Reviews - Ilfracombe House


9-11 Wilson Road,Southend-On-Sea, Southend-on-Sea, SS1 1HG

Price From 165.03 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (33)

85% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • David H

  • November 2015

1 night stay

Good place, parking on site fine food nice room fine size will stay again.

  • S Price

  • October 2015

Well worth a stay

I stayed here recently and it's ideal for a weekend break or business use.

The staff are very pleasant, to rooms are great and the breakfast is great (self-serve all you can eat). Can't really fault it and won't hesitate to stay again if in the area.

  • C Oates

  • October 2015

For my first time to southend I found the stay very calming and relaxing pleasant

  • dean b

  • October 2015

Nice !!

Was given the apartment next door which was a bonus as we had a lounge, kitchen and a double room each.

The apartment was spacious but the at room was tiny and a bit grubby !. Breakfast was excellent and staff very friendly.

  • Louise J

  • September 2015

Perfect Last Minute Accommodation

OK, so, the overall feel is a little dated however, this was quickly forgotten as we were greeted by such a lovely man who was very pleasant and helpful despite the fact that he was in the middle of cooking at the time of our arrival.

We were off to Cliff's Pavilion that evening and it was a only a five minute walk so that was fantastic. Having booked a luxury double I did find it odd to also have a single bed in the room which made it quite cramped, perfect if that's what you needed but there was only two of us. The bed was extremely comfortable and we both had a good night's sleep. I am not quite sure what made it "luxury" though. We met the owner the next morning who was also very pleasant and assisting at breakfast. The ladies working at breakfast were good but didn't seem as friendly. I enjoyed the breakfast which was included in the price making it overall a very good value stay. I would say this is more bed and breakfast style accommodation though rather than a "hotel".

  • s kennedy

  • May 2015

nice friendly hotel

This is a small well run hotel situated close the the sea.i have stayed here before whilst on business and it siuted my purposes admirably

  • Catherine O

  • March 2015

Best breakfast!!!

Stayed here at least 4 times, always great service and a lovely breakfast.

Really friendly staff too.

  • Diana Stevens

  • February 2015

Great value for Money at Ilfracombe House

The staff at this hotel are exceptionally friendly and welcoming.Our room was spacious and very clean and it was lovely to have a fridge in there for medications( and beer!).We had an evening meal in the dining room - I had lamb shank and my husband had a steak and both meals were cooked to perfection and there was a lot of it.

After a good nights sleep in our quiet comfy room we had a great breakfast- good choice of hot and cold food.The hotel is in a perfection location if your trip includes a visit to The Cliffs theatre which ours did.We will stay at this hotel again.

  • Howard H

  • January 2015

Ilfracombe House

The food smelt great but I had to leave early - for what I paid I received value for money

  • Simon H

  • January 2015

By the seaside in Southend

A nice place, easy to find with postcode on Sat-Nav.

Has parking at the rear of the building. Was able to speak to a real person in reception later on in the evening. The room was long rectangle, nicely furnished. Had electrical heater as a well as central heating. The temperature in Dec was frosty outside. Slept well in the double bed, no problems. Bathroom cold but water was hot. Used shower was over the bath it would not be suitable for a taller person. The breakfast was great with most items ready and more eclectic tastes catered for on demand.