No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Suncliff Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
29 East Overcliff Drive , Bournemouth, BH1 3AG
Located on the sea front overlooking Bournemouth Bay The Suncliff is situated on the prestigious East Cliff of Bournemouth, within easy walking distance of Bournemouth’s stunning blue flag beaches, award winning gardens and vibrant town center.

It is one of Bournemouth's premier 3 star hotels, offering 103 bedrooms and 4 luxurious penthouses. Many rooms have fabulous ocean views and balconies, all have en suite bathroom, LCD television, internet access, hair dryer and hot drinks refreshment tray.

Located within the Oceana Resort is the Oceana Day Spa at Cliffeside, an Asian inspired Treatment and Beauty Spa open daily that offers wellbeing and luxury. Also located on site at Suncliff is Indoor Heated Pool, Sauna, Mini Gym and Squash Courts. Outdoor Pools are also located within resorts along with 4 Restaurants and 4 Bars and a Costa Coffee Shop

The Suncliff's two associate hotels directly next door. The Cumberland offers one of Bournemouth largest outdoor pools (heated during summer months) as well as Lido Deck with loungers and ‘Chill beds’ whilst the Cliffeside offers a smaller more intimate outdoor pool.

Oceana Hotels reserve the right to pre-authorise credit cards prior to arrival. In addition, please note that different terms and conditions apply for group reservations, it is recommended to contact the hotel direct for further information before booking.
Picture of The Suncliff Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 126 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were very friendly, attentive and helpful throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble. The food both breakfast and evening meal were pleasant experiences. The evening meal was always extremely busy as there were at least two coach parties in while we where there. Some of the evening entertainment provided was very good others not so.
We had booked a twin room and ended up with a four bedded room. Which had all we required. The room was clean and maintained at a high standard. We would quite happily stay at the Suncliff again.

Reviewed by
Jayne P

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

family mini break
Room was ideal for our family of 5. Bunkbeds were fun for older 2 and the little one got barricaded in with pillows all around him so didn't fall out of bed! Breakfast was good standard cooked breakfast. Pool was great nice and warm for the little ones. Location good just 20 min walk to the pier.

Reviewed by
C Carson

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

True but fair !!!
True we had room 32 which was very very hot and probably above the pool and sauna ! The room was hotter than the sauna ! We asked to be moved and to be fair the staff were very helpful cheery and accommodating we moved to room 216 much better larger but noisy from boiler exhaust - overall a very pleasant stay for the money staff made the stay and they were superb

Reviewed by
S Brooks

From Liskeard, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Room - Shame about the shower
The room was clean and homely, the bathroom was a bit dated but clean so this was ok. The main let down was the shower. I ran the shower for ages but the water didn't reach any more than luke warm and although turned on full there was hardly any water coming out, I have to say this is the worst shower I have ever had. It has put me off coming back, I would have to check the shower out first. Our room was on the third floor so maybe lower floor rooms didn't have this problem, I did speak to other guests staying there and they said their shower was ok.

Reviewed by
Fiona Slade

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic
I cannot fault the staff. Very friendly and efficient. However this was let down by the quality of the room. I had booked this as a surprise for my partner as it was his birthday. The room was extremely basic. Mattress...hardly a mattress, felt like we slept on springs! The shower....barley any water came out. Ive never experienced such a poor shower!! The noise from our room was dreadful. We heard everyone going to their rooms, bashing their suitcases against our room wall, may as well had a bed in the corridor, it would have made no difference to the noise. The room was clean, couldn't have faulted that. Iv heard great reviews for this hotel, I was just disappointed to have been given a rubbish room.
The breakfast was lovely, the staff were very friendly. 5**** staff!!!

Reviewed by
S O'Donnell

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cliff top location with short walk into centre of town.
I've stayed in both this hotel and it's sister next door The Cumberland. They share facilities which are available to guests including Outdoor pool, indoor pool and gym and cool bar. It's not got the Art Deco style of its neighbour but generally is cheaper. However breakfast is fine, with buffet choices and staff throughout are most helpful and professional. It's got a great location for the summer Air festival(book early) and for the running weekend which I was involved in . A short walk downhill to Pier and centre of Bournemouth.
Will return as I love the location, summer and winter

Reviewed by
Chris H

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Experience
The hotel need refurbishing and has an old feel !

Reviewed by
L T

From England
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely staff, shame about the accommodation. .......
The staff were lovely at the Suncliffe but the room felt like the chewp seats and was only worth what we paid through Late Rooms. It was adequate for what we wanted and had had a partial refit with the decor but the furniture and doors let it down. There were hairs on the bathroom floor and the door was dirty and covered in marks and no extractor fan. The icing on the cake was the wedding reception that started in the evening at the sister hotel under our bedroom window and went on till 1.30/2.00am giving us about 4/5 hiurs sleep and a very tired 11 year old. We would be cautious about returning again unless a better room was given , certainly wouldn't pay the £300 quoted value. The restaurant was very well served with lovely food and staff and again nothing too much trouble. What a pity for the noise as this has pulled my rating down to less than I would have done. I've marked that I wouldn't return but would ideally have liked a not sure box to tick as the service far outweighs the accommodation.

Reviewed by
A Bentley

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value-for-money, well situated friendly hotel.
3-star AA rated hotel. Popular with coach tours (there were six coaches across the 3 hotels (the Cumberland and Overcliff hotels either side are part of the same chain) when I stayed. Couldn't fault the room, food or facilities. Stayed in one of the "Club" rooms which was huge, finished to a good standard and had a sea view and balcony. Room cost same as a standard room in the East Cliff Court hotel just along the road. Breakfast was buffet style so you could have as much as you wanted. Heated pool was warm and perfectly adequate. Staff very pleasant. Wouldn't hesitate going back. Car parking wasn't a problem even though the six coaches took up some of the spaces.

Reviewed by
Paul W

From Blackwood, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very comfortable stay

Reviewed by
B Davies

From Ludlow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next