The Plough Inn

0

Abingdon Road, Clifton Hampden, OX14 3EG

Price From 151.36 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (19)

89% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • n mccallion

  • July 2013

breakfast exactly what you want cooked, chinese resteraunt excellent quality food,slightly remote location no problem with a car.

rooms as expected in an old coaching inn old but servicable. family run very friendly and good value for money.

  • Richard Borrowdale

  • July 2013

Very good visit,

My partner and I both enjoyed our stay, our hosts were very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable and the food was excellent.

  • Derek B

  • June 2013

Dubious beginnings but great stay

On entering a quiet pub looking v local and them unable to find mu late rooms reservation was a bit worried about it.

However they were v nice and I was in a room within a couple of mins. Nice clean room.

Had a lovely Chinese meal, some good local ale and a good quality breakfast...would definitely stay again.

  • Philip C

  • June 2013

Lovely Cotswold retreat

This is a fine stone build inn with open fires good food and pleasant accommodation set in a lovely Cotswold location

  • L Pope

  • June 2013

Lovely little inn in a lovely lookong little village.

We had a very pleasant one night stay at The Plough Inn.

My girlfriend and I were visiting Oxford and the surrounding area and used the inn as an overnight spot. The Plough Inn was easy to find as it is just off the main road through the village - light sleepers take note. It is an historic looking building with low doorways to match - tall people take note. Our room was in what might have been the stables or barn before conversion. The decor could do with a bit of touching up but we can't fault the room for cleanliness or comfort - a great firm mattress and duck down duvet and pillows. The pub side of the inn is quite small, had a fair selection of beers but only Strongbow cider on tap. Bottled drinks were available too along with spirits and wine. It appeared that locals used it so I consider that a good sign. Non-alcoholic drinks were a little pricey compared to what I'm used to - £2 for a pint of soda water, £1.65 for half an orange juice - but that could be the standard for the area. Dinner was in the Chinese restaurant attached to the inn, apparently run by the same family - some English options were available. The restaurant was fairly busy and people were ordering take-aways too. Our food was good and reasonably priced - 2 starters, 3 mains, 2 desserts and a few soft drinks came to about £40. Breakfast was a choice of cereals, fruits and a cooked meal - very nicely prepared with fresh ingredients. The family running the inn were very kind and helpful doing just that little bit extra to help us including providing directions and advice for our day in Oxford. We recommend this place to couples or singles looking for a pleasant good value stay in a B&B type accommodation. If we were in need of accommodation in the area again we would certainly consider staying here again.

  • C Hubbard

  • May 2013

The service at this was very good with friendly staff and good food.

  • G Horton

  • May 2013

Excellent service

  • Carol S

  • May 2013

Average.

Nice friendly people, only Chinese food for dinner, good English breakfast, bed rather hard didn't sleep well.

  • Patricia Loveday

  • May 2013

Lovely welcome

Very warm and friendly hosts.

Gorgeous food and great surroundings.