No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Thanet Hotel

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
7-8 Bedford Place, London, WC1B 5JA
The Thanet Hotel is a friendly, family run bed & breakfast hotel - all 16 bedrooms have a private shower and WC and are comfortably furnished with colour television, direct dial phone, radio, hairdryers and tea and coffee making facilities. Also Wi-Fi is available. A full English breakfast is included in the tariff and is served in our traditional dining room. The Thanet Hotel is a Grade II listed building set in a quiet Georgian terrace between Russell & Bloomsbury Squares. The hotel is conveniently located close to The British Museum, theatreland & Oxford Street. The hotel is run under the personal supervision of the Orchard family who are third generation hoteliers. Many of the original features of the house have been maintained to enhance the character of the hotel. The reception area has a well-stocked information point and our friendly staff are always on hand to offer assistance.
Picture of Thanet Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 114 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely little hotel
Location was excellent, room was small but neat and tidy. Bed was comfortable and bathroom was spotless - for one night on business I couldn't have asked for more, especially for the price. Breakfast the next morning was lovely, with quick, friendly service.

Reviewed by
Tanya P

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great hotel with an even better location
The Thanet hotel was a perfect place for our city break. It is very conveniently located near the Theatres and very close to the Underground. The hotel itself is in a row of terraced houses (which I think have all been converted to hotels, pretty much.
The building itself is nothing special: it is clean, reasonably decorated and has good facilities, but shows signs of wear and tear. Do not expect modern, slick rooms at this hotel.
The breakfast is very nice; one of the better included meals that I've had in London hotels. It is served quickly, and the selection is always surprisingly large.
The service is outstanding; the staff at the Thanet are very willing to accommodate the odd request that might pop up from travelers & the food service is polite and fast.
The beds are comfortable, the showers are hot and the rooms are spacious, for a London hotel.
Don't expect luxury here, but if you're looking for a solid hotel at a good price with a great location, this is the hotel for you!

Reviewed by
S Allen

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant London Hotel .... recommended
I spent about 2 hours trawling the Late Rooms site looking for a reasonably priced London Hotel that had an en-suite a looked clean. It can be daunting !! I was more than pleased to have found The Thanet and my one night stay was fine from start to finish. A friendly welcome, easy check in and although I'd booked a single I got a double room. The bed was comfortable and although the en-suite was quite small there was plenty of hot water and the shower worked well. Full English breakfast was included and the food was tasty and the staff very friendly. The reception staff helped with with my on-going travel plans so all in all a very pleasant stay and i'm happy to recommend the hotel

Reviewed by
Rob Fellows

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, small but clean room
Thanet's staircase garden provides a welcoming entrance. A 15 minute walk from Kings X, theatres and British Museum. 5A is a very small room but clean. The wardrobe smells like sweaty socks and is to be avoided. Staff are friendly, breakfast good.

Reviewed by
Diane M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location for the money
You don't normally get change from £100 to stay anywhere in London, so for just over £80, this offers everything that a hotel would but just on a smaller scale. En-suite was a bonus, the bed was comfy, everything was clean and the staff seemed attentive and welcoming. Don't normally stay in B&Bs as the I find the staff always want to be your friend, ask how the family is, what coloured socks am I wearing etc; I enjoy anonymity and this B&B offered enough of that with just the right amount of courtesy and attention.

Reviewed by
Chris F

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location
Friendly staff,clean & comfortable room, walking distance to covent garden.

Reviewed by
M Kelly

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant small hotel
Small hotel in good location. We had a basement room which turned out to be cool in the very warm weather. Good breakfast with a range of food including cooked - I enjoyed the scrambled egg with smoked salmon. Some street noise but it is a quiet side street. Would return.

Reviewed by
J Swisczowski

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room very dated but bathrooms were ok. Tea, coffee, hot choc and shortbread provided but Kettle was unusable very dirty inside with lime scale and flaking. Nice touch with soap & shampoo provided very rare these days in 3 star. Nice thick towels provided. Tv very small could hardly read the info for programmes but not a big deal as most folk not there to watch tv. Given a family room instead if a double room as listed on late rooms. Breakfast selection very good.

Reviewed by
Scott H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place, good service, great food.
I stayed over on the Saturday night during a weekend of sightseeing. The location is great, being close to all of the usual attractions (a brisk walk to Westminster took 20 - 25 mins). The room was small, but adequate for a lone traveller and the service was really good. It's a nice quiet area at night, so sleep was easy. Breakfast was wonderful. Free wifi was really appreciated. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a place to stay in London.

Reviewed by
Chris R

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Much better than expected
Having travelled a lot on business, I have an expectation of he level of accommodation to expect for the price paid, and this hotel by far exceeded expectation. Room was small but clean, and well equipped. I will certainly use again.

Reviewed by
wayne b

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next