No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Thanet Hotel

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
7-8 Bedford Place, London, WC1B 5JA
The Thanet Hotel is a friendly, family run bed & breakfast hotel - all 16 bedrooms have a private shower and WC and are comfortably furnished with colour television, direct dial phone, radio, hairdryers and tea and coffee making facilities. Also Wi-Fi is available. A full English breakfast is included in the tariff and is served in our traditional dining room. The Thanet Hotel is a Grade II listed building set in a quiet Georgian terrace between Russell & Bloomsbury Squares. The hotel is conveniently located close to The British Museum, theatreland & Oxford Street. The hotel is run under the personal supervision of the Orchard family who are third generation hoteliers. Many of the original features of the house have been maintained to enhance the character of the hotel. The reception area has a well-stocked information point and our friendly staff are always on hand to offer assistance.
Picture of Thanet Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 121 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight in London
Reception is in a room at the back of the ground floor. Quiet bedroom overlooking a garden(!) with the high ceilings of an gentleman's London Town House, TV adequate if small, bed comfortable, bathroom sparklingly white in the lights, Dining room small with the kitchen in a 'broom' cupboard' to the side where hot food was made to order after a cold buffet. Staff polite and focused on jobs at hand.

Reviewed by
John A

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thanet Hotel
Great location and excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
Victoria u

From Rainham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Handy, clean
Room was a little on the small side, but apart from that the hotel is clean and tidy with helpful staff. The English breakfast was good. Well situated, just a few minutes walk from Russell Sq tube and walking distance to Oxford Street and the British Museum. We'd stay again, but would endeavour to pay a little less than the £125 per night.

Reviewed by
David G

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thanet Hotel
Brilliant place to explore London from! Will definitely use again.

Reviewed by
P Parsons

From Chipping Norton, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shower not working
A nice hotel in a good central location, at a fair price. However we were disappointed to find the shower not working properly. The water was either scalding hot or freezing cold so we had to leave the hotel without being able to shower. Not nice! We complained but were not offered any reduction in the price for our inconvenience. Very disappointing and a shame really, because we would have returned - and recommended it to others - if the hotel had responded more proactively.

Reviewed by
Simon A

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A really pleasant surprise.
I spend an awful lot of nights away on business each year in corporate hotel rooms. It was a real pleasure to find a small friendly hotel that treated you as an individual. The location is brilliant 5mins from the British Museum, 10 mins from Drury Lane! The room was clean and tidy with a good provision of amenities and a free late night tipple!

Reviewed by
Paul Lewis

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice quiet and clean hotel in a great location
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was in the attic which wouldn't have suited everyone as this former Georgian townhouse has no lift. The breakfast was just right. Best of all was the central London location and it being a very quiet street!

Reviewed by
Johanna R

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Trouble free stay in brilliant central location
Friendly staff, great location and comfy bed in a well sized room. Iron would have been useful but that's a small gripe in an otherwise pleasant stay.
It's not as polished as a top-class business hotel, but as a period property you shouldn't expect that. Great value for money and would certainly recommend and stay there again.

Reviewed by
Mark I

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation within easy access of the hospitals in Queens Square London
Ideal accommodation for visiting family member in hospital close by. Room was small, but well heated, had adequate facilities and all hotel staff were considered to be helpful. Bed and breakfast rate was good value.

Reviewed by
Garth Payton

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would return
Very good. The room I was in (10) the light above the bed flickered when I moved on the bed. Other than that it was well heated, quiet. Small but adequate bathroom.

Reviewed by
Kevin P

From Southsea, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next