No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Thanet Hotel

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
7-8 Bedford Place, London, WC1B 5JA
The Thanet Hotel is a friendly, family run bed & breakfast hotel - all 16 bedrooms have a private shower and WC and are comfortably furnished with colour television, direct dial phone, radio, hairdryers and tea and coffee making facilities. Also Wi-Fi is available. A full English breakfast is included in the tariff and is served in our traditional dining room. The Thanet Hotel is a Grade II listed building set in a quiet Georgian terrace between Russell & Bloomsbury Squares. The hotel is conveniently located close to The British Museum, theatreland & Oxford Street. The hotel is run under the personal supervision of the Orchard family who are third generation hoteliers. Many of the original features of the house have been maintained to enhance the character of the hotel. The reception area has a well-stocked information point and our friendly staff are always on hand to offer assistance.
Picture of Thanet Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 107 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place, good service, great food.
I stayed over on the Saturday night during a weekend of sightseeing. The location is great, being close to all of the usual attractions (a brisk walk to Westminster took 20 - 25 mins). The room was small, but adequate for a lone traveller and the service was really good. It's a nice quiet area at night, so sleep was easy. Breakfast was wonderful. Free wifi was really appreciated. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a place to stay in London.

Reviewed by
Chris R

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Much better than expected
Having travelled a lot on business, I have an expectation of he level of accommodation to expect for the price paid, and this hotel by far exceeded expectation. Room was small but clean, and well equipped. I will certainly use again.

Reviewed by
wayne b

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great value hotel
Although the room was small it was very clean. Shower on the small side but I still fitted at 6ft

Reviewed by
Paul G

From Kilmarnock, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good
Excellent value for money would recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
J Chandler

From Wednesbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great accomodation
The Thanet hotel has nice facilities, a great breakfast and outstanding service. It is a typical London hotel, so expect small-ish rooms and a slightly older building. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful.
I'll expect I'll be staying here again.

Reviewed by
S Allen

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value, nice and clean room
The room was tiny but for 1 night for business it was perfect. It was very clean, great breakfast and brilliant location. Would definitely go back!

Reviewed by
J Belcher

From England
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent
Lovely, great breakfast, plenty to keep you going all day.
Noisy by the street as it's an old building. Basement room has great wireless reception and large shower (was worried about the shower business after reading reviews about them being small, but this one was the huge walk-in sort.) Value for money, walking distance of theatres and British Museum.

Reviewed by
E Wise

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thanet Hotel, 19 March 2013
Really nice place situated just a short walk from Covent Garden and Theatre Land. For the price the quality was really good and certainly I have no hesitation in staying there again.
On arrival the checking in process was very straight forward with all relevant information being clearly provided.
My room was clean and well presented, and certainly did not lack for anything. WiFi connection was fine (and free) and ample power sockets for charging phone/lap top etc.
Breakfast the following morning was a full English if you wanted along with the usual cereals yoghurts etc.
My only gripe would be for a big guy like myself the size of the bathroom was a little small. However, it was still adequate if only functional. But then it is only a bathroom and it is not as if you spend your life in there? On the other hand, it wouldn't hurt me to loose some weight either.

Reviewed by
J Tucker

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice friendly place to stay

Reviewed by
steve d

From Clacton on Sea, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What you see is what you get
I hesitated in booking here because the price was good but it wasn't much of a discount. However, this hotel delivered just what I wanted at the price I was looking for . This iss, after all, better than many flashier places where its hard to imaging anyone ever paying the standard rate and much of their flashier features' either cost extra or aren't what someone on a last minute deal is looking for.

Reviewed by
John R

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next