No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Oxford Thames Four Pillars Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Henley Road, Sandford-On-Thames , Oxford, OX4 4GX
Just over three miles from the centre of Oxford, this luxury four star hotel offers an elegant retreat from the bustle of the city. Set in 30 acres of beautiful parkland leading down to the River Thames, its unique architectural style incorporates charming medieval buildings, along with sympathetically designed modern additions. From the stunning baronial-style reception area to the elegant River Room Restaurant, you could not find a more perfect setting for a memorable stay.
Sit back with a drink in one of the hotel’s beautiful lounge areas, or enjoy a meal from the tempting Crusader’s Lounge menu. For dining with a stunning view of parkland and the River Thames, choose the River Room Restaurant, where the menu offers the best of classic and contemporary cuisine.
Hotel guests can make full use of Jeromes Leisure Club during their stay, and can enjoy the Roman-style swimming pool, spa bath, sauna, steam room and state of the art gymnasium. Outside, there is a riverside tennis court and acres of parkland to walk in. Oxford has something to appeal to every visitor. The famous Bicester Village outlet shopping centre is nearby, as is Blenheim Palace, perfect for a day out.
Picture of Oxford Thames Four Pillars Hotel, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 56 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oxford Four Pillars hotel
Service between courses was a bit slow at times, during dinner. My wife had mussels one night and found four of them had not opened after cooking. These should not have been put on the plate. Also one night after dinner we ordered two liqueur coffees. The barman eventually brought out one glass of coffee with no cream on the top! It took another two visits to the bar before we got anything that looked like a liqueur coffee and by which time we had gone off the idea anyway.

Reviewed by
M Clarke

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room & hotel. in general.
We asked for a quiet room and this was provided. You couldn't hear a pin drop. Room was spacious and nicely decorated. Hotel and surroundings were beautiful and we would return here again and certainly recommend to friends and family and anyone wishing to have a lovely break in Oxford.

Reviewed by
K Butcher

From South Croydon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely Fantastic stay, Will definitely be returning.
Fantastic Hotel, will definitely be returning. We dined in the restaurant after a relaxing hour in the pool and Jacuzzi and thoroughly enjoyed a 3 course meal. After a beautiful sleep in the luxurious bed we then had breakfast delivered to our room where we sat on our private little patio to enjoy.

Reviewed by
P Radley

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night stay
Lovely hotel, very nice staff

Reviewed by
Alister M

From Broxburn, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Out of town hotel with some period features
This hotel has some lovely historic aspects to parts of the site. Our room was immaculately presented and we were given a lovely aspect onto the walled garden with our own little patio table and chairs. I asked for a quiet room and was very grateful we were placed far away from the wedding function room. However there is no info about breakfast on the website, egg what time it is served and whether it can be ordered to the room. I had to email to ask. There was no choice in what you received as cooked breakfast if it was ordered to the room either... if I had been vegetarian or Jewish/Muslim I would have not had a great start to the day with the plate I was sent. At nearly £300 per room advertised rate (thanks to LateRooms we did not pay this) I would expect a tick box choice of breakfast items, and definitely toast, for room service breakfast. (No toast!) And nowadays if I pay over £100 a night at a hotel or even a BandB I normally get real coffee not instant. This hotel looks pretty in places but isn't matching the standards of accommodation in the same price bracket.

Reviewed by
F Walsh

From Helston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Idilic Hotel
Lovely hotel, lovely views, Would have like to have been their longer.

Reviewed by
C Sharples

From Stalybridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Will stay again

Reviewed by
paul h

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful place
This hotel more than lived up to my expectations, what a beautiful place in an exceptional setting. I would recommend this venue to anyone.

Reviewed by
carol harrison

From St Ives, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant
A nice hotel, with reasonably friendly staff. The location and grounds of the hotel are beautiful. The rooms a pretty, although not as spacious as I'd have liked for the money we paid. The spa facilities were ok, although I wouldn't recommend the hotel for a spa break as there was only one beauty room which delayed treatments.

Reviewed by
Helen B

From Whitstable, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing location and nice hotel
On both friday and saturday night the function room was playing loud music which could be heard in many parts of hotel plus in room, which detracted from the quality image of the hotel and meant it was hard to really 'get away from it all'

Reviewed by
J Gamble Pugh

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next