No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Oxfordshire Inn

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Heathfield,Bletchingdon , Oxford, OX5 3DX
The Oxfordshire Inn is set in it own grounds in an attractive rural location just a few minutes drive from the romantic city of Oxford and on the doorstep of Blenheim Palace and the Cotswolds, yet close to the M40.
At The Oxfordshire Inn our friendly and accommodating staff are looking forward to making your stay with us as comfortable, pleasant and relaxed as possible. All our twin and double rooms are en-suite, and we also have an excellent selection of luxury four-poster bedrooms and suites. All bedrooms are modern and built to a high standard, with ground floor rooms available. Many of our rooms have spa baths or double jacuzzis to make your stay extra special!
The hotel has a large bar and restaurant with free wifi access in public areas. Free car parking.
A Golf driving range is adjacent to the hotel and offers discounts to hotel guests.
Let us welcome you!
Picture of The Oxfordshire Inn, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 197 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed stay.

Reviewed by
Gail Plummer

From Wymondham norfolk, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent room very clean with great views

Reviewed by
n heritage

From Hinckley, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall very good. Friendly staff. Breakfast good. Not a million miles either to Oxford.

Reviewed by
John G

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a pleasure
Quite unusual for what one might anticipate as a hotel, mainly in its layout and the road leading up to hotel. None-the-less, we were thrilled with the hotel, the accommodation, food and service.
Only one criticism - not the fault of the hotel owners but rather the contractors responsible for the building work. Pleasant on the eye but on closer examination there was some evidence in places of poor quality work e.g. plumbers not giving enough attention to detail, tiling that was poor in places. Such a shame but did not detract from the high quality of hotel service recieved.

Reviewed by
Trevor B

From Leigh on Sea, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break
very good value for money, great room & very good food.
Staff could do with some customer service training & smarten up a bit. just need to be more aware
other than that ideally situsated for eveything around Oxford.

Reviewed by
barbara goodman

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
This could have been much better if the room had been maintained and cleaned properly. There were 2 windows in the bedroom of the 'tilt and turn' variety. One if them was swinging off the catch when we entered the room, the member of staff told us it was supposed to do that which clearly it was not as the other window functioned correctly.
The bathroom had a large Jacuzzi/spa bath in which looked great, however there was some hair on the back edge and around the sink in the bathroom which put us off. The inlets where the water is taken in were also looking quite dirty. There was a lot of mould around the base of the shower door, the type which has a orangey/reddish hue to it where it has been there so long. There was also some blue tac over the tiles which I assume was where there was previously some notices up although there was nothing but the blue tac left while we were there.
I also trod on a hairclip (not one of my wifes) before I got into bed which left me with the conclusion that the room just hadn't been cleaned properly, particularly with the rest of the evidence above.
Finally, as we were leaving the room to go to breakfast in the morning, I was greeted by the smell of a stale ashtray when I opened the door, because outside the door on the floor was a little bucket full of cigarette butts. I appreciate that the rooms were non-smoking and that people must smoke outside but the provision of nothing more than a bucket which I would guess had not been emptied for weeks is not really adequate.
The waiting staff in the restaurant over breakfast were very good I thought, it was a shame the rest of the building was not up to standard, I expect it was nice 10-15 years ago when it was new.
I did not pay full price for the room but even with what I did pay, I did not get value for money. I could have for about 2 thirds the price stayed in a travel inn, or something similar and would not have been this disappointed. I have had some excellent value experiences through Late Rooms but this isn't one of them.

Reviewed by
Andrew S

From Corwen, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our visit
i booked this hotel as a last minute deal and what a deal it was! when i arrived i was surprised to see how lovely the hotel was. the surrounding area was a goregous countryside with loads of horses. The area was lovely and quiet. The room didnt include breakfast but could have added it additional to the price. The hotel room was like an appartment, lovely and spacious (especially for just the two of us), a spa bath and a private garden out the back. i was welcomed in with great service and was shown to the room. every member of staff i saw, i was greeted or spoken to by them. it was a great surprise for the other half, for his birthday

Reviewed by
Hayley Kirby

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Luxury accommodation
On my Initial approach to the hotel I thought that my Tom Tom had taken me to the wrong place - a roughly made road signposted to a care home with no mention of a hotel. The road opened out to a village crossroads and attached to the signpost was an undignified sign to the hotel, not giving any impression of the quality to come, more like directions to a village pub. The hotel car park wasn't much better either - poor signposting and directioning. The hotel main entrance and signposting to reception are again non existent. On registering the friendly receptionist guided me to my room And then the amazement commenced. Going through the old fashioned pub ( by that I mean it is tired looking and uninviting) we went outside to what resembles a kind of holiday village of what looks like cottages. We stopped at one and the lady said this is yours - what I thought? I thought I was going to have a little room not a flat. I opened the door - WOW! A four-poster, an enormous room, armchairs, massive tv, I could dance if I wanted to. The bathroom was huge, a jacuzzi PLUS a separate shower enclosure.
Towels plus soaps etc laid out in lovely little pile on the bed corners.. To borrow a well used phrase..
F.A.B.U.L.O.U.S. well done to the designers, a good concept. So a fault, then: the design of the pub area is below that of the rooms - time to brewing in the designers to take a look at that and the lack of synergy between the cottages and the hotel nerve centre. Plus take on board my comments about poor or non- existent signposting on the approaches o the hotel. Do these things and word will soon get out about your great hotel.

Reviewed by
Clive R

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, quiet hotel
Booked through late rooms.com. Stayed in Woodstock suite. Lovely room with a big bathroom and great jacuzzi. We ate in the restaurant and just had a main meal, which was enough! We both struggled to finish our meals as they were so ample. Breakfast the next day was just the same. Staff were pleasant and helpful. The only downside were peacocks making noises like cats being strangled in the middle of the night and some rather large potholes on the drive which need attention.

Reviewed by
W Starkey

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Showing it's age, needs money and TLC to bring it up to the advertised de luxe room standard. Torn curtain and no hairdryer - a basic in any standard room.

Reviewed by
s husdan

From Cheadle, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next