No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Plough Inn

Not Classified  Inn Ratings explained
Abingdon Road , Clifton Hampden, OX14 3EG
Situated just 5 miles south of oxford in thame-side village of Clifton Hampden, The Plough is a grade 2 listed building dating  back to the 17th century which has kept some original feature such as its thatched roof and inglenook fireplace. All bedrooms are en-suite with 32" - 43" TV and Wi-Fi is free. 

The PloughInn is 4 miles East of Abingdon and 8 miles south of Oxford city. 

The B&B now no longer has restaurant within the building but thete is a small bar. A few minutes walk to The Barley Mow thatched pub chef and Brewer pub served food up yo 22.00 hrs
Picture of The Plough Inn, Clifton Hampden at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming and clean accomodation with a good breakfast

Reviewed by
Ian M

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place. Would stay again.
Although we had trouble finding it at first, when we got there we were really pleased. We stayed in the main part of the thatched house. It was a lovely room and although it needed a lick of paint here and there, adding to the old cottage charm I think, it was clean , spacious and had everything we needed. The bed was very comfortable, but was a double I think, and we are used to king size at home. The furniture looked brand new. The shower was nice and hot and had all the shower gels etc if you had popped in to stay on the off chance. Breakfast was very tasty. We would go back as it is such a pretty place, especially if you enjoy walking along the river. Definitely recommended.

Reviewed by
T Hine

From Thame, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location
Rooms basic but clean, shame they don't do food in the evenings. Extremely friendly owner.

Reviewed by
Janice B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business Traveller
A B&B, that was a pub, and hence the name. I normally expect to have a restaurant, but hadn't read the information about the accommodation fully. As it states, the Barley Mow is close by, about 4 minutes across the road. However if you are travelling by foot, do so in the light, as the road is very narrow and quite bendy in places. The Barley Mow food was good. The room itself, was a four poster and quite nice, although I found it a bit cool in the evening as there was no heating on. There is free wifi in the room, although this went off about 10.30pm and free parking on site. Breakfast was from 07.00am, and was very good.

Reviewed by
William S

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely food and friendly owners.
The owners were friendly, helpful and attentive. We stayed for two nights in a large suite with a four poster bed, which was very comfortable. The en-suite too was very spacious with separate bath and shower. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice.
The overall decor was a bit tired and dated and could do with some re-furbishment. The outside area on arrival was disappointing , it looked untidy and un- welcoming. The hotel signs need to be more visible from the road.

Reviewed by
MICHAEL M

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good comfy bed and clean room. However the stairwell to room was steep and needed cheering up with a coat of paint. Just up dating the décor would make such a difference. Was not keen on having to state what time we wanted breakfast the next day when we were on a weekend break. Maybe this works for business men in the week but doesn't seem necessary at the weekend.

Reviewed by
Christine A

From Tewkesbury, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden Treasure
Great place to stay. Plenty of character. Restaurant was fantastic standard of food but unfortunately closing down in two weeks due to lack of custom.
Rooms very good standard.

Reviewed by
David P

From Stansted, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good food and beer
Nice comfortable accommodation. Good food and beer

Reviewed by
Michael Earl

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

breakfast exactly what you want cooked, chinese resteraunt excellent quality food,slightly remote location no problem with a car. rooms as expected in an old coaching inn old but servicable. family run very friendly and good value for money.

Reviewed by
n mccallion

From Brighouse, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good visit,
My partner and I both enjoyed our stay, our hosts were very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable and the food was excellent.

Reviewed by
Richard Borrowdale

From Shildon, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next