No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Queens Head

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Rushden Road,Milton Ernest, Bedford, MK44 1RU
The Queens Head Hotel Milton Ernest near Bedford is located in the Bedfordshire hamlet of Milton Ernest with easy access to Bedford via the A6. The Queen's Head Hotel is a comfortable, relaxed and informal country inn, which were originally two 17th century cottages. It was perhaps its character as a local's local that made it so attractive during World War II to the men and women of 8th USAAF Service Command HQ stationed at Milton Ernest Hall. Among them was one of the most successful bandleaders of his time - indeed of all time - a certain Glen Miller. Today it is still the cosy and welcoming locals' pub it's always been, as well as a comfortable and up-to-date hotel with a well-regarded restaurant and has warm and relaxed atmosphere. It is an excellent base for exploring the surrounding countryside.
Picture of Queens Head, Bedford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice tidy and functional
Pleasant enough staff and more than adequate accommodation. Breakfast Staff need to be a bit more a welcoming. .

Reviewed by
David C

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place but cold welcome
Arrived late at night after a very hard day working at Twinwood. My mum had a nasty fall in the dark car park , and the young lad behind reception seemed to be totally unmoved by her plight
he provided a sterile wipe but made no offer to help us to the room with our bags
Presumably the landlady at breakfast wasn't any warmer either. She stuck us on a table I disliked and I decided to move to a different table for 2. She sounded pretty annoyed and said they were set up for specific rooms but I couldn't see the difference. Apparently it was some longer staying guests than us that liked to chat together. The land lady had obviously built a softer spot up for these older guest and favoured them
She made a big deal of moving all the crockery from our original table , closer to the other couples so when they came down they would still be together. Funnily enough though one couple arrived, the other never did so it was a bit for nothing.
Breakfast was good and arrived fast, so no complaints there , but the hostility now projecting from the landlady towards us somewhat spoiled it. She ran a hand lovingly over her other guests arm but snapped at me ' Its Coming! ' with obvious annoyance when I asked about toast.
Mum wasn't impressed either and though I'd been about to enquire about a five day stay for 4 people I decided to find somewhere else. This place is fine if the landlady takes to you. Its a nice pub , with a good breakfast and nice rooms. But try not to get on her wrong side unless you want to feel uncomfortable

Reviewed by
maria m

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed over on business trip. The hotel was lovely and the staff were very pleasent. The room was spacious and I had a very good nights sleep.

Reviewed by
C Green

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet, relaxing accommodation.
Plus points:
+ Quiet - so got a good night's sleep
+ Good size room, pleasant decor
+ High standard of cleanliness
+ Excellent shower
+ Nice touch to provide a copy of Milton Ernest history book
+ Good food at reasonable prices
Minor niggles:
- Room was quiet except for the hum from the kitchen extractor unit. However, this was turned off once the serving of the bar meals had finished so didn't impact on sleeping.
- Would have liked a stronger bedroom light to read by.
- I kept knocking the toilet roll holder off - easily dislodged or am I just clumsy?!!

Reviewed by
Terry C

From Oldbury, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would like to have had time for a more leisurely stay
We used this hotel for a quick stop to move my mum. After a long tiring journey we arrived to a very courteous greeting from Bev and a young man sorry can't remember his name. We had a very quick and efficient booking in and an even quicker meal organised as we had to go out attain I would like to have lingered longer and have pudding because the meal was really good. Our room was spotless. Slept very well. The bathroom was a tad small but the really good shower made up for that. Breakfast was good. Thank you Bev you deserve a holiday and the very pleasant and help young man we had a lovely stay.

Reviewed by
Christine Waller

From Paignton, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, comfortable and good value
A very good pub with comfortable furnishings. The room was well-appointed with good facilities including free wifi. The food in the restaurant was very good with some excellent value deals. Breakfast was substantial too. The only slight downside was the thin walls between rooms so sound does come through.

Reviewed by
Paul B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean and friendly hotel. Food was excellent

Reviewed by
N Tidman

From Manchester, England
Who stayed in October 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm and welcoming accommodation bettered only by the professionalism and quality of the staff
Had everything to offer, good food, accommodation and a very warm welcome from the staff, in particular the manageress, who made you feel very much at home.

Reviewed by
James Logan

From Mazarron, Murcia, Spain
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business Trip

Reviewed by
Graham N

From Croydon, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

CHARACTER - COMFORT- CLEANLINESS AND CHARM
The Queens Head is beautifully located in Milton Earnest with excellent access either by car or local bus service to Bedford. My wife and I received a very warm and friendly welcome from Beverly who also served us with a delicious lunch. The Queens Head is a historic building with great character, access and parking is excellent. The room was well furnished ,clean and very comfortable - in fact we both had a very good nights sleep. The breakfast was superb and terrific value, and NO - we are not related to the chef ! Although we only stayed for the 1 night, we left having been very impressed by the hotel and staff - in particular Bev. Thank you.

Reviewed by
ALBERT T

From Wickford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next