No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Thanet Hotel

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
7-8 Bedford Place, London, WC1B 5JA
The Thanet Hotel is a friendly, family run bed & breakfast hotel - all 16 bedrooms have a private shower and WC and are comfortably furnished with colour television, direct dial phone, radio, hairdryers and tea and coffee making facilities. Also Wi-Fi is available. A full English breakfast is included in the tariff and is served in our traditional dining room. The Thanet Hotel is a Grade II listed building set in a quiet Georgian terrace between Russell & Bloomsbury Squares. The hotel is conveniently located close to The British Museum, theatreland & Oxford Street. The hotel is run under the personal supervision of the Orchard family who are third generation hoteliers. Many of the original features of the house have been maintained to enhance the character of the hotel. The reception area has a well-stocked information point and our friendly staff are always on hand to offer assistance.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 118 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden Gem
Located on a quiet street in an excellent location. Booked the double but had a family room with double and three singles on the basement level overlooking a quant, little garden.
Service was excellent and all members of staff were extremely helpful and polite.

Reviewed by
Diane R

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Perfect location. 2 minute walk to British Museum. 10 minute walk to Covent Garden and Soho. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Would stay there again. Thank you!

Reviewed by
Louise C

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice stay in central London
Can't really fault this place - it's in a nice area by Russel Square and is well priced. The breakfast is substantial (essentially a three course meal if you lean that way) and I thought the rooms were well-sized. Would definitely consider coming back.

Reviewed by
Stephen W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central and clean
A little bit faded (carpets, paint) and basic, but clean, central, safe and friendly. Breakfast was good and generous.

Reviewed by
T King

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem
So close to the centre of everything, friendly, clean, comfortable - I wont hesitate to recommend.

Reviewed by
Philip I

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

amazingly comfortable bed and excellent Customer service
We booked last minute for a Saturday night stay and went with a cheaper priced hotel. I expected basic accommodation but found I was 100% satisfied with everything about my stay. We were given a bigger room on check in, facilities were brilliant and the gentleman on reception was so helpful.
The bed and sheets were so comfortable, I had a fantastic nights sleep. Breakfast in the morning was good quality and so tasty. Excellent value for money, especially being so close to everything in London. We will definitely stay again. :)

Reviewed by
l bennett

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Earl grey tea would have been appreciated.
Scrambled eggs and smoked salmon great.

Reviewed by
Vivien S

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
The room we stayed in offered great value for money compared to the bigger chains, for an event we were attending on Embankment. The only downside was the shower, the pressure seemed to be very low and the cubicle very tight. Excellent service from the staff and great breakfast in the morning.

Reviewed by
N Moore

From Great Yarmouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel, spacious room and great location!
I was very surprised by this hotel, I was a little worried as I booked it at late notice but it was brilliant! The room and en-suite were very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Plenty of restaurants surrounding the hotel and just a short walk from Euston station and the British Museum, with a 40 minute walk to Camden. Would certainly go back and would recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
E Scott

From Billingshurst, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
Great budget hotel, perfectly situated. Room clean, lovely breakfast, helpful staff - what more do you need!

Reviewed by
P Holden

From Bodmin, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next