No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Highwayman

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
London Road , Dunstable, LU6 3DX
Stand and deliver", you stand and we deliver with a friendly welcome, an informal atmosphere and a comfortable stay, all await you at The Highwayman Hungry Horse.

Great value for money, Our brand new and fully refurbished bar and resturant are now open with an amazing new menu and lots of special offers.This is a lodge style operation ideal for London and surrounding areas within easy reach of the M1.

Once inside you will find a delightful ambiance created by an abundance of soft effective lighting, cosy furniture and pretty pictures. Our lively bar offers the best in big screen sports and a pool table in the bar. The 51 lodge style bedrooms are fully equipped with modern facilities. There are ground floor rooms avaliable. Check in times are between 14.00pm and 10.30pm, Check out time is 10.30am.

The nearby Dunstable Downs offer views across the Vale of Aylesbury, which is the home of the London Gliding Club. Whipsnade Zoo and Dunstable Golf Club, Bletchley Park, and the Enigma code de-cypher centre. Also situated in Dunstable is the Priory Church of St Peter and a 20 minute drive away is St Albans with its Roman ruins of Verulamium and the Cathedral.
Picture of Highwayman , Dunstable at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 164 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highwayman
Room was very good value. Unfortunate that the people above us were extremely noisy. Floorboards could do with a bit of maintenance. I would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Sue R

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In need of refurbishment
The comments that the rooms had been refurbished, should have stated not all rooms, as it is the first time ever that I have had to wedge my room door closed with the chair, actually thanks for providing the chair
It has seen better days, but with a decent refurbishment charging more for the rooms people would come back.

Reviewed by
Alan C

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stay
some rooms can be noisy and polite notices could be displayed in the room reminding guests to be aware of those trying to sleep

Reviewed by
Vivienne B

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
Room a little tired, tea/coffee/internet all good & included, perfect if your just looking for a very cheap room for the night and your not to fussey.

Reviewed by
j c

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, decent room, awful shower
Set up is a good option for business budget stays, but the awful flimsy shower let it down badly.

Reviewed by
Paul W

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay at the Highwayman. Room very clean and comfortable.
Food good - overall excellent service and would recommend.
Overall cost of food and accommodation very reasonable.

Reviewed by
Jill B

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One business trip
Very good value for money. Comfy bed and good food.
The room and bathroom are very basic but the bedsheets and towels are clean😃

Reviewed by
P Bryant

From Farnham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pictures online were decieving but had a good stay
I stopped here with my partner last weekend as i managed to get a good deal on a room for one night. I was initially disapointed that the room we stopped in hadn't been refurbished and was very dated (The pictures online showcased renovated rooms). One positive was a kingsize bed that was very comfortable and a pleasant surprise. The en-suite was in need of a deep clean,there were lots of cob-webs on the ceiling and it seemed as if the cleaning had been rushed.
The rating I provided is based on the reduced rate i got the room for, for the money it was a pleasant and comfortable stay. The staff were very friendly and it was situated in a quiet location. I would stop here again at the rate i paid. Though for the regular asking price, the room wasn't as nice as anticipated. (Though its still cheaper than some others in the area which is a big bonus)

Reviewed by
A Eden

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very dated and needs decorating t be fiar it also needed a good clean but the satff were great the beds really comfy and bedding was very clean.

Reviewed by
louise r

From Goole, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Some excellent - some poor
The linen and towels were 5 star - so bright white and crisp and clean - a real pleasure to use but some of the areas in the bedroom were quite dirty and looked as though it had been that way for quite a while - the windows had no handles and being on the ground floor I found that a worry for security reasons - the radiator did not work in the bedroom was was ok in the bathroom - which was also rather dirty in places. I did take some photos but haven't done anything with them yet !! ? The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The food was great. Large carpark right next door. I will use again.

Reviewed by
Sue K

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next