No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Eaton Hotel

2Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
29-31 City Road , Chester, CH1 3AE
A non- smoking hotel ideally located in the heart of Chester overlooking the Shropshire Union Canal. The Eaton Hotel is just 400 yards from Chester's railway station, and offers free parking on city road overnight until 10am or alternative pay and display parking is always available so it is ideal whether traveling by rail or car. Just a short five minute stroll away you will find many of Chester's historic attractions including the Roman City Walls and the famous Roman Ampitheatre.

All our rooms are well equipped, offering a good standard of accommodation and also have full en suite facilities and most rooms overlook the Shropshire Union Canal offered in a warm and friendly atmosphere. Guest check in from 2pm, Latest check in at 10pm. Reception closes at 11pm. We look forward to welcoming you to the historic city of Chester.

PLEASE NOTE: Four or more rooms which are booked at once (party's etc.) a 50% deposit will be retained by the Hotel.
Picture of The Eaton Hotel, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 81 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nicely furnished/comfortable room.

Reviewed by
Andrew T

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Ok place, good location between train station and city centre. Good value for city centre too.

Reviewed by
Paul H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again!
The poorest hotel I have ever stayed in. I had booked two singles for me & my son. Both our bathrooms stunk of bleach. Both doors had faulty locks & did not feel secure. Both rooms smelt musty. I had to get my son to help me open my window to get the bleach fumes out as there was badly fitted secondary double glazing panels that looked as if they were welded in with misuse. Behind them was a sash window with no handles that after some struggling he managed to lift up. I dare not try to close this on my return in the evening for fear of losing some fingers or the double glazing falling out. The inside of my kettle was filthy so I did not have a hot drink. On arrival I was informed by reception that there was no remote for the television & I it could be worked manually. It could but only to get the response 'no service' on every channel. The walls were so thin you can hear every word the adjoining guests were saying. The taps were filthy & coming away from the sink & the towel rails were broke. There was nice clean cotton bed linen on my bed but the mattress was very uncomfortable & lumpy. My sons bed had a variety of odd bedding that had seen better days. Despite being exhausted after a busy day sightseeing followed by an evening meal with drinks I hardly slept a wink. We couldn't wait to get out of the place in the morning. We passed on breakfast as we didn't want to eat food prepared somewhere that is happy to sell rooms that are in such an appalling state & we couldn't wait to get out of the place in the morning. I knew that this was a budget hotel when I booked but my son made the valid point that he had stayed in far better hostels for less than £40 each per night. This hotel seems to think that it can get away with anything as they perceive themselves as good value. It is not good value & would not recommend this hotel to anybody.

Reviewed by
S Harrison

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

no Breakfast
do not stay here
went for breakfast at agreed time and nobody had arrived to make any did not get a refund

Reviewed by
Peter K

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never Again
Nobody arrive to make breakfast so had to go without evan though paid for it and did not a refund

Reviewed by
Peter K

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

worth every penny
Budget Hotel, great location

Reviewed by
Toby G

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not like pictures show on internet.
had to change rooms. light in bathroom did not work, only one socket to use for kettle,hairdryer,etc and only one bed side light worked. second bedroom a lot better. would liked it to have been cleaner behind furniture. this time both bedside lamps did not work. pictures of canal side showing lovely seating area looked closed down witch was the most disappointing thing because we would of liked to have sat outside for a drink or two.

Reviewed by
philip c

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room small
Was like stayin in a single room but with a double bed, shower had a ft drop step in and out no more than 1 could fit in the room at once. Toilet flush button broke really unimpressed with the price paid for the room, staff more interested in having a laugh with one an other behind the bar.

Reviewed by
jason m

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Eaton
The hotel was basic however clean, the staff were friendly and polite. The hotel has a good location very close to the train station and no more than five minutes walk into the town. Very good value for money.

Reviewed by
Tracy Mould

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location. Close to city centre and very close to the railway station. Good value for the price. Didn't notice much noise during the night and slept well.

Reviewed by
John C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next