No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ilfracombe House

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
9-11 Wilson Road,Southend-On-Sea , Southend-on-Sea, SS1 1HG
Popular with pilots and cabin crew from local Southend Airport also with artists from the Cliffs Pavilion & Palace Theatre, and ideally situated adjacent to Southend seafront & the Town centre, the reasonably priced Ilfracombe House Hotel is a luxuriously appointed fully-licensed 20-Bedroom AA 4-Star executive Guest House with its own PRIVATE CAR PARK. All rooms are En-suite, with a selected package of SKY/TV channels, DVD Players, Free Wireless Broadband, Mini Fridge, Desk Fan, Iron & Board, Tea & Coffee, & Hairdryer in every room. Self-Catering Apartments available for short and long term accommodation for business or holiday. All with 2 double bedrooms, fully furnished kitchen, bathroom and living rooms.
The new Southend University, Victoria Avenue Customs HQ's, Southend Pier, Westcliff Casino and Southend High Street shops are all also within easy walking distance from the hotel. Southend Airport is about 8-10 minutes drive from the hotel.
Guests can relax in the spacious and comfortable Chesterfield-style fireside lounge, study and luxury bar areas which are delicately lit throughout with crystal chandelier lighting. All-day Hot-&-Cold Bar Food and Full Dinner Menu available from 6-9.00pm.
All major cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex & Diners. Prices are per night per room and include full english breakfast served till 11.00am. Adventure Island wristbands now available at less than half price directly from our reception.
Picture of Ilfracombe House , Southend-on-Sea at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small, Friendly and Cosy.
Friendly family managed hotel providing excellent caring service. Our room was nicely decorated and adequately furnished. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was smart and clean.
Breakfast was sumptuous, a mix of buffet and personal service. We ate our main meals out as it was more convenient for us.
All in all, a value for money hotel with very friendly and helpful staff..

Reviewed by
J Rowlands

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Feedback
Really enjoyed my stay .. would recommend wood beds rather than metal beds however

Reviewed by
Craig L

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A beautiful room with very friendly staff. A lovely breakfast and good attention to detail. Would stay here again and recommend to friends and family.

Reviewed by
Rebecca S

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home away from home
I enjoyed the hospitality at Ilfracombe House. The staff are very friendly.

Reviewed by
Bardwell C

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

its not a stroll to the beach
stopped here on business and enjoyed my stay, nice friendly place and very well ran
just be aware that although its only a short distance to the beach its up/down a big hill and its a long march into town, dont let that put you off its a good place to stay

Reviewed by
chris m

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Break
Guesthouse exceeded expectations. Food was good. Staff very helpful and welcoming. Great location.

Reviewed by
R stec

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel.

Reviewed by
J Kainth

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm & Friendly Boarding House
Coming from Blackpool myself, I would describe the Ilfracombe Hotel more as a large boarding house than a hotel. that said, my stay was very pleasant, and the staff very efficient and friendly.

Reviewed by
Tony S

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel spoilt by a couple of issues.
Staff pleasant & helpful. Room well equipped and furnished. Very clean, but sewerage smell coming into bathroom. Bed was very hard and uncomfortable my wife & I were unable to sleep.

Reviewed by
D Brooks

From New Milton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated, Clean & Comfortable
I was expecteing a hotel where staff at the Airport stay. It is more of a B&B accomodation. The parking was busy so arriving lte may have been an issue but I parked on the road which was fine. The location wasideal for my requirements (business meeting) The accomodation was dated (olive green bathroom) but mainly clean and spacious. Not really for me based on other places I have stayed for a similar price- but pleasant enough.

Reviewed by
Caroline C

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next