Holiday Inn Express Oxford Kassam Stadium

3

GRENOBLE ROAD, OXFORD, OX4 4XP

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (51)

78% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • N Mercer

  • September 2013

Ok but not great and stay away from the breakfast!!

The accommodation was good, location was ideal, the staff were excellent and very helpful, however, I must stress the breakfast was horrible.

The breakfast area is very cramped and you have to dodge tables and chairs to get a space. The breakfast itself consists of cereal, scrambled egg, sausage, beans, toast, yoghurt and cheese!. Very disappointed that there was very limited choice of food, the scrambled egg did not taste nice and the cheese was very rubbery.

  • Steve F

  • September 2013

You get what you pay for. (Or close enough)

If you cant afford to stay at the Malmaison, but still want the prison experience, than this Oxford hotel is the perfect choice.

We arrived to the aroma of raw sewerage, quite befitting of the borstal like facade. When you do discover which cell room you've been assigned, you'll discover that there are no temperature controls, or apparently any means by which to alter the stuffy sauna like atmosphere of the room. Excluding the window of course, which opens an inch or two, just enough to let the stench in, but not enough to jump out of should your stay become to unbearable. The bed is ... Bed shaped, and the room and bathroom was clean enough. The door to the bathroom 'cleverly' locks in two positions allowing separate use of the toilet and bathroom. However, should you decide to do this, there is a glass screen betwixt the shower and toilet, allowing you to watch your cell mate shower from the comfort of the toilet, or vice versa. Should you make it through the night, your breakfast awaits downstairs in the poorly designed galley, where you will be met with troughs of pork cylinders, beans, powdered eggs and the usual continental accompaniments. Unfortunately on my visit, the hotel was fully booked by a certain sub-culture and their (recently high profile) wedding party. Sufficed to say we didn't sleep soundly, or awake. Or leave for that matter. It was an all round disaster. I will say this though, the staff were polite and very helpful and the hotel also has a fixed price arrangement with a taxi firm into Oxford for £10, which they will arrange for you. I however, will not be staying here again, and will just spend that little bit more on my next visit.

  • P Millard

  • July 2013

2 night stayover for Oxford

We couldn't fault the customer service and were greeted in a friendly manner.

The bedroom and bathroom have all the facilities you need for a short stayover. The beds are comfortable. The parking is free and plentiful. If you are staying over to visit Oxford the location is ideal with the nearest park & ride only 5-10 minutes away. The cinema and Frankie & Benny's is just around the corner or a short drive out to some lovely pubs. The wi-fi is cheap starting at just £3 for 24hrs and there is a nice little bar area. The rooms are not sound proof so do expect to hear other residents coming and going particularly if they are noisy and baning doors. But the curtains certainly make the room dark enough. My only criticism is the breakfast - the food area is cramped at busy times and the breakfast is not very good quality. I would say don't go expecting to enjoy a good cooked breakfast. The sausages are such low quality that they are best avoided!. If you like beans on toast you'll be ok other than that stick to cereal and toast or yoghurt. Overall I can recommend the hotel for a short stay, customer service and location. For the right deal we would use the hotel again when visiting the area. Don't arrive expecting a 5* hotel for a 3* price!

  • Robert J

  • July 2013

Standard holiday in experience

Nice clean basic hotel, as expected and very satisfactory

  • Barry S

  • July 2013

Convenient location, pleasant staff

We stayed here in order to visit a relative in a nearby nursing home.

It is a convenient location, with a choice of restaurants in easy walking distance, and easy access to the major roads. The room was clean and comfortable - we had only booked at 4pm of the night we stayed and had the last available room - unfortunately with single beds!

  • B O'Gorman

  • July 2013

It is a pity there was no evening meal.

I ordered a meal from the local restaurant and it was cold. overpriced and awful. This was recommended by the reception.

  • Caroline S

  • June 2013

Review from single mum travelling with two young children

Although I didnt find the hotel easy to locate, once we arrived we were given a warm welcome and the room was a really good size for the three of us.

The sofa bed was made up as I requested. I though the bathroom was a little dated, but on the whole we found the room comfortable, although £95 was a little more than I would expect to pay for this type of accomodation. Breakfast was fine, if slightly basic. I would recommend.

  • A Foreman

  • June 2013

hotel stay

The hotel was clean and presentable and i enjoyed my stay there and the staff were very helpful.

  • Michael S

  • June 2013

Our stay was somewhat disrupted by another guest

We're taking a "quick" nine day tour of England, visiting some of the cities I loved when I lived here 30 years ago and Oxford was on the itinerary.

This hotel was well placed for access to a "Park and Ride" into the city. The room was fine, though I found the young woman at the check-in counter to be a little less than polite; kind of like she was doing us a favor by checking us in. The big issue, in this non-smoking hotel was that one of the guests apparently did not comply and the whole section in which our room was located smelled of cigarette smoke. Staff did their best to remedy this - sprayed the corridor and opened the window, but the smell was still very evident.

  • C Parker

  • May 2013

Room was clean, tidy and met my needs