No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Suncliff Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
29 East Overcliff Drive , Bournemouth, BH1 3AG
Located on the sea front overlooking Bournemouth Bay The Suncliff is situated on the prestigious East Cliff of Bournemouth, within easy walking distance of Bournemouth’s stunning blue flag beaches, award winning gardens and vibrant town center.

It is one of Bournemouth's premier 3 star hotels, offering 103 bedrooms and 4 luxurious penthouses. Many rooms have fabulous ocean views and balconies, all have en suite bathroom, LCD television, internet access, hair dryer and hot drinks refreshment tray.

Located within the Oceana Resort is the Oceana Day Spa at Cliffeside, an Asian inspired Treatment and Beauty Spa open daily that offers wellbeing and luxury. Also located on site at Suncliff is Indoor Heated Pool, Sauna, Mini Gym and Squash Courts. Outdoor Pools are also located within resorts along with 4 Restaurants and 4 Bars and a Costa Coffee Shop

The Suncliff's two associate hotels directly next door. The Cumberland offers one of Bournemouth largest outdoor pools (heated during summer months) as well as Lido Deck with loungers and ‘Chill beds’ whilst the Cliffeside offers a smaller more intimate outdoor pool.

Oceana Hotels reserve the right to pre-authorise credit cards prior to arrival. In addition, please note that different terms and conditions apply for group reservations, it is recommended to contact the hotel direct for further information before booking.
Picture of The Suncliff Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 126 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value-for-money, well situated friendly hotel.
3-star AA rated hotel. Popular with coach tours (there were six coaches across the 3 hotels (the Cumberland and Overcliff hotels either side are part of the same chain) when I stayed. Couldn't fault the room, food or facilities. Stayed in one of the "Club" rooms which was huge, finished to a good standard and had a sea view and balcony. Room cost same as a standard room in the East Cliff Court hotel just along the road. Breakfast was buffet style so you could have as much as you wanted. Heated pool was warm and perfectly adequate. Staff very pleasant. Wouldn't hesitate going back. Car parking wasn't a problem even though the six coaches took up some of the spaces.

Reviewed by
Paul W

From Blackwood, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quiet nice hotel for a reasonable price.

Reviewed by
G Safarian

From , UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Did what we needed it to do
The Suncliffe was exactly what we were expecting... it's a typical, traditional English seafront hotel. No frills but did what we needed it to do. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and the location is great. The big plus for us - and the reason we chose this hotel - was the indoor pool, which we all enjoyed. It was lovely and warm and we often had the pool to ourselves, which was a bonus. The shower in the room was great - hot and powerful enough, the room was clean and we were able to make coffee/tea in the room. The full English breakfast was buffet-style and generous, so we ate well and didn't need lunch. We stayed in a standard family room with a double and a single bed. My nine-year-old slept very well in his single. We even had a sea view, which we did not expect, if we looked through one side of our window. There were only a few minuses, the main one being that our double bed was box sprung and not at all comfortable. The other gripes are very minor - the pool table didn't work properly (the white ball was missing, there was no chalk and not enough space around the table), the sauna wasn't hot enough and the table tennis table (which we had great fun using) needed some decent bats and balls but that could be easily remedied by taking your own. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay and found the hotel good value for money.

Reviewed by
Alison S

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night last minute stay
First thing I noticed as we arrived was the relaxed atmosphere in the hotel and the clean fresh smells as we walked to our room. Room was fairly basic, though had everything we needed including plenty of tea & coffee, room had nicely updated wallpaper though bedding & curtains didn't match but not essential for a comfortable pleasant stay. Breakfast great every taste catered for. Great value for money! Would def go back!

Reviewed by
Lorraine F

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dissappointed
1st given wrong room, then a double with a view to back of kitchen, mess, then woken at 6.30 by staff out side( bed uncomfortable)

Reviewed by
sandra p

From Addlestone, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
Hotel was situated in an ideal location , ideal for the fireworks off Bournemouth pier when it rains .

Staff very welcoming , polite and helpful. Breakfast was very good plenty of choice .
Room was a good size, our only disappointment was the en suite was very out dated ,also the furniture in the bedroom. The window frame and opening were quite dirty. I appreciate that being on the coast there are a lot of seagulls /birds about a good clean would not go amiss.

Reviewed by
j stubbs

From bedford, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

suncliff bournemouth
Public facilities on ground floor acceptable Bedrooms on 2nd floor where we were in dire need of upgrading.

Reviewed by
a heggie

From Livingston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well looked aftrered, very good service

Reviewed by
abdul b

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel very good. Staff all very efficient and friendly. Room very clean but quite small. Facilities good and was good that you could use the other two hotels either side.

Reviewed by
K Rowley

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Suncliff review
Good location over looking the sea from the cliff top. Access to gym, swimming pool and sister hotels nearby. Limited parking but ample parking on adjacent road thats not too expensive. Apart from the grumpy bar staff everyone was a pleasure to deal with. The food was very good with excellent table service. The room was clean, spacious but tired looking and the bathroom lacked any ventilation. However the room was very quiet and made for a good nights sleep. Overall a pleasant stay and I would recommend this hotel to others.

Reviewed by
gary hammond

From Stirling, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next