No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Thanet Hotel

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
7-8 Bedford Place, London, WC1B 5JA
The Thanet Hotel is a friendly, family run bed & breakfast hotel - all 16 bedrooms have a private shower and WC and are comfortably furnished with colour television, direct dial phone, radio, hairdryers and tea and coffee making facilities. Also Wi-Fi is available. A full English breakfast is included in the tariff and is served in our traditional dining room. The Thanet Hotel is a Grade II listed building set in a quiet Georgian terrace between Russell & Bloomsbury Squares. The hotel is conveniently located close to The British Museum, theatreland & Oxford Street. The hotel is run under the personal supervision of the Orchard family who are third generation hoteliers. Many of the original features of the house have been maintained to enhance the character of the hotel. The reception area has a well-stocked information point and our friendly staff are always on hand to offer assistance.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 117 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

xxx
xxx

Reviewed by
Sal M

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bargain!!!
Basic room, but spotless!!! Value for money! Central location in a quiet area of Central London. Would return and highly recommend :-)

Reviewed by
E Williams

From Aberdare, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Thanet Hotel, Friendly, Clean, Great location
My brother and I stayed at The Thanet Hotel for one night mid week as we were going to the West End for a theatre night.
The hotel is well situated a just a few bus stops from Euston Station, a 2 minute walk to The Picadilly Line tube yet it is placed between 2 pleasant green squares (Russel & Bloomsbury) on a quiet and beautiful street.
The single rooms are rather snug to say the least and the bathrooms in both our rooms were tiny. However, I can recommend room 9 on the 2nd floor which is a decent double with a nice old character fire place and at the rear of the building offering quiet and pleasant views.
The hotel is very clean, friendly and the breakfast was excellent.
I wish I had got a better price for the smaller room as I actually paid the same rate for both and they varied considerably in size and character but overall I would definately recommend to other and stay there again myself.

Reviewed by
Donna T

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value & excellent location
Tasty breakfast and very good service. An ideal location for theatreland, as within walking distance. The only minus point was the carpet leading to our basement room was scuffed to pieces. However, that's a minor quibble as overall it was excellent value.

Reviewed by
steve p

From Langport, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great budget hotel in a great location
Really friendly staff and a nice atmosphere. I was in a single room which was very small but well designed and had all the essentials - comfy bed, good shower, lovely big windows, heating you can control yourself, decent TV. Considering that this is one of the least expensive hotels I could find for this location, I was amazed at what good value it was. The breakfast was also excellent and a great way to start the day. I would definitely return.

Reviewed by
Joanna G

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice reasonably priced small and friendly B&B in London
I was pleasantly surprised at how quiet this B&B is for being in central London (Once I'd worked out that there wasn't a large billbord blowing around outside my window and that the noises were coming from the sash window blowing in the wind that just needed a bit of toilet roll to block it .) The room itself was nice and equipped as I'd expected with a kettle, mugs, tea, coffee etc. The bathroom was clean enough, although the shower curtain had a mind of it's own when in the shower so inevitably ended up attached to me which was somewhat annoying! Breakfast was good. There was a choice of cereal, fruit and yoghurt on entry and then porridge, full breakfast or scrambled eggs and smoked salmon could be ordered and served fresh. The only thing letting the cooked breakfast down was the use of tinned mushrooms that tasted vinegary. The smoked salmon and scrambled eggs was lovely. They were served separately on the plate so the salmon didn't cook in the eggs, which is just the way I like it. All in all I'd definitely stay again. It's worth noting that rooms are across 3 floors and there are no lifts in the building so this could cause difficulties for anyone with mobility issues.

Reviewed by
Jenny B

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.
.

Reviewed by
David Wright

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An old building in a central location
This small hotel/B&B is a Georgian (?) converted townhouse. Some very creaky floor-boards. Extremely small en suirte bathroom (the shower is so small you find yourself knocking the tap off as you wash).
Excellent breakfast (cereals, choice of cooked, toast, juices etc).
Very polite staff.
Good central location (15 min walk from Kings Cross - 5 mins to Oxford St).
Good choice for a short stay on a budget and you don't want the usual Premier Inn type place (which would have been the same price as we were not booking ahead).

Reviewed by
kevin w

From York, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very convenient for the West End. Recently refurbished hotel - very comfortable bed.
The bed was extremely comfortable and the room (and shower room) was spotless. It was a lovely old building, but in Room 15 on the top floor the floor squeaked everywhere you walked, so I felt sorry for the person underneath, but maybe it didn't sound as bad down there. Scrambled eggs for breakfast was an omelette smashed up! I don't think the chef realises you have to stir the egg all the time with scrambled eggs. No lift, so being on the top floor (three flights) was good exercise, particularly if you forget something! Good place.

Reviewed by
Michael R

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Find!
Great little hotel, recently refurbished. Clean and comfy and friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Tina K

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next