Reviews - Oxford Thames Four Pillars Hotel


Henley Road, Sandford-On-Thames, Oxford, OX4 4GX

Price From 355.16 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (44)

91% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • M Clarke

  • August 2014

Oxford Four Pillars hotel

Service between courses was a bit slow at times, during dinner.

My wife had mussels one night and found four of them had not opened after cooking. These should not have been put on the plate. Also one night after dinner we ordered two liqueur coffees. The barman eventually brought out one glass of coffee with no cream on the top. It took another two visits to the bar before we got anything that looked like a liqueur coffee and by which time we had gone off the idea anyway.

  • K Butcher

  • August 2014

Room & hotel. in general.

We asked for a quiet room and this was provided.

You couldn't hear a pin drop. Room was spacious and nicely decorated. Hotel and surroundings were beautiful and we would return here again and certainly recommend to friends and family and anyone wishing to have a lovely break in Oxford.

  • P Radley

  • August 2014

Absolutely Fantastic stay, Will definitely be returning.

Fantastic Hotel, will definitely be returning.

We dined in the restaurant after a relaxing hour in the pool and Jacuzzi and thoroughly enjoyed a 3 course meal. After a beautiful sleep in the luxurious bed we then had breakfast delivered to our room where we sat on our private little patio to enjoy.

  • Alister M

  • August 2014

1 night stay

Lovely hotel, very nice staff

  • F Walsh

  • August 2014

Out of town hotel with some period features

This hotel has some lovely historic aspects to parts of the site.

Our room was immaculately presented and we were given a lovely aspect onto the walled garden with our own little patio table and chairs. I asked for a quiet room and was very grateful we were placed far away from the wedding function room. However there is no info about breakfast on the website, egg what time it is served and whether it can be ordered to the room. I had to email to ask. There was no choice in what you received as cooked breakfast if it was ordered to the room either... if I had been vegetarian or Jewish/Muslim I would have not had a great start to the day with the plate I was sent. At nearly £300 per room advertised rate (thanks to LateRooms we did not pay this) I would expect a tick box choice of breakfast items, and definitely toast, for room service breakfast. (No toast!) And nowadays if I pay over £100 a night at a hotel or even a BandB I normally get real coffee not instant. This hotel looks pretty in places but isn't matching the standards of accommodation in the same price bracket.

  • C Sharples

  • August 2014

Idilic Hotel

Lovely hotel, lovely views, Would have like to have been their longer.

  • paul h

  • July 2014


Will stay again

  • carol harrison

  • July 2014

Wonderful place

This hotel more than lived up to my expectations, what a beautiful place in an exceptional setting.

I would recommend this venue to anyone.

  • Helen B

  • July 2014


A nice hotel, with reasonably friendly staff.

The location and grounds of the hotel are beautiful. The rooms a pretty, although not as spacious as I'd have liked for the money we paid. The spa facilities were ok, although I wouldn't recommend the hotel for a spa break as there was only one beauty room which delayed treatments.

  • David H

  • July 2014

Enjoyable Break

We only stayed the one night, but wished we could have stayed longer, the hotel and staff were fantastic the room we had was on the ground floor and opened onto a lavender garden with our own garden table and chairs.

The food was stunning, in presentation and taste. The swimming pool was clean and open later then some I have stayed at. Deco of the hotel was old oak beams and stone which gave a warm old world vibe.