No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
Writtle Road, Margaretting, Chelmsford, CM4 0EH
The BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel is part of 'Heritage On The Hill', the nine acre site in the village of Margaretting near Chelmsford, which also incorporates neighbouring Furze Hill. Originally a Victorian country house, our attractive accommodation has been sympathetically extended to add even more room for relaxation, and now offers 30 contemporary bedrooms along with modern and flexible conference facilities and a picturesque setting for your wedding or party! Our Restaurant, Bartellas, majors on good food, professionally served in smart surroundings, at terrific value for money prices. Suitable for all the family and for any occasion, Bartellas has something to tempt everyone; great pizza, delicious pasta and a range of sophisticated starters, main dishes and desserts. Whatever your excuse for visiting (as if you needed one!), we will be more than happy to host you! Nestled in the Essex countryside but just moments from the A12 between Chelmsford and Brentwood, we offer more convenience than most, especially if you are taking residence in our function rooms... which can cater for parties of any size between 2 and 200 guests. Everyone's invited, so be our guest!
Picture of BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, Chelmsford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent venue for meeting up with friends
We stayed at the Ivy Hill to meet up with old friends we used to see when we lived in Essex. The hotel lounge/bar provided an ideal venue and the staff were very accommodating. The casual way we could order food as and when we needed it was brilliant.

Reviewed by
Jenny s

From Falmouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

June 2013 visit
Very clean and comfortable. Unfortunate that the Bar was not available and had to use the Conservatory which suffers from road noise!
Hotel is very close to the A12 and suffers from traffic noise. Only one towel in bathroom which was soon rectified by helpful receptionist.

Reviewed by
Richard P

From North Walsham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb
This hotel was absolutely excellent. We had a lovely large room because we had booked for 2 adults and a child. This gave us plenty of room for the crib, and all the other baby paraphernalia! We also subsequently found out they can loan out changing mats and travel cots. The food in the bar was pretty good; can't comment on the main restaurant as we didn't eat in there. Very clean and the maid service was very friendly - taking notice of the specific note we left asking for e curtains to be left closed after servicing. Only one suggestion which is for proper fans to be available - the is a small heater/fan unit in the wardrobe, but to be honest this just doesn't cut it as a fan and it can get very warm in the rooms.

Reviewed by
Helen A

From Burntwood, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice accommodation
Very nice stay. Lovely room, excellent service. Really nice breakfast albeit a bit pricey.

Reviewed by
P Wolfenden

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, comfortable room. Staff most helpful and friendly. Stayed here for 1 night only for a wedding. Was a bit late for breakfast, but staff didn't seem to mind. Slept like a baby.

Reviewed by
judy rue

From Bishop's Stortford, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
Very nice experience and would strongly recommend it to others

Reviewed by
P Wolfenden

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2