No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Oxford Thames Four Pillars Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Henley Road, Sandford-On-Thames , Oxford, OX4 4GX
Just over three miles from the centre of Oxford, this luxury four star hotel offers an elegant retreat from the bustle of the city. Set in 30 acres of beautiful parkland leading down to the River Thames, its unique architectural style incorporates charming medieval buildings, along with sympathetically designed modern additions. From the stunning baronial-style reception area to the elegant River Room Restaurant, you could not find a more perfect setting for a memorable stay.
Sit back with a drink in one of the hotel’s beautiful lounge areas, or enjoy a meal from the tempting Crusader’s Lounge menu. For dining with a stunning view of parkland and the River Thames, choose the River Room Restaurant, where the menu offers the best of classic and contemporary cuisine.
Hotel guests can make full use of Jeromes Leisure Club during their stay, and can enjoy the Roman-style swimming pool, spa bath, sauna, steam room and state of the art gymnasium. Outside, there is a riverside tennis court and acres of parkland to walk in. Oxford has something to appeal to every visitor. The famous Bicester Village outlet shopping centre is nearby, as is Blenheim Palace, perfect for a day out.
Picture of Oxford Thames Four Pillars Hotel, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room quality hotel good food

Reviewed by
Kevin R

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break
very helpful staff, great room and excellent food.
great location.

Reviewed by
O De weijer

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect!
Stayed at this hotel with my partner for our anniversary. Beautiful setting, room was newly refurbished with modern furnishings. Perfect place to spend time with loved one peaceful and beautiful, all staff very polite and helpful. Its a place I will recommend to my family and friends.

Reviewed by
Anne-Marie R

From Buckingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel, pitty about the food!
What a lovely hotel in a love setting, greeted by friendly and efficient staff. The room was spacious with a modern clean look with fabulous views. A quick swim in the indoor pool and a relaxing time in the hot tub watching the good and great putting themselves through hell in the Gym. After an aperitif in the bar, great bitter, we headed off for dinner. a Cauvery with a splendid side of beef that was both delicious and tender but oh those vegetables, how long had they been sitting there? Slimy on the outside look warm on the inside, very ,very disappointing after enjoying everything else about the hotel. Unlike dinner the previous night breakfast was a complete contrast with any think you wanted freshly provided if so needed. Keep up the high standards of the staff in the reception and house keeping, even the gardener would not allow a single leaf to linger on his lawn as long as those sprouts had under the heat lamps!

Reviewed by
roger lewis

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oxford Thames Four Pillars Hotel
Excellent hotel

Reviewed by
S Harper

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful
Booking in was quick and easy. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a garden room that allowed us access to a small private decking area with table and chairs leading out to the grounds and the Thames beyond. It was excellent. We ordered room service when we got there, which was quite late (around 9pm) but the food was freshly prepared and cooked. A bit pricey, but worth it. Again breakfast was lovely, all freshly prepared and cooked. The only thing i found irritating was there were no coasters in the rooms. Hot cups, cold glasses do not mix with wooden surfaces. I know.... is it just me.

Reviewed by
s vaines

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oxford Thames Four Pillars Hotel
The hotel is superb in a lovely location. My room was extremely quiet and I had a good nights sleep. Pillow was a little too flat for me but overall the bed was comfortable. The spa area was relaxing and I was greeted by friendly staff. The bar food and staff was excellent and there are also a couple of local restaurants / pubs that you can eat out if you require a change of scene. I would certainly recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Reviewed by
K Shaw

From Ashton Under Lyne, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday celebrations
Enjoyable stay with family to celebrate a 'big' birthday .
Staff were excellent as was the accommodation and location.

Reviewed by
D Haslett

From Whitehaven, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location, fantastic grounds

Reviewed by
D Hembery

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend away
We spent a weekend at the Four Pillars Thames in order to visit Oxford, and had a wonderful time.
The staff, especially in the restaurant, were always attentive but not intrusive, and the food in the restaurant was also exceptional. As vegetarians this is rarely the case. The accommodation was also of a very good standard.

Reviewed by
Jon K

From Wigston, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next