Reviews - The Oxfordshire Inn

3

Heathfield Village, Bletchingdon, Oxford, OX5 3DX

Price From 159.51 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (160)

80% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Anthony M

  • November 2014

A pleasant affordable hotel

The bedrooms are very traditional and pleasant but need some maintaience and tlc, the bathroom in particular seemed a bit neglected.

  • B Turner

  • November 2014

Our One Night Stay

The reception we got when we arrived at the hotel was " a going through the motions" rather than welcoming.

The reception and bar were like a pub. The room was in a motel style building away from the main reception, it was quite spacious with all the ammenaties of tea and coffee and a television. The bathroom again was quite spacious but with no window, so that when the light was switched on a fan came on that was very noisey and lasted for about 5 minutes after the light was off.The room was very hot and it was impossible to turn it down, so we had to open both windows. We had a bar meal of fish, chips and peas, the chips were very tasty. The breakfast next morning was good, it was tinned fruit, but the full English was excellent.

  • Lesley G

  • October 2014

relaxing retreat

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Oxfordshire inn, the staff were helpful & friendly, the room was very nicely decorated, clean & comfortable & the food especially the breakfast was well worth the money...the little patio area @ the back of the room was a nice surprise with a lovely view along with the peacocks wandering the grounds

  • marion willetts

  • October 2014

Last minute booking lovely stay great location really friendly receptionist.

Enjoyed the comfort of the room and the lovely bath.

  • D Flint

  • October 2014

Highly recommend

Staff were friendly and helpful.

Rooms were clean and spacious, complete with telephone and safe. Jacuzzi bath too. Wardrobe was huge. Views were beautiful and surprisingly quiet since alongside the A34. Staff were very professional and polite but friendly. The restaraunt was empty but food was lovely and value for money. Bar area had comfy seats and a roaring fire with a large screen tv. Wireless only works in the main pub and not in bedroom blocks ( could be an issue for some) but overall this hotel is great value for money and a real hidden gem. We will visit again when in the area.

  • John P

  • October 2014

Convenient for Oxford, better value than City centre hotels

We were attending a community "unconference" at The Oxford Hotel and wanted to stay overnight.

The Oxford was full (if it hadn't been, rooms would have been £180) and other city hotels were up to £200. So we opted for the Oxfordshire Inn, a few miles out of town, at £80. The hotel is in quiet country surroundings with plenty of free parking and on arrival we were greeted by helpful staff and shown to our room (rooms are in blocks separate from the main building). The room was spacious, with king size bed and an extra single, a balcony with a view over the fields, a large bathroom with jacuzzi bath, and very spacious wardrobe (unusual nowadays). In the morning we had the full English breakfast, which was good quality and value at £6. Recommended : good value and good service.

  • L Cooper

  • October 2014

Great location, lovely room.

Travelling down to the Isle of Wight from Yorkshire, this was a 1 night stopover.

However, the Inn exceeded our expectations. The price was low, but we had a super room, plus we could have our dog with us .We ate in the restaurant, and found it to be good food at a reasonable price. The location was perfect, a few minutes off the A34, so we could pop straight back on in the morning to continue our journey, and yet in an idyllic quiet country setting .Reccommended.

  • Caroline M

  • October 2014

Location and room were great

I would not rate the food, I had duck and it was well overcooked, presentation was not good, we mentioned it to the manager and he gave us a rfund on the duck which was good

  • Jon S

  • September 2014

A pleasant stay, and good value.

Six of us stayed - 3 rooms, 3 couples.

Our main aim was to visit Blenheim Palace on a Saturday and we stayed Friday and Saturday night.

Minor issue on check-in but quickly sorted out to our complete satisfaction.

The bar is OK;- no decent ales so the guys drank Guinness, which was served very well. The prices were reasonable. Only issue that bothered us was that the TV was blasting out. We asked them to turn it down and they did. WiFi in the bar but nowhere else.

The hotel feels fairly remote - you can't walk to a local pub for example, so we ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was fine. Good value too. House wines were good quality.

  • Julie M

  • September 2014

All in all, OK for the money

On the plus side, it was quiet, a good location, decent food, warm and a good shower.

We slept quite well. However, things I didn't much like: dark poky room with only one bedside table in a double, very poor water pressure for taps and toilet, strange musty smell which was worst in the bathroom. Also TV on constantly in the lounge/bar area so you could hear it in the dining room.