Reviews - The Thames Riviera


The Bridge Bridge Road, Maidenhead, SL6 8DW

Price From 94.73 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (153)

83% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • malcolm s

  • August 2014

OK only

Had to return main course as chicken was not very good.

They were very apologetic and did not charge for it. Very expensive in my opinion as 2 very small slices of garlic bread costing £3.95. That was 66 pence per bite. Would try somewhere else next time. Apart from the main course at breakfast everything was help yourself. Coffee, teas, fruit juice, toast the lot...

  • walt edson

  • August 2014

a very nice, convenient hotel

  • David W

  • August 2014

Excellent Service and rooms were to a high standard

  • S Chappell

  • August 2014

We stayed here for one night before our planned trip to legoland the next morning.

We have 2 boisterous 6 year old boys who were very excited about their stay, the hotel

Staff were fantastic with our boys and really engaged them and listened to there chat. We felt like nothing would be to much trouble. Our room was lovely there was a sign advertising not to open windows as due to the close proximity to the river it would be unwise due to bugs. I understood this and was happy to follow the advice. Incase the room became to hit we were left fans which we didn't need. The room was comfortable and the views fantastic. My wife, my boys and I all had a lovely time. We would stay again.

Had a lib

  • C Paterson

  • August 2014

My stay excellent

We had a lovely room, friendly staff, pleasant and quiet surroundings of the hotel.

Thoroughly enjoyable and recommended.

  • A Watts

  • August 2014

Perfect for what was needed

Stayed here for one night before a job interview.

Room was spotless perfect size and location was perfect for where I needed to be. Lovely views by the river all in all was just what was required for me. Many thanks

  • David Stevens

  • August 2014

Thames riviera

Unfriendly staff.

Little incentive to eat breakfast at the hotel as it was a separate charge and quite expensive in relation to the nearby restaurant on the A4.

  • A Gordon

  • August 2014


Staff were first class, its a listed building so no air conditioning available however we did have a fan provided.

Breakfast was good and kids eat for free.

Only stayed the one night as we were going to Legoland the following day, but overall we were satisfied.

  • Sarah Q

  • August 2014

Lovely nights break

We stayed here the night before going to heathrow for a nice break before travelling, excellent customer service, lovely views, lovely food and comfortable room.

Would stay here again.

  • b anderson

  • July 2014

great location

This hotel is in a great location next to the river Thames.

It has lovely gardens and a large terrace over looking the river, next to the A4 bridge in Maidenhead. We had booked a superior room with balcony. This was located in the 'lodge' block opposite the main building, we did encounter some road noise. The room it self was spacious and clean, mean on the tea/coffee sachets, only 2 of each in the pot, though we obtained more from reception, it would have been more convenient if more had been provided in the first place. The balcony over looked the car park, which was very disappointing as we were led to believe on booking it had direct views over the river. After speaking with the reception manager, we negotiated a discount to compensate for the lack of river view (for info I think only about 6 rooms have direct river views) Mattress on the bed was poor quality and springs protruded through and made our nights sleep uncomfortable. The room had blackout curtains which were essential with the current bright weather and a fan, but it really needed to have some privacy voiles so that you can open the curtains without the guests in opposite rooms getting a 'room with a view'. Busy and lively atmosphere in the bar and restaurant, hotel is very popular for functions. In the morning we ate our breakfast out on the terrace in the sunshine with lovely river views watching the Canada geese, swans and boats floating by. The breakfast was 'buffet' style with a good selection of hot and cold, food and drinks. Hot food was replenished when it ran out so you wont go hungry. All the staff we encountered were polite and helpful. All in all this is a 3* hotel, trying hard to please, but it needs a bit more tlc, attention to detail and new quality mattresses if it wants to compete with other local hotels which can be cheaper and provide good functional accommodation. Without the location and river views we would not choose to stay here again due unless they invest in more comfortable beds. Have marked Would we stay again, as a 'no' purely due to the uncomfortable mattress!