No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Regency Hotel

Swords Road, Whitehall,, Dublin, Dublin 9
The Regency Hotel is located 3km north of Dublin City centre on the main route to Dublin’s International Airport (6km), close to all major attractions-including Croke Park the home of GAA a mere 10-15 minute walk, O'Connell Street, The Helix Theatre, Clontarf Golf Club, Beaumont Hospital and Dublin City University.

Our Hotel now boasts a new Leisure Centre, Swimming Pool and Spa to help make your stay more enjoyable. Leisure Centre Supplement applys. We also have a brand new conference centre which can hold up to 750 delegates.

The hotel encompasses 282 bedrooms including 85 superior deluxe executive rooms and six deluxe suites. This is a hotel that blends architectural charm, the main building dates back 200 years, with modern comfort. Why not treat yourself and upgrade to one of our Executive rooms with all the added benefits. The hotel has recently undergone a 22 million Euro refurbishment.
Picture of The Regency Hotel, Dublin at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 67 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 64% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was absolutely freezing. I reported this to the staff and they didn't seem bothered.
Overall i was not impressed. Daughter stayed in room and her room (104) was tiny. Rooms are extremely old fashioned, no phone in the room. Alot of noise outside which i know sometimes can't be helped but resulted in no sleep!!

Reviewed by
M Richmond

From Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Very relaxing and restful stay..
Close to city centre very accessible.
Would love to stay again

Reviewed by
Jenny S

From Newtownards, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

i thought that the hotel was reasonable in condition and standard
the cost for the car park was unfair and there were crowds of youths partying in the car park till early hours fo the morning

Reviewed by
S Kader

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was booked into the Matrimonial Suite which was of an excellent standard.
The restaurant food was also excellent.
A good stay.

Reviewed by
S Terry

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My Dublin City Break
Reception staff did not seem all that interested in their job. Room seemed well lived in and was in need of refurbishment. The Room Attendants certainly did their best. The fact that this hotel was in Drumcondra was no problem as bus service to the city is good. I love Dublin and had a great visit as ever and am returning in November but not sure if i would stay at The Regency again.

Reviewed by
John H

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend in Dublin
The reception staff at the hotel were excellent. We thought that the hotel needed a good spring clean as the furniture, carpets etc were a bit the worse for wear. The breakfast staff were great and the food was typical of self-service buffets

Reviewed by
roger k

From Peebles, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Get what you pay for
Room was cold and noisy (right above the kitchen). One socket worked on the room and couldnt get wifi.

Reviewed by
Stephen R

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not good
stayed at this hotel before this time given very small room no toiletries felt very disappointed

Reviewed by
david a

From Newton Aycliffe, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel
Everything was great in this hotel.only one complaint which was having to pay for parking as a guest in hotel should be free for residents.8 euro for overnight parking should be mentioned prior to booking.apart from that everything grand

Reviewed by
padraig w

From dublin, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not Recommended
Where to start? I met 4 members of staff who were friendly, the rest seemed like they didn't particularly care about their guests, some of reception were just blatantly rude. House keeping were particularly annoying, they either didn't understand me (as they are mostly Polish with very little grasp of English) or else they were just irritating, they'd knock and announce themselves and immediately knock again without giving you time to answer and then if your door was unlocked they'd just barge in. I was waiting for well over 2 hours for my room, the reception staff were particularly unhelpful and kept giving me different times of when my room would be ready. My room had a broken window. No bath gel to wash with and when I asked for some they gave me more shampoo. Ordered a continental breakfast and they brought me a fry up. Electricity only works if you leave your room key in the slot by the door. Bed was very hard and uncomfortable. Nowhere to really go nearby, kind of in the middle of nowhere. Looks run down from the outside. View was basically just of the roof which wasn't nice. Food was not nice. As I said majority of staff seemed like they couldn't be bothered with you as they were constantly in a rush to do God knows what. Overall it is not somewhere I would recommend somebody to stay. On my second night there me and my friend actually went to another hotel for dinner and it was so much nicer than The Regency. So if you're thinking of booking this hotel my advice is don't.

Reviewed by
Stuart H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next