No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Newbury Manor

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
London Road , Newbury , RG14 2BY
Newbury Manor Hotel is a Grade ii listed 34 bedroom hotel, surrounded by 9 acres of woodlands and rivers, situated 15 minutes walk from Newbury town centre.

Many of the bedrooms have balconies overlooking the rivers Kennet & Lambourne and the nine acres of water meadow and woodlands. The atmosphere is warm and inviting, with many comfortable furnishings throughout.

Our River Bar Restaurant is on an island surrounded by two rivers featuring a perfect waterside setting for diners. The original River Bar building formerly housed a blacksmiths forge, with much of the old metal works being excavated from the river over recent years.

The Newbury Manor is teeming with wildlife with Deer, otters, bee hives, grouse to name but a few. Also for fishing enthusiasts both rivers feature an abudance of fish with a recent multi million pound project being completed on the weirs to introduce 'fish ladders' to enable the migration of fish upriver.

The hotel also has numerous rooms for private events and conferences catering for up to 120 guests in the one sitting.

Picture of Newbury Manor, Newbury  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a lovely hotel with pleasant staff :)
lovely hotel
pleasant staff
nice setting
nice food

Reviewed by
paul w

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and Friendly
My partner and I had a lovely stay. My only (very minor) complaint would be that the shower enclosure wasn't watertight above the bath. The room was very clean and comfortable and the staff were helpful. The hotel is in a beautiful setting by the water, where we had a nice breakfast in the restaurant looking out at the ducks.

Reviewed by
Mary H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hot tub disturbance!!
Booked for my wife's birthday, so not pleased when awoken at 1.30am due to other guest's in hot tub below our window being very loud. After attempts to get them to be quite, we then had to ask reception to send securtiy to stop noise.
Would not stay in room 19 again.
We would recommend a provision be made that guest's do not use hot tub after 11.30pm.

Reviewed by
S Bradshaw

From Hockley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A town hotel with a country feel to it
The Newbury Manor is set in its own grounds on the edge of the town next to a small river. The breakfast area/restaurant is attractively situated in a separate pavillion looking out over the river, which widens into a pool at this point.The breakfast offering was varied and the hot food well prepared.
The hotel itself is in an old manor house which has been much extended.Our room was modest in size and the bathroom fittings a bit dated, but there was a good tv and overall the room was perfectly adequate.
We found the reception staff friendly and efficient.
If returning to the area, we would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
J Towers

From Hemel Hempstead, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Newbury Manor
This hotel is a great stay, but is desperate for air conditioning as it is just too hot to sleep on a summers evening. The breakfast was let down by a sausage that was only cooked on one side, which both my colleagues left also.
Overall disappointed with the hotel which used to be very good

Reviewed by
D Punter

From Ripley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average
Nice hotel, but room had a bath and no shower and I wasn't able to swap. Room service took over an hour and when it arrived was poor quality and missing some of the key elements, but I was too hungry to complain. Disappointing as looked a really nice venue.

Reviewed by
Rachel B

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay
We only stayed one night in the Newbury Manor and everything ran smoothly.
No complaints at all. If we needed to stay in this part of the country again we would definitely consider the Newbury Manor again.

Reviewed by
Fred F

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room
Excellient

Reviewed by
MD Moynul I

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel but not so nice room
After a very nice stay a few days before, I decided to stay there again as my flight was very late and did not fancy the drive.
Booked the same way as before and when I arrived, was given room 7.
Now, this is a very different room than before, wallpaper was dated and no view at all. Compare to my previous experience, this was very disappointing.
The hotel was 75% empty and I do not understand why they don't give nice rooms to people staying... especially when you know they exist! Disappointed.

Reviewed by
Sebastien C

From Exeter, Azerbaijan
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location and nice room
Over the last 2 years, this is the best place I stayed at in Newbury. Quite close to town (walk in 15 minutes) and in a quiet area by the river.
The room was very nice (Burghclere) - spacious and comfortable bed, nice bathroom and a view of the river.
Breakfast offered a good choice of cereals and cooked options - good service.

Reviewed by
Sebastien C

From Exeter, Azerbaijan
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next