No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Highwayman

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
London Road , Dunstable, LU6 3DX
Stand and deliver", you stand and we deliver with a friendly welcome, an informal atmosphere and a comfortable stay, all await you at The Highwayman Hungry Horse.

Great value for money, Our brand new and fully refurbished bar and resturant are now open with an amazing new menu and lots of special offers.This is a lodge style operation ideal for London and surrounding areas within easy reach of the M1.

Once inside you will find a delightful ambiance created by an abundance of soft effective lighting, cosy furniture and pretty pictures. Our lively bar offers the best in big screen sports and a pool table in the bar. The 51 lodge style bedrooms are fully equipped with modern facilities. There are ground floor rooms avaliable. Check in times are between 14.00pm and 10.30pm, Check out time is 10.30am.

The nearby Dunstable Downs offer views across the Vale of Aylesbury, which is the home of the London Gliding Club. Whipsnade Zoo and Dunstable Golf Club, Bletchley Park, and the Enigma code de-cypher centre. Also situated in Dunstable is the Priory Church of St Peter and a 20 minute drive away is St Albans with its Roman ruins of Verulamium and the Cathedral.
Picture of Highwayman , Dunstable at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 177 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Night Sleep
Brilliant night sleep, really comfy bed. Excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
Lisa Ashton

From Stone, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I needed a place to stay for 1 night and the Highwayman gave just what I wanted. Thanks
No frills but I was happy to stay overnight for what it costs. Great value for money !

Reviewed by
Steven A

From Ramsgate, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerfuly shabby
The room was clean, the towel rail did not work having been failed in 2012, 2013 and 2014. In need of replacement or repair. The last user of the room had left 2 T shirts in the wardrobe. The room discount compensated for any failings in the standard of accommodation experienced on previous stays. Would stay again as easy to reach and a good place to start a holiday when travelling away from London and more cheerful than the hotels at M1 Service stations we have stayed at. The lack of someone to report faults or good qualities to could be dealt with by leaving a comment form in room or on reception desk. The hotel is always full so benefits out weigh short falls.

Reviewed by
Hilary W

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No robberies here.
It is what it is, not the best Ive stopped in but good value for money clean bed, shower, TV, tea & Coffee facilities and a pub next door. Would stop again

Reviewed by
peter j

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good for price

Reviewed by
brian f

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value for the money
this is the second time I have stayed and will stay again

Reviewed by
chris s

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mouldy, dirty bathroom, and No sleep possible for worry of being robbed at The Highwayman
Was given a ground floor bedroom with two windows that would not close! They were both totally jammed in an open position, with handles broken and catches missing. Was unable to leave the room to get food in the evening as was worried about laptop & belongings.
Was unable to get any sleep at all due to being in a busy place with lots of people around outside till very late (it's a pub too). They were noisy, but also didn't feel at all safe!
The radiator wouldn't work, so the room was cold all night with the windows open.
The bathroom was disgusting. It was mouldy and grubby. The shower was caked in limescale, there was an empty shampoo bottle & other bits of rubbish presumably left by previous guests.
Was unable to go and have breakfast in the morning as it would have meant lugging case & belongings down! The smell of cooking fat that permeated the building didn't tempt, so had to settle for a McDonald's drive through breakfast!
We'd booked the room so would be fully rested as was taking two final exams (a 2hr written paper & a 6hr practical!) the following day in Hemel Hempstead & we live in South Devon (a 4 hour drive away).
Instead of being rested was cold, hungry & exhausted the following day, and then had to drive all the way home rather than stay an extra evening in The Highwayman.

Reviewed by
Victoria M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Guest and room both a bit tired!
Needed cheap last minute accommodation and The Highwayman had a single room for £25. To be fair that's not a lot to pay to sleep in a safe environment with a night porter etc, but again, to be fair, the room and bathroom were way past their best. Bed was ok but there were stained carpet, dirty window frames, dirty waste bin with no bin-bag in it, shower cubicle with limescale and mouldy silicone, you get the picture. That said, the restaurant and bar area looked very presentable although I didn't eat there so can't comment on the food. The 2 members of staff I spoke to were very friendly and professional. Would I stay at the hotel again? Yes. Would I go for the £25 cheapy option? Probably not.

Reviewed by
Phil R

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very unhappy!
Kettle was broken so tried to get reception to answer from 07.00 to 07.30 and had to leave without a cuppa! The room next to mine was used as a conveyor belt for at least 3 couples taking it in turn to use the room for sex from about 11pm til 3am ish....thought it was a hotel not a brothel!!!

Reviewed by
Deborah a

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for.
Booked this room being aware that it wasnt the best quality, but the price reflected this, however when we arrived I must admit I was more than a little disapointed by the state of the room, the walls had visible water damage and the front door rattled, the bathroom door didnt close, the shower looked like it was about to fall off the wall and the sink had one half of a tap missing and the other tap leaked. Needless to say, it wasnt a room we wanted to spend very long in, To cap it all off a socket was missing off the wall and the wires were poking out. Luckily the pub part is nice. Also the beds were clean, the sheets and towels provided were spotless. It was just the actual room that was a let down. Id happily visit again for a meal, but not to stay.

Reviewed by
T Heath

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next