Reviews - Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa

4

Bagshot Road, Ascot, SL5 9JH

Price From 217.51 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (16)

88% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Ruth H

  • January 2016

Berystede overnight stay and use of spa

We stayed in the older part of the hotel.

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable although the bed was a bit softer than we are used to. Room had an opening window, which was nice, plus air conditioning. We didn't eat in the hotel that night, but did have breakfast, which was plentiful, a buffet of hot and cold foods. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Made good use of the spa which included an outdoor hydrotherapy pool, indoor pool and a complex of saunas and steam rooms. I indulged in a massage the next day which was great. Would certainly book again.

  • Linda T

  • January 2016

Anniversary stay

Very nice welcome at reception.

Attractive fire at entrance.Always need more milk at hotels (very minor point). Breakfast delicious, lady breakfast chef very cheerful and charming

  • Tim G

  • September 2015

Over charged and being ignored!

Used automatic check out and found various additions been included on my account - service charges and a full rate for breakfast (£19) not the deal price of £15.

Have emailed but had no response.

  • Emma I

  • February 2015

Change of view

Last time I stayed with my husband at the Berystede we had not been very impressed but this time there was nothing to fault.

I was there very fleetingly but i found the staff extremely helpful, the room clean and pleasant and nothing to fault the breakfast which i had to have brought to my room at 6.15am.

  • Alistair G

  • December 2014

ascot

  • Rob G

  • November 2014

Business Trip, Great stay with Great Leisure Facilities !

I often stay in the area for business and good accommodation with lesiure facilities at a reasonable price is hard to find in the south east.

So I mostly end up in glorified pubs with rooms. On this occasion I managed to find the Berystede at a reasonable price on laterooms so gave it a try. I am pleased to say I am glad I did. A "proper" hotel with pleasant staff and great leisure facilities. A good size gym with well stocked equipment, a large clean pool and extended aqua spa, indoors and out included in the price, as was breakfast. It was a bit further out along the A30 than I usually do but worth the extra bit of travel time to work. Thanks to the advanced booking deal on laterooms the price was acceptable too.

  • Steve W

  • November 2014

Ist Class - Especially the Food

We used the Pool and Spa - very relaxing.

The restaurant was fantastic and food first rate.

  • James H

  • October 2014

Smoke and Mirrors

This is a beautiful looking hotel in a beautiful part of the country.

When getting a good deal on late rooms you can see the attraction and upon driving into the car park and walking into reception you feel you have got yourself a great deal and are in for a great experience. sadly the reality is like many other hotels of this ilk and there are many flaws. here are the key points from my perspective: any room that is a decent price will be a long walk from reception. Room i stayed in was very nice , contemporary, clean and a huge bed , really good room . I always go for a hotel with a gym so I know what I am talking about . If you want to do cardio you will be fine , light weights or a minor resistance workout again you will be fine , a heavy resistance program you will need to be creative. The gym has members but wasn't busy and the locker rooms were nice with really good digital locks that don't need a pound coin or a padlock.Spa facilities were OK , pool fine , outdoor hot tub was quirky but not very hot just warm and to be honest got a bit boring on your own . The steam rooms and saunas all looked great but were just a bit lame and not really relaxing but it was a nice environment . So the food in the bar was distinctly average , had a burger and it was just typical hotel and nothing special. The bar area was fairly nice and felt like you were in a exclusive members club with a waiter service. I liked that there was an express checkout that was pushed under your door overnight, I just had to sign and pop it into a box and this was great but here is where my overall thoughts on the hotel changed. I was charged £5 for being served in the bar !!. I was also charged for a charity donation and for something else . The bar is also not cheap. My verdict is stay clear if its you on your own for a business trip but if you are a couple and are not on a budget then this would be a good pale to stay .

  • K Andrews

  • September 2014

Turret Suite

Was lucky enough to get room 340 and the Turret Suite.

Massive rooms and lovely facilities all for the price of an executive room. Only thing I would say the windows need some attention as they don't shut fully but other than that very nice and the air con was a plus. Breakfast great and well cooked.

  • J SKALIOTIS

  • September 2014

very happy & worth the money

not much hotel grounds to walk around though