No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hare & Hounds Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Bath Road Speen, Newbury, RG14 1QY
All you would expect from a modern Coaching Inn; don't take our word for it, read our reviews. We're rightfully proud our staff are recognised as our greatest asset!

Well appointed, modern bedrooms with free wireless internet; highly popular restaurant; friendly locals Pub & dining bar; Extensive free parking. Located 3 miles from M4 jct 13, and 1 mile from A34, ideally situated for business or leisure. 3 miles from the famous Newbury racecourse, and in close proximity to all major businesses.

Privately owned by the Nelsey family since 2005 this 17th Century Inn has recently been refurbished to reflect both it's heritage and the needs of both local and travelling guests. The mews and cottage style bedrooms are arranged around parking for 60+ cars. Come inside to experience the warmth and style of our bar and restaurant. Relax, while you enjoy a choice of 3 real ales, beers, quality wines, excellent food, and all in the comfort of our refurbished Bar and Restaurant. The Inn keeps growing from strength to strength, thanks mainly to the friendly staff and management. But don't just take our word for it, come stay with us and find out for yourselves.

We look forward to welcoming you
Jonathan & Jean Nelsey and all the staff.
Picture of Hare & Hounds Hotel, Newbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Hare got the Hound
What a fabulous place to stay. Great room with a very comfy bed, bathroom was great,plenty of hot water and then te & coffee making facilities. The pub was great... lovely food and drink, great staff and fantastic breakfast.

Reviewed by
Elaine C

From Porth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Trip to Downton
Very good value for money, staff were attentive and food was good for price

Reviewed by
Mark R

From , England
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night say...
Only there for one night but the two members of staff were both very helpful. Nice relaexed atomosphere too.

Reviewed by
Matt W

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another pleasant stay.
I've stayed here at least three times in the last couple of years and the standards remain very high.

Reviewed by
Mike H

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent place to stay
Welcomed by friendly staff and had a nice spacious room. A lovely evening meal in the pub and substantial breakfast in the morning.

Reviewed by
G Pearmine

From Sidcup, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

easy to find and park bed comfortable
too many dangerous stairs for old people otherwise fine

Reviewed by
s jepson

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my stay at the Hare and Hounds - January 2014

Reviewed by
M Andrews

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hare and hounds

Reviewed by
JANET WHITTLE

From Thatcham, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice traditional hotel
Warm comfortable room - it was clean and spacious and had wifi.
Staff pleasant and breakfast very nice

Reviewed by
t foster

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were made very welcome on arrival very friendly landlord helpful with his local knowledge good food was grillnight on friday good value

Reviewed by
H Mantle

From Landkey , UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next