No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Suncliff Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
29 East Overcliff Drive , Bournemouth, BH1 3AG
Located on the sea front overlooking Bournemouth Bay The Suncliff is situated on the prestigious East Cliff of Bournemouth, within easy walking distance of Bournemouth’s stunning blue flag beaches, award winning gardens and vibrant town center.

It is one of Bournemouth's premier 3 star hotels, offering 103 bedrooms and 4 luxurious penthouses. Many rooms have fabulous ocean views and balconies, all have en suite bathroom, LCD television, internet access, hair dryer and hot drinks refreshment tray.

Located within the Oceana Resort is the Oceana Day Spa at Cliffeside, an Asian inspired Treatment and Beauty Spa open daily that offers wellbeing and luxury. Also located on site at Suncliff is Indoor Heated Pool, Sauna, Mini Gym and Squash Courts. Outdoor Pools are also located within resorts along with 4 Restaurants and 4 Bars and a Costa Coffee Shop

The Suncliff's two associate hotels directly next door. The Cumberland offers one of Bournemouth largest outdoor pools (heated during summer months) as well as Lido Deck with loungers and ‘Chill beds’ whilst the Cliffeside offers a smaller more intimate outdoor pool.

Oceana Hotels reserve the right to pre-authorise credit cards prior to arrival. In addition, please note that different terms and conditions apply for group reservations, it is recommended to contact the hotel direct for further information before booking.
Picture of The Suncliff Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 123 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night last minute stay
First thing I noticed as we arrived was the relaxed atmosphere in the hotel and the clean fresh smells as we walked to our room. Room was fairly basic, though had everything we needed including plenty of tea & coffee, room had nicely updated wallpaper though bedding & curtains didn't match but not essential for a comfortable pleasant stay. Breakfast great every taste catered for. Great value for money! Would def go back!

Reviewed by
Lorraine F

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dissappointed
1st given wrong room, then a double with a view to back of kitchen, mess, then woken at 6.30 by staff out side( bed uncomfortable)

Reviewed by
sandra p

From Addlestone, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
Hotel was situated in an ideal location , ideal for the fireworks off Bournemouth pier when it rains .

Staff very welcoming , polite and helpful. Breakfast was very good plenty of choice .
Room was a good size, our only disappointment was the en suite was very out dated ,also the furniture in the bedroom. The window frame and opening were quite dirty. I appreciate that being on the coast there are a lot of seagulls /birds about a good clean would not go amiss.

Reviewed by
j stubbs

From bedford, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

suncliff bournemouth
Public facilities on ground floor acceptable Bedrooms on 2nd floor where we were in dire need of upgrading.

Reviewed by
a heggie

From Livingston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well looked aftrered, very good service

Reviewed by
abdul b

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel very good. Staff all very efficient and friendly. Room very clean but quite small. Facilities good and was good that you could use the other two hotels either side.

Reviewed by
K Rowley

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Suncliff review
Good location over looking the sea from the cliff top. Access to gym, swimming pool and sister hotels nearby. Limited parking but ample parking on adjacent road thats not too expensive. Apart from the grumpy bar staff everyone was a pleasure to deal with. The food was very good with excellent table service. The room was clean, spacious but tired looking and the bathroom lacked any ventilation. However the room was very quiet and made for a good nights sleep. Overall a pleasant stay and I would recommend this hotel to others.

Reviewed by
gary hammond

From Stirling, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

relaxing break
We enjoyed our stay the food was first class and the hotel was lovely and clean The Hotel does seem a bit dated and needs a lot of refurbshment but i suppose they can only do so much each year The staff are very helpfull and polite We found on our stay that the hotel seem to cater for the weekly coach partys i think there were 3 coach trips in all but to us they were mainly people of the older clients who enjoy these trips We found the bar prices to be very expensive a pint of beer and medium glass of wine cost over £10 and many people did comment on this was this to pay for the entertainment ? otherwise and that we would certainly go again ,

Reviewed by
ROY G

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family break
I had booked four family rooms which caused a lot of problems on arrival. It was eventually sorted our and complementary meals given as an apology. It wasn't until the next morning when we booked out that I realised my daughter had been given a double room even though I had paid for a family one. One daughter had ordered a cot and on checkout I noticed three of the rooms had been charged for a cot. There was a lovely lady on reception who said she would get the manager to email me regarding the over charging, that was 3 days ago and still waiting. Rooms very dated and bathroom grubby, I decided I couldn't use the bath: my family all felt the same. The saving grace was the lovely staff.

ManagementResponse

Dear Mrs Dell, Thank you for your feedback, we have already responded to your original e-mail and will maintain all further correspondence via this medium. Regards, The Suncliff Hotel

Reviewed by
Pam D

From Princes Risborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Suncliff Hotel
My experience booking with the Suncliff was a painful one. Being a mixed group I was informed that no group 'bond' was needed. It was all stated on their website it was only for single sex groups. This was clearly in place to put Stag and Hen groups off from booking. I was phoned 4 times by the hotel to confirm it was a mixed group so I would have an issue. Then 2 days before my stay I was contacted by the hotel and told I would have to have the 'bond' of £100 per person my group was 11 people, so that gave me 2 days to find £1100. I spoke to the reservation manager who was very unhelpful about this and his attitude was basically 'oh well, you need the bond' when question he said he had just changed the website, only 3 months after I had already booked. Not impressed at all!!
One of the rooms was facing the sea and was a great room. Only issue was it was advertised as a family room of 2 singles and a double bed. In fact it was 1 single and a double with a forth bed just wheeled into the room.
The second room was facing the other side, and was so hot it was unbareable. No fan or air conditioning in the room, was facing a built up part of hotel so no wind to come into room either.

Reviewed by
G Mezzone

From Bognor Regis, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next