Reviews - The Eaton Hotel


29-31 City Road, Chester, CH1 3AE

Price From 85.09 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (48)

71% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Martin M

  • August 2015

Great Value for money Great Location

Nice hotel with loads of ancient class .

  • Claudia S

  • July 2015

Friendly and convenient

Friendly small hotel, nicely located on the canalside - within easy walking distance to the railway station and city centre.

The room was clean and everything in working order. Breakfast was good and generous. I cannot comment on the restaurant/bar of the hotel. There are a number of nice restaurants nearby. The hotel would benefit from modernisation, but this would probably impact on the price, which was quite reasonable. For this accommodation category, it was good value for money.

  • Greg Bolden

  • April 2015


Greeted ok on arrival, but when came down to bar the receptionist was swearing on a private call, the rooms were dirty to say the least, marks all over the walls.

My colleagues room had soap wrappers etc still in the shower and things that can only be described as ' bogeys ' rubbed down the walls. The hotel shows pictures of a canalside pub which is no longer open. In all a terrible experience and I think should refuse to promote them.

  • M Williams

  • April 2015

Good value

Good value for an en suite bedroom.

I would stay here again.

  • Lynda B

  • March 2015

Little treat

Very welcoming.

Room big enough for our needs. Shower & tiny bath, but more than adequate. We took breakfast which was great. Cooked while we waited, pleasant dining area. Bar area was ok & service was good. Bed comfy, pillows seriously lacking any substance, need new ones.

  • Paul W

  • February 2015

Very good

Very good, nice area, close to the town and very clean!

  • Jess S

  • February 2015

Good budget hotel

Excellent value - £30 for a double bed (although a single traveller) with breakfast included and reliable wifi, everything I needed.

Very convenient location about equidistant from the railway station and the city centre. A clean, tastefully decorated, good-sized room overlooking the canal. The tiniest bath I’ve ever seen (as a 5ft 3 woman I was squashed in!), but in all honesty to have a bath at all in a budget room is unusual and was welcome after a day of walking around. Great full English breakfast in the pub downstairs, but let down by a hot drinks machine rather that made a truly disturbing hot chocolate.

  • d lloyd

  • February 2015

Eaton review

Room was warm.

Good price for the room. Friendly staff.

  • Faith TRUE

  • February 2015

The Eaton Hotel

The shower and bathroom fittings could do with being renewed.

The tiles and shower edges could do with being resealed edges cleaned and the heating did not come on until 4 pm. they let us leave our luggage until we went home. The one towel wasn't clean but they replaced it. A basic room better in a premier hotel. The good thing it was close to the city.

  • Simon C

  • January 2015

The Eaton hotel

Not worth the money water coming through ceiling when upstairs had shower and tv reception very poo