No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Thanet Hotel

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
7-8 Bedford Place, London, WC1B 5JA
The Thanet Hotel is a friendly, family run bed & breakfast hotel - all 16 bedrooms have a private shower and WC and are comfortably furnished with colour television, direct dial phone, radio, hairdryers and tea and coffee making facilities. Also Wi-Fi is available. A full English breakfast is included in the tariff and is served in our traditional dining room. The Thanet Hotel is a Grade II listed building set in a quiet Georgian terrace between Russell & Bloomsbury Squares. The hotel is conveniently located close to The British Museum, theatreland & Oxford Street. The hotel is run under the personal supervision of the Orchard family who are third generation hoteliers. Many of the original features of the house have been maintained to enhance the character of the hotel. The reception area has a well-stocked information point and our friendly staff are always on hand to offer assistance.
Picture of Thanet Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 119 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor cleanliness, Hotel looked very tired, needs redecorating and new carpets immediately!!
Poor cleanliness, Hotel looked very tired, needs redecorating and new carpets immediately!! My room hadn't even been hoovered prior to my arrival.

Reviewed by
D Gill

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great hotel in the heart of London
Ideal location, great room, fantastic service, hearty breakfast and good value, what more could you want. Will stay here again.

Reviewed by
P De Souza

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we will rock you
stayed at the Thanet for 3 nights to see we will rock you at the dominion.
I requested a high floor,but did'nt realize at the time there is no lift.
being 76 years old with creaky knees i found the 3 sets of stairs a challange.
our room was large with a double bed and 2 single beds.comfy, clean, and quite.
the only negative points were squeaky floor boards,small bathroom,with wonky taps and insecure toilet seat.
breakfast could not have been better, the food was good and the service brilliant.
overall i enjoyed my stay.

Reviewed by
Chris Mann

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great VFM
Simple accommodation, great breakfast and location. Tiny TV was not very useful! luckily we were not wanting to watch it. Great stay.

Reviewed by
Madeleine H

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little hotel
Hotels at this price in central London usually compromise on something. The Thanet is a welcoming, warm, clean and comfortable hotel. The rooms are not the biggest but are perfectly adequate for the odd night or two. The breakfast is excellent.

Reviewed by
Simon W

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good enough for a one night stay on business
The single room was very small; enough room for a bed and desk. The bathroom was also very small with barely enough room to wash in the shower.
The main problem though was that the window was large enough to walk through and there was no latch and a shared balcony directly outside meaning that anybody with access to the balcony also had access to my room.

Reviewed by
Callum D

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, tidy, cosy and recently redecorated. Staff were lovely. Breakfast was good - healthy buffet plus cooked breakfast made to order. I stayed in a single room which was small but that's fair enough, and it still had a small en-suite bathroom, so everything you need as long as you only plan to use it to sleep and don't want a base for coming and going in the daytime. My only downside is tiny but just to mention - the digital signal to the tv is very crackly and kept cutting out. Not major for me but could be for some people. Hotel is on a quiet street in very central London with parks at each end and a few mins from several tube stations. I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
S Fort

From Colne, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful visit!
I had booked to stay at this hotel two days before the date I had wanted to arrive on. I was very pleased with the price for a last minute hotel, the service you receive was fast and pleasant.. My check in time was at 1pm, but I had arrived at the hotel early as I had a business meeting to attend too, the hotel staff were very friendly and stored my luggage in a safe room without any issues so I could check in and collect it once I had arrived back at the hotel later that evening, check in was simple and fast. I had a lovely single bedroom which was clean from top to bottom, the bed was unbelievably comfy! The hotel is located on a quiet street so you're guaranteed a good night's sleep, it's also within 5 minutes of Holborn Underground Station and many restaurants. Wonderful hotel and I would recommend to anyone who wants a sweet and enjoyable stay, whether it be for business or a city break, and all for an excellent price!

Reviewed by
J Doran

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly Recommended For Soho Stays
Really nice room, only complaint is that the TV is quite small but it's a very small niggle in an otherwise lovely stay. Staff were very welcoming and helpful and the breakfast was a great start to the day. I'll be booking again the next time I need to stay in or around soho.

Reviewed by
R Boyask

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient location

Reviewed by
sara p

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next