No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Thanet Hotel

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
7-8 Bedford Place, London, WC1B 5JA
The Thanet Hotel is a friendly, family run bed & breakfast hotel - all 16 bedrooms have a private shower and WC and are comfortably furnished with colour television, direct dial phone, radio, hairdryers and tea and coffee making facilities. Also Wi-Fi is available. A full English breakfast is included in the tariff and is served in our traditional dining room. The Thanet Hotel is a Grade II listed building set in a quiet Georgian terrace between Russell & Bloomsbury Squares. The hotel is conveniently located close to The British Museum, theatreland & Oxford Street. The hotel is run under the personal supervision of the Orchard family who are third generation hoteliers. Many of the original features of the house have been maintained to enhance the character of the hotel. The reception area has a well-stocked information point and our friendly staff are always on hand to offer assistance.
Picture of Thanet Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 117 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent private hotel in Central London
This small privately run hotel was the perfect accommodation for our stay. Friendly helpful staff. Very close to the British museum and the unique Sir John Soane museum. We walked everywhere easily - to Covent Garden for the theatre and to all the special London sights. The freshly cooked full English breakfast set us up for the day! Quite simply a gem of a place to stay - we will return!

Reviewed by
John Capell

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay in central location
I have stayed at this hotel 3 or 4 times now and the location is excellent. The rooms are clean and the staff welcoming. The en suite is small, similar in size to a premier inn, but very clean. It also offers great value. I have stayed in larger hotels close by that are more expensive but not as good. Breakfast is very good also.

Reviewed by
C Parker

From Dunblane, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little secret
Clean room. Friendly staff. Gorgeous scrambled eggs. Being a stones throw from the British museum makes it pretty perfect. If only they could stop the traffic noise and put the shower handle on the right way! Ideal for an overnight pitstop. I will be back.

Reviewed by
Joanna L

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Location - five minutes from the British Museum
The Thanet is very good value for the money. The room was small but well appointed and comfortable,
and very very clean. The staff were helpful and courteous. To visit the Br. Museum it is perfect. The No 7 bus goes there directly from Paddington and thats a plus for me.

Reviewed by
Joy F

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Thanet Hotel is a small family run hotel located in the centre of Bloombury.
The hotel set in a merchant's house was good value, quiet and comfortable.

Reviewed by
C Neilan

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly welcome, clean and comfortable room, excellent breakfast, good location giving easy access to theatre land ect.

Reviewed by
Pamela Burton

From Rugeley, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thanet Hotel
Older property, well-converted, with small but well-furnished and clean rooms. Rather noisy from traffic noise, as windows not double-glazed. Also noise from creaking floorboards and slamming doors.

Reviewed by
D Walker

From Bae Colwyn, England
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful stay - the staff went above and beyond!
I had a lovely stay at The Thanet Hotel, and would definitely visit again. I visited alone from Yorkshire as I was attending my friend's wedding celebration nearby. I was particularly impressed by the staff (Rob in particular) who went above and beyond to assist me having lost some of my property the evening before. Thank you Rob! The accommodation was immaculate and I felt very safe. Wonderful location and great value. Thank you again. Melanie

Reviewed by
Melanie E

From Driffield, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for a short stay in the city
Stayed for one night while on a course in central London. The hotel was a short walk from cinemas and plenty of restaurants but also on a side street so fairly quiet for central London. Breakfast was very good and the room was attractively decorated. I'd certainly stay there again.

Reviewed by
R Hind

From Gosport, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good central hotel in Bloomsbury

Reviewed by
philip d

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next