WC and wanted to watch the TV, - but cant open the door because of your legs...)
Room rate pricey at over GBP 110,- and the bed itself is far from the standard of other chains No topper - Others such as some Premier Inns, Days Inn, Marriott and Holiday Inn Express do much better beds.
At breakfast - the was help yourself to tea, coffe, bread ( limited choice) muesil, yogurts, cold meats, cheeses and fruits but no warm buffet so cook breakfast made-to-order, however the fried eggs were evidently pre-cooked, kept warm and ruther unsatisfactory... The rest of breakfast was fine with enough to fil..
Staff ( reception check-in/ check ot ) very friendly and made up for the dissapointing breakfast.

Reviewed by
Christian E

From Ratingen 40880, Germany
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good 3 star Hotel
Does what it says on the tin. Nice grounds, very accessible to A12, clean, bar comfortable, room nice, wifi, breakfast good and have tomato juice on demand, staff helpful. Bit hot, but unexpected warm weather. Ordered taxi when we needed one, free local paper also a good read, bathroom fine, not over endowered with freebies.

Reviewed by
Anthony Ramsay

From Barking, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean comfortable and friendly

Reviewed by
Andrew P

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK
.

Reviewed by
J Elsom

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room for Improvement
Room no.10 - not ideal unless you're the hit-pillow-straight-to-sleep type, regardless of noise and distraction. The latter is well supplied if you choose this room, with a generator/cooler just outside the room supplying the most irritating of whirrings into life every 5-10 mins with the dulcet sounds of a 60 year-old (never been oiled) tractor! If you're paying £90 for this room (as I was, breakfast not included) then you'd at least expect a quiet enough room that you can sleep in. The highly rated food also left more to be desired - my first stab at the fish dish left me cold (quite literally, as it was almost raw); the white wine however didn't - it wasn't cold at all! Second time lucky, and this is where the hotel at least partially made a come-back, with its customer service. A shame the receptionist (I'll save the name to protect the innocent) couldn't find a welcoming smile to crack her face (long day?!), but at least the food waiter was only too happy to change the dish, get a new glass of wine and knew how to smile. Likewise, the other receptionist was helpful and in the morning the poor lady who I sadly had to complain to at least sounded like she cared and would do something about it. Which, the hotel did - £20 refund. Enough to make me go back? Probably not - there's a Premier Inn up the road at nearly half the price!

Reviewed by
Paul Barnard

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice clean hotel, good location, not clear waiter service available and what time food was on until as the bar was closed on a bank holiday Sunday. Otherwise staff very friendly and helpful. Would gladly stay again. :-)

Reviewed by
David H

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Passing through.
Handy location, just a few miles from the M25. Standard business peoples' stopover.
Staff were friendly and helpful and food was OK. Room was clean and well equipped and everything worked.
£96 room only was a bit steep - but we've had worse.
Unlikely to stay again, but wouldn't rule it out.

Reviewed by
L Kirkpatrick

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our second stay here and will stay again. Extremely clean. Good breakfast.

Reviewed by
P Atkinson

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall very satisfactory, but I would not use this hotel again - see below
I object MOST STRONGLY to the addition of an item "Discretionary Gratuities" to my bill, which I only noticed when I had returned home.

Reviewed by
John S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel close to A12
Stayed one night and felt more like a 4* than the 3* it was listed as. Lovely modern room and the gardens were beautiful. Good choice for breakfast and gardens were lovely - weather made all the difference! Would recommend.

Reviewed by
Karen J

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next