No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Berkshire

4AA Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
London Road,Sunninghill , Ascot, SL5 0PP
Built for the Churchill family, the fountain and sweeping 15-acre landscaped grounds flank a spectacular red brick Queen Anne mansion. Peaceful sophistication is the order of the day... dine in the FORK Restaurant overlooking the manicured gardens or play croquet on the lawn whilst sipping a glass of Pimm's!

Just 1.5 miles from Ascot train station, 13 miles from London Heathrow Airport and within 8 miles of the M25, M4 and M3, the Royal Berkshire Hotel is perfectly situated for short breaks away, corporate events and meetings and fabulous weddings!
Picture of Royal Berkshire, Ascot at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 41 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel and food poor quality of service
My husband and myself booked a night for us to spend some quality time together after myself recently having a baby. We were really looking forward to using the leisure facilities but after checking In my husband went to find out about using the facilities and was told the pool was out of use ( no mention of this on check in ! ) he was then told it hadn't been in use for a week! Rather than sitting in our hotel room for the afternoon twiddling our thumbs we decided to go elsewhere and pay to use their pool and after telling the manager we were going to do this he was not really willing to reimburse us in anyway telling us the hotel room was cheap as it was ! Restaurant staff very friendly and food very good so a shame customer service was not up to scratch and slightly dampening a break away for us which we don't get to do very often with 3 children !

Reviewed by
W Schuller

From Farnborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb hotel in lovely settings- Highly recomend using this hotel

Reviewed by
DUNCAN RICHARDS

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Berkshire - holiday break
Very nice stay - well-kept and pleasantly staffed hotel.
The swimming pool changing rooms were small but acceptable, however the shower would benefit from an overhaul.

Reviewed by
Andrew Berman

From London, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very impressed with the Royal Berkshire Hotel, Ascot - hoping to return soon!
The room and bathroom were very clean and well equipped and kingsize bed very comfortable. Unlike some hotel rooms this one was not over heated. Particularly liked the handy shelf with large mirror above, next to the hairdryer - very useful when applying makeup. Could not hear any traffic noise.

Reviewed by
Philip H

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stay
the room was ok but a little bit on the dark side if you want to read a book.
The food was good but not served hot
My vehicle was damaged in the car park and the staff did not want to even look at the damage or get involved.

Reviewed by
G O'MARA

From Staines, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thgat is enough

Reviewed by
derek c

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel, highly recommended!
Only had one night here as a stop-over, but what a lovely hotel. Lovely building and grounds, and walking inside doesn't disappoint either. The hotel room was lovely with absolutely no complaint from either of us and we had a lovely stay. We can't comment on food as we didn't have dinner in the hotel and also missed Breakfast, but we did venture into the bar of the evening, and we were served by a very polite gentleman who looked like Harry Potter. The service was great, and the bar seating area was lovely and quiet, and with a lit fire it made it very romantic which was lovely. There was a wedding going on whilst we were there, and I could see this being a popular place for weddings as it had a lovely ambience. Would definitely recommend a stay here, and will certainly return when we're in the area again. Perfect stay!

Reviewed by
Daniel O

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful accomodation
My husband and I recently stayed here for one evening during a three day break to Windsor. The hotel was beautiful.. Our room was very spacious and had everything we needed. probably the most well thought out layout that we have experienced in any hotel we have stayed.We enjoyed a lovely view of the hotel grounds.We found this hotel for a fraction of the cost via late rooms but would not have been disappointed had we paid full price.

Reviewed by
Lesley F

From Folkestone, England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellence with style
An excellent hotel with professional staff. Ideal for a romantic escape or for a nice break with the family.

Reviewed by
Mark L

From England
Who stayed in October 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing
Great hotel we had a great offer from late rooms. Would stay again. Food excellent Room fab

Reviewed by
B Holder

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next