No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hare & Hounds Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Bath Road Speen, Newbury, RG14 1QY
All you would expect from a modern Coaching Inn; don't take our word for it, read our reviews. We're rightfully proud our staff are recognised as our greatest asset!

Well appointed, modern bedrooms with free wireless internet; highly popular restaurant; friendly locals Pub & dining bar; Extensive free parking. Located 3 miles from M4 jct 13, and 1 mile from A34, ideally situated for business or leisure. 3 miles from the famous Newbury racecourse, and in close proximity to all major businesses.

Privately owned by the Nelsey family since 2005 this 17th Century Inn has recently been refurbished to reflect both it's heritage and the needs of both local and travelling guests. The mews and cottage style bedrooms are arranged around parking for 60+ cars. Come inside to experience the warmth and style of our bar and restaurant. Relax, while you enjoy a choice of 3 real ales, beers, quality wines, excellent food, and all in the comfort of our refurbished Bar and Restaurant. The Inn keeps growing from strength to strength, thanks mainly to the friendly staff and management. But don't just take our word for it, come stay with us and find out for yourselves.

We look forward to welcoming you
Jonathan & Jean Nelsey and all the staff.
Picture of Hare & Hounds Hotel, Newbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night stay
Good accomodation and breakfast at the price we payed via late rooms.
Also had evening meal and drinks in the restaurant. Drinks a bit pricey. The meals (for 4) were genrally good. However a hotel which offers puff pastry lids on its pies leaves room for improvement.

Reviewed by
Brian L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced
The room we stayed in had stained carpets which smelt, and the cold water tap did not work in the bathroom , although the bed was clean and comfortable. The reason we booked this hotel was because we needed to stay somewhere with our dog, the price included breakfast but we were told that our dog could not come into the bar while breakfast was being served, I understand this , but I phoned to confirm that we could bring her into the bar 2 weeks before, and was told it would be fine. Although in the end they allowed this after I asked again, the breakfast was very good.
I feel that laminate flooring would be a good choice for flooring when pets are allowed in rooms ( although if pets are not house trained they shouldn't be taken to hotels anyway!) All in all this hotel was overpriced for what you actually got.

Reviewed by
Jayne D

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stopover on long journey
Although one room had not been made up, massive apologies, soon remedied and genourous goodwill offered immediately, this did not spoil our stay at all.
Staff - nothing too much trouble, excellent meal and wine.
Comfortable bed clean bathroom.
Really enjoyed our stay and wish all the best for the extended facilities for weddings etc.
Do not hesitate to book you will not be unhappy.

Reviewed by
Amanda C

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stopover
We only used this as a one night stopover to break a long journey up. We arrived at 8.30pm and the staff were helpful and friendly. The food was excellent. We only stayed overnight and had breakfast so didn't really have any opportunity to explore or see much of where we were. The hotel was literally 2 mins from the main road which was really good for us as we had to get up early and continue our journey.

Reviewed by
Sue S

From Warminster, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine for an overnight stay. Quite basic accommodation
Facilities and general upkeep were ok for an overnight stay. Carpet was a bit sticky in the room we had. Food in the pub was good, breakfast portions not huge but sufficient.

Reviewed by
Karen A

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thank you all at The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Efficient, courteous & friendly.
Everybody worked hard to provide an excellent stay. Nothing was too much trouble.

Reviewed by
Daryl Y

From Sleaford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay for the price
Surprisingly good stay. Great breakfast to boot. If in Newbury would stay there again

Reviewed by
r hendry

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Hare got the Hound
What a fabulous place to stay. Great room with a very comfy bed, bathroom was great,plenty of hot water and then te & coffee making facilities. The pub was great... lovely food and drink, great staff and fantastic breakfast.

Reviewed by
Elaine C

From Porth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Trip to Downton
Very good value for money, staff were attentive and food was good for price

Reviewed by
Mark R

From , England
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night say...
Only there for one night but the two members of staff were both very helpful. Nice relaexed atomosphere too.

Reviewed by
Matt W

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next