Reviews - The Thames Riviera

3

The Bridge Bridge Road, Maidenhead, SL6 8DW

Price From 90.29 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (126)

82% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Roger Cook

  • October 2014

An Hotel with Character

An older style hotel situated right on the Thames made for a change from the modern barracks style.

It's one of those with lots of staircases making finding your room an adventure. The room was clean and comfortable and although situated right on the main road, traffic noise was unobtrusive. It is easy though when driving to the hotel to miss the entrance. The staff were polite and pleasant and dealt with problems, as far as I could tell, in an efficient manner. We did have a problem though with connecting to Wi-Fi, although this proved to require an external fix. The staff did everything they could to resolve the problem and to be fair they kept us updated on progress. We enjoyed lunch on the terrace in the September sunshine. The food was good and the only problem was that I was served with a dish I had not ordered. This was rectified very quickly and interestingly the french fries appeared to be freshly cooked, not reheated as often happens. Dinner was pleasant in comfortable surroundings and the food was good, as was the service. It was a Friday evening and the hotel was busy, but this did not appear to have an adverse effect. We had hoped to take an after dinner cocktail, but as it was Friday the bar was very busy, there was nowhere to sit, except outside, so we decided not to bother. It may have been due to the fact that there had been a wedding at the hotel earlier in the day. All in all our stay was good value for money.

  • J Wright

  • October 2014

Relaxing by the Thames

The Thames Riviera is a nice little hotel that provides the wary traveler all that they need to re-energise.

Situated right on the banks of the Thames were you can relax outside with a drink. The rooms inside the main hotel are comfortable and I had a great view. Free wifi always is a plus for me. My room was quiet enough, but due to being by a busy road on the bridge into Maidenhead, I had to leave the windows shut. Still I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel, the staff were helpful and I would go back. I never got chance to try the food, but did go into the bar and saw meals being served which looked nice.

Value for money at this hotel, would recommend you go.

  • Kat B

  • October 2014

Great room, lovely area

Really lovely room for one night in maidenhead.

This was booked about 2 hours before we got to the area. Right next to the water, with great views from double aspect windows. Although a little out of town, you couldn't wish to be in a better spot with a pub on site which is lovely and a short walk away from a pub with a balcony over the river. We also went to the local Thai place for food which was superb. Only problem was the shower which was scalding hot in the morning, not the best when we needed to get out early. We did use the iron and board which was a great bonus. Staff were friendly but seemed a bit confused on the phone when I asked about their laundry service. They were glad of the information about the shower and I'm sure it's been fixed by now!

  • peter l

  • September 2014

Good location decor and fittings but a lot of stairs.

The discount rate was good value but old building lacks a lift and there are a lot of stairs, to Reception and to Bar/restaurant.

En suite shower/toilet was very cramped and toilet roll holder is ridiculously placed at shoulder position. Great location and pleasantly fitted out room. Good food but poor communication between reception and restaurant regards a special set menu applicable on the night we stayed.

  • Tracy N

  • September 2014

Needs updating

The hotel needs updating both in terms of decor and quality especially in light of its prime location on the river.

The service was excellent though.

  • David A

  • September 2014

cold water

Unfortunately, the night we stayed in the lodge at the back of the hotel, the hot water system broke down.

Every room in the lodge were faced with cold showers and as we were attending are sons wedding that day it was to say the least very inconvenient.

  • wendy M

  • September 2014

Disappointing

I was staying 2 nights for business.

I chose this hotel for its location and the fact that there was parking advertised. However, due to a wedding and people's inconsiderate poor parking I did not find any space to park on my second night. The staff at reception were poorly trained or couldn't care about customer service. Staff in restaurant were very good and food was excellent with a great deal of choice. Another downside was that they do not serve breakfast until 8am on a weekend which was too late for me having to be at work for 8.30. Room service was also not available until 8am. Room was tired and tiny. Despite a beautiful location, (also noisy, however) I would not return nor recommend this hotel.

  • L Bunney

  • September 2014

Good location, easy parking, friendly helpful staff.

Breakfast excellent. Restaurant food excellent. Beware lots of stairs for older or incapacitated visitors. Would stay again.

  • Martyn B

  • September 2014

Disallusioned & mislead

The room was supposed to have been an 'Executive Double Room' .

It did have a balcony overlooking the Thames, but it bore no resemblance to the executive double room on their website. In fact it looked like a standard room. The bed was rock hard and very uncomfortable. Meals: -

Cooked breakfast, good quality but spoilt because it was cold. Evening meals were good.

  • Tony T

  • September 2014

.

.