No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Thames Riviera

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
The Bridge Bridge Road, Maidenhead, SL6 8DW
Conveniently situated on the scenic banks of the River Thames, ideal for Windsor, Legoland and within easy reach of Central London.
The newly refurbished rooms offer a high standard of comfort in a modern stylish environment, all with flat screen satellite TVs, complimentary WiFi and modern bathrooms.
Relax and unwind in the friendly atmosphere of the contemporary Blue River Restaurant and Bar offering excellent, freshly prepared food throughout the day.
Picture of The Thames Riviera, Maidenhead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 203 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thames riviera
Unfriendly staff. Little incentive to eat breakfast at the hotel as it was a separate charge and quite expensive in relation to the nearby restaurant on the A4.

Reviewed by
David Stevens

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay
Staff were first class, its a listed building so no air conditioning available however we did have a fan provided. Breakfast was good and kids eat for free.
Only stayed the one night as we were going to Legoland the following day, but overall we were satisfied.

Reviewed by
A Gordon

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for what was needed
Stayed here for one night before a job interview! Room was spotless perfect size and location was perfect for where I needed to be. Lovely views by the river all in all was just what was required for me! Many thanks

Reviewed by
A Watts

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely nights break
We stayed here the night before going to heathrow for a nice break before travelling, excellent customer service, lovely views, lovely food and comfortable room. Would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Sarah Q

From Chichester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location
This hotel is in a great location next to the river Thames. It has lovely gardens and a large terrace over looking the river, next to the A4 bridge in Maidenhead. We had booked a superior room with balcony. This was located in the 'lodge' block opposite the main building, we did encounter some road noise. The room it self was spacious and clean, mean on the tea/coffee sachets, only 2 of each in the pot, though we obtained more from reception, it would have been more convenient if more had been provided in the first place. The balcony over looked the car park, which was very disappointing as we were led to believe on booking it had direct views over the river. After speaking with the reception manager, we negotiated a discount to compensate for the lack of river view (for info I think only about 6 rooms have direct river views) Mattress on the bed was poor quality and springs protruded through and made our nights sleep uncomfortable. The room had blackout curtains which were essential with the current bright weather and a fan, but it really needed to have some privacy voiles so that you can open the curtains without the guests in opposite rooms getting a 'room with a view'. Busy and lively atmosphere in the bar and restaurant, hotel is very popular for functions. In the morning we ate our breakfast out on the terrace in the sunshine with lovely river views watching the Canada geese, swans and boats floating by. The breakfast was 'buffet' style with a good selection of hot and cold, food and drinks. Hot food was replenished when it ran out so you wont go hungry. All the staff we encountered were polite and helpful.
All in all this is a 3* hotel, trying hard to please, but it needs a bit more tlc, attention to detail and new quality mattresses if it wants to compete with other local hotels which can be cheaper and provide good functional accommodation. Without the location and river views we would not choose to stay here again due unless they invest in more comfortable beds. Have marked Would we stay again, as a 'no' purely due to the uncomfortable mattress!

Reviewed by
b anderson

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great staff bad building
Fantastic staff.....couldn't fault them in any way; super super friendly on the reception and the bar/cafe. Always acknowledge everyone walking around. The building and rooms need work on. I paid what I thought was a lot for the standard of room. I've paid half the price I paid on Saturday in hotels/b&bs and had much much better rooms. Such a shame because the rooms really did let the staff down. I wouldn't go back again unless the redid their rooms......or charged a normal rate for that standard of room.

Reviewed by
Lucy B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Maidenhead Weekend
All good, single rooms a bit small and very hot. We were advised to keep windows closed because of insects. Fans were provided but were ineffective. Air con?

Reviewed by
richard g

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room Tempretures
There was no air conditioning in the room and we could not open the windows as they were screwed shut

Reviewed by
Julie Rudd

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Graduation stay
The hotel and staff were excellent. The weather was very warm and they had provided fans in the rooms to help keep cool.
When asked for extra items the staff were most obliging.
The breakfast in the blue river cafe was excellent, and again staff were very attentive and helpful.

Reviewed by
P Griffiths

From Llandeilo, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean and tidy and in a great setting. I arrived very early but the staff were very accommodating and arranged for my room to be ready much sooner than normal.
Helpful and friendly staff. All in all an excellent stay!

Reviewed by
D Jones

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next