No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Thanet Hotel

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
7-8 Bedford Place, London, WC1B 5JA
The Thanet Hotel is a friendly, family run bed & breakfast hotel - all 16 bedrooms have a private shower and WC and are comfortably furnished with colour television, direct dial phone, radio, hairdryers and tea and coffee making facilities. Also Wi-Fi is available. A full English breakfast is included in the tariff and is served in our traditional dining room. The Thanet Hotel is a Grade II listed building set in a quiet Georgian terrace between Russell & Bloomsbury Squares. The hotel is conveniently located close to The British Museum, theatreland & Oxford Street. The hotel is run under the personal supervision of the Orchard family who are third generation hoteliers. Many of the original features of the house have been maintained to enhance the character of the hotel. The reception area has a well-stocked information point and our friendly staff are always on hand to offer assistance.
Picture of Thanet Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 118 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
The room we stayed in offered great value for money compared to the bigger chains, for an event we were attending on Embankment. The only downside was the shower, the pressure seemed to be very low and the cubicle very tight. Excellent service from the staff and great breakfast in the morning.

Reviewed by
N Moore

From Great Yarmouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel, spacious room and great location!
I was very surprised by this hotel, I was a little worried as I booked it at late notice but it was brilliant! The room and en-suite were very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Plenty of restaurants surrounding the hotel and just a short walk from Euston station and the British Museum, with a 40 minute walk to Camden. Would certainly go back and would recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
E Scott

From Billingshurst, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
Great budget hotel, perfectly situated. Room clean, lovely breakfast, helpful staff - what more do you need!

Reviewed by
P Holden

From Bodmin, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very convenient
clean en-suite room. ideal.

Reviewed by
Ajit D

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get so much for the money
This is a gem of a find in London. I made a change to my booking before arriving which was not any problem to the hotel. Checking in was easy. The room was incredibly large for a London property, with beautiful high ceilings and very well decorated - light and airy. The bathroom was not as roomy but was very adequate with sufficient shelves for towels and toiletries. The shower was again not large but ok with a reasonable force and very hot. Towels were very clean and fluffy. The beds were very comfortable, not too hard and the duvet was just right. There was a medium sized wardrobe with more than enough hanging space and several other drawers around the room.
There was a good stock of coffee sachet, chocolate drink and teabags.
Breakfast was a choice of a large range of cereals, grapefruit, prunes, peach halves and yoghurts and a great range of cooked options. I had smoked salmon and scrambled egg which was cooked perfectly.
I was really surprised to find such a good quality hotel with such good service, in such a prime location at this price. I'll be staying here again.

Reviewed by
Martin G

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor cleanliness, Hotel looked very tired, needs redecorating and new carpets immediately!!
Poor cleanliness, Hotel looked very tired, needs redecorating and new carpets immediately!! My room hadn't even been hoovered prior to my arrival.

Reviewed by
D Gill

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great hotel in the heart of London
Ideal location, great room, fantastic service, hearty breakfast and good value, what more could you want. Will stay here again.

Reviewed by
P De Souza

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we will rock you
stayed at the Thanet for 3 nights to see we will rock you at the dominion.
I requested a high floor,but did'nt realize at the time there is no lift.
being 76 years old with creaky knees i found the 3 sets of stairs a challange.
our room was large with a double bed and 2 single beds.comfy, clean, and quite.
the only negative points were squeaky floor boards,small bathroom,with wonky taps and insecure toilet seat.
breakfast could not have been better, the food was good and the service brilliant.
overall i enjoyed my stay.

Reviewed by
Chris Mann

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great VFM
Simple accommodation, great breakfast and location. Tiny TV was not very useful! luckily we were not wanting to watch it. Great stay.

Reviewed by
Madeleine H

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little hotel
Hotels at this price in central London usually compromise on something. The Thanet is a welcoming, warm, clean and comfortable hotel. The rooms are not the biggest but are perfectly adequate for the odd night or two. The breakfast is excellent.

Reviewed by
Simon W

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next