Reviews - Oxford Thames Four Pillars Hotel


Henley Road, Sandford-On-Thames, Oxford, OX4 4GX

Price From 243.35 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (46)

93% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Alister M

  • August 2014

1 night stay

Lovely hotel, very nice staff

  • F Walsh

  • August 2014

Out of town hotel with some period features

This hotel has some lovely historic aspects to parts of the site.

Our room was immaculately presented and we were given a lovely aspect onto the walled garden with our own little patio table and chairs. I asked for a quiet room and was very grateful we were placed far away from the wedding function room. However there is no info about breakfast on the website, egg what time it is served and whether it can be ordered to the room. I had to email to ask. There was no choice in what you received as cooked breakfast if it was ordered to the room either... if I had been vegetarian or Jewish/Muslim I would have not had a great start to the day with the plate I was sent. At nearly £300 per room advertised rate (thanks to LateRooms we did not pay this) I would expect a tick box choice of breakfast items, and definitely toast, for room service breakfast. (No toast!) And nowadays if I pay over £100 a night at a hotel or even a BandB I normally get real coffee not instant. This hotel looks pretty in places but isn't matching the standards of accommodation in the same price bracket.

  • C Sharples

  • August 2014

Idilic Hotel

Lovely hotel, lovely views, Would have like to have been their longer.

  • paul h

  • July 2014


Will stay again

  • carol harrison

  • July 2014

Wonderful place

This hotel more than lived up to my expectations, what a beautiful place in an exceptional setting.

I would recommend this venue to anyone.

  • Helen B

  • July 2014


A nice hotel, with reasonably friendly staff.

The location and grounds of the hotel are beautiful. The rooms a pretty, although not as spacious as I'd have liked for the money we paid. The spa facilities were ok, although I wouldn't recommend the hotel for a spa break as there was only one beauty room which delayed treatments.

  • David H

  • July 2014

Enjoyable Break

We only stayed the one night, but wished we could have stayed longer, the hotel and staff were fantastic the room we had was on the ground floor and opened onto a lavender garden with our own garden table and chairs.

The food was stunning, in presentation and taste. The swimming pool was clean and open later then some I have stayed at. Deco of the hotel was old oak beams and stone which gave a warm old world vibe.

  • J Gamble Pugh

  • July 2014

Relaxing location and nice hotel

On both friday and saturday night the function room was playing loud music which could be heard in many parts of hotel plus in room, which detracted from the quality image of the hotel and meant it was hard to really 'get away from it all'

  • Robert Morrison

  • June 2014

Our Wonderful Day In Oxford.

Oxford is a very beautiful city and The Four Pillars Hotel at Sanford is the same.

being able to park our car in the "sister" Four Pillars Hotel close to the city centre was an absolute bonus too.

  • S Channon

  • May 2014

Lovely hotel

We had a lovely break, despite the rain and not being able to enjoy the excellent gardens and walks.