Reviews - Hare & Hounds Hotel


Bath Road Speen, Newbury, RG14 1QY

Price From 255.06 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (27)

85% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Sharon carroll

  • August 2015


a very pleasant stay.

Food excellent. Great value for money.

  • S Jackson

  • June 2015

Lovely hotel. clean rooms. nice food

  • Carol T

  • April 2015

The main things for us are cleanliness and food

We found both to be excellent and would not hesitate to recommend the Hare and Hounds or

to go back there.

  • Laurie Pascall-Smith

  • February 2015

Hare & Hounds Hotel

Very good quality accommodation and food in pleasant surroundings

  • R Owen

  • December 2014

Burthday celebration weekend

Hare and Hound is a lovely atmospheric place to stay.

Efficient service, friendly staff, very clean

accommodation and delicious food. An ideal haven for a weekend stay ....or even longer, if only !!

  • M Hearn

  • October 2014

Enjoyable stay

We have stayed here before and would stay again.

Very nice room and comfortable bed. The breakfast was lovely and the waitresses were very attentive. Good value for money.

  • Maggie B

  • October 2014

Reception area didn't look clean,building work going on.Should close when that much work happening.

Bed clean,room very tired,needed work.Paint on walls peeling off in corners.Carpet felt damp and old.glad only staying one night.

Breakfast was good,quick and staff attentive.

  • Brian L

  • October 2014

1 night stay

Good accomodation and breakfast at the price we payed via late rooms.

Also had evening meal and drinks in the restaurant. Drinks a bit pricey. The meals (for 4) were genrally good. However a hotel which offers puff pastry lids on its pies leaves room for improvement.

  • Jayne D

  • September 2014


The room we stayed in had stained carpets which smelt, and the cold water tap did not work in the bathroom , although the bed was clean and comfortable.

The reason we booked this hotel was because we needed to stay somewhere with our dog, the price included breakfast but we were told that our dog could not come into the bar while breakfast was being served, I understand this , but I phoned to confirm that we could bring her into the bar 2 weeks before, and was told it would be fine. Although in the end they allowed this after I asked again, the breakfast was very good. I feel that laminate flooring would be a good choice for flooring when pets are allowed in rooms ( although if pets are not house trained they shouldn't be taken to hotels anyway!) All in all this hotel was overpriced for what you actually got.

  • Amanda C

  • September 2014

Stopover on long journey

Although one room had not been made up, massive apologies, soon remedied and genourous goodwill offered immediately, this did not spoil our stay at all.

Staff - nothing too much trouble, excellent meal and wine. Comfortable bed clean bathroom. Really enjoyed our stay and wish all the best for the extended facilities for weddings etc. Do not hesitate to book you will not be unhappy.