No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Thanet Hotel

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
7-8 Bedford Place, London, WC1B 5JA
The Thanet Hotel is a friendly, family run bed & breakfast hotel - all 16 bedrooms have a private shower and WC and are comfortably furnished with colour television, direct dial phone, radio, hairdryers and tea and coffee making facilities. Also Wi-Fi is available. A full English breakfast is included in the tariff and is served in our traditional dining room. The Thanet Hotel is a Grade II listed building set in a quiet Georgian terrace between Russell & Bloomsbury Squares. The hotel is conveniently located close to The British Museum, theatreland & Oxford Street. The hotel is run under the personal supervision of the Orchard family who are third generation hoteliers. Many of the original features of the house have been maintained to enhance the character of the hotel. The reception area has a well-stocked information point and our friendly staff are always on hand to offer assistance.
Picture of Thanet Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 118 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.
.

Reviewed by
David Wright

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An old building in a central location
This small hotel/B&B is a Georgian (?) converted townhouse. Some very creaky floor-boards. Extremely small en suirte bathroom (the shower is so small you find yourself knocking the tap off as you wash).
Excellent breakfast (cereals, choice of cooked, toast, juices etc).
Very polite staff.
Good central location (15 min walk from Kings Cross - 5 mins to Oxford St).
Good choice for a short stay on a budget and you don't want the usual Premier Inn type place (which would have been the same price as we were not booking ahead).

Reviewed by
kevin w

From York, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very convenient for the West End. Recently refurbished hotel - very comfortable bed.
The bed was extremely comfortable and the room (and shower room) was spotless. It was a lovely old building, but in Room 15 on the top floor the floor squeaked everywhere you walked, so I felt sorry for the person underneath, but maybe it didn't sound as bad down there. Scrambled eggs for breakfast was an omelette smashed up! I don't think the chef realises you have to stir the egg all the time with scrambled eggs. No lift, so being on the top floor (three flights) was good exercise, particularly if you forget something! Good place.

Reviewed by
Michael R

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Find!
Great little hotel, recently refurbished. Clean and comfy and friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Tina K

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Excellent for the theatres and Covent garden. Of the main streets so quieter stay but with easy walking access to city.

Reviewed by
Alison B

From Banff, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small and perfectly formed
A great place to stay with a good breakfast. A brilliant location on a quiet well appointed street. My single room was very small, but everything was clean and worked. The bed was very comfortable and the staff friendly.

Reviewed by
Andy P

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
Warm, friendly and helpful reception. We arrived before check in time but the room was made available very quickly for us. The room was clean, comfortable and had more than enough tea/coffee. Shower room small but perfectly adequate.

Reviewed by
A FORTE

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent private hotel in Central London
This small privately run hotel was the perfect accommodation for our stay. Friendly helpful staff. Very close to the British museum and the unique Sir John Soane museum. We walked everywhere easily - to Covent Garden for the theatre and to all the special London sights. The freshly cooked full English breakfast set us up for the day! Quite simply a gem of a place to stay - we will return!

Reviewed by
John Capell

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay in central location
I have stayed at this hotel 3 or 4 times now and the location is excellent. The rooms are clean and the staff welcoming. The en suite is small, similar in size to a premier inn, but very clean. It also offers great value. I have stayed in larger hotels close by that are more expensive but not as good. Breakfast is very good also.

Reviewed by
C Parker

From Dunblane, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little secret
Clean room. Friendly staff. Gorgeous scrambled eggs. Being a stones throw from the British museum makes it pretty perfect. If only they could stop the traffic noise and put the shower handle on the right way! Ideal for an overnight pitstop. I will be back.

Reviewed by
Joanna L

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next