No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Oxford Thames Four Pillars Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Henley Road, Sandford-On-Thames , Oxford, OX4 4GX
Just over three miles from the centre of Oxford, this luxury four star hotel offers an elegant retreat from the bustle of the city. Set in 30 acres of beautiful parkland leading down to the River Thames, its unique architectural style incorporates charming medieval buildings, along with sympathetically designed modern additions. From the stunning baronial-style reception area to the elegant River Room Restaurant, you could not find a more perfect setting for a memorable stay.
Sit back with a drink in one of the hotel’s beautiful lounge areas, or enjoy a meal from the tempting Crusader’s Lounge menu. For dining with a stunning view of parkland and the River Thames, choose the River Room Restaurant, where the menu offers the best of classic and contemporary cuisine.
Hotel guests can make full use of Jeromes Leisure Club during their stay, and can enjoy the Roman-style swimming pool, spa bath, sauna, steam room and state of the art gymnasium. Outside, there is a riverside tennis court and acres of parkland to walk in. Oxford has something to appeal to every visitor. The famous Bicester Village outlet shopping centre is nearby, as is Blenheim Palace, perfect for a day out.
Picture of Oxford Thames Four Pillars Hotel, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable Break
We only stayed the one night, but wished we could have stayed longer, the hotel and staff were fantastic the room we had was on the ground floor and opened onto a lavender garden with our own garden table and chairs.
The food was stunning, in presentation and taste.
The swimming pool was clean and open later then some I have stayed at.
Deco of the hotel was old oak beams and stone which gave a warm old world vibe.

Reviewed by
David H

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our Wonderful Day In Oxford.
Oxford is a very beautiful city and The Four Pillars Hotel at Sanford is the same. being able to park our car in the "sister" Four Pillars Hotel close to the city centre was an absolute bonus too.

Reviewed by
Robert Morrison

From Faringdon, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Great price and impressive hotel. I would stay here again without a second thought

Reviewed by
Kirk B

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
We had a lovely break, despite the rain and not being able to enjoy the excellent gardens and walks.

Reviewed by
S Channon

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

had very enjoyable stay. staff very attentive room was outstanding and views were very good.

Reviewed by
t parker

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay
The Oxford Thames four Pillars is one of the best hotels we have stayed in by far since visiting Oxford, we often stop over for one night in Oxford when our son is returning to university. The hotel is of a very high standard and rooms are spacious and clean the facilities at the hotel are excellent and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends and family. We had dinner at the hotel and the menu had a fantastic choice to cater for everyone and of good value. We will definitely be returning on our next visit to Oxford.

Reviewed by
K Bennett

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel, room good size with a nice bath. Its own grounds and sauna, steam room and pool

Reviewed by
D Hopkins

From Street, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My boyfriend and I wanted a weekend away due to the fact he works away and we don't always get to spend quality time together. This hotel didn't disappoint us! The atmosphere was nice and calming and the staff were very helpful! The room was very clean although not as pictured smaller and not the same style but was still lovely! The pool and spa were nicely done and a nice chill out space! Overall it was such. Lovely Easter weekend stay and I would definitely go back!

Reviewed by
Esther D

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really nice Hotel, well serviced with polite staff
We enjoyed our stay @ this Hotel & had a pleasant after Breakfast stroll around the grounds. We were able to get a good nights sleep, not too many doors slamming!

Reviewed by
J Schneider

From Bushey, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Break at Oxford
An enjoyable stay at the Four Pillars. Evening meal - excellent food and service.

Reviewed by
A BRADY

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next