No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Chequers Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
6-8 Oxford Street , Newbury, RG14 1JB
WELCOME TO THE CHEQUERS HOTEL, Newbury - now an independently owned hotel. The only hotel located in Newbury itself, walking distance from the many shops, bars and restaurants, The Chequers Hotel is a traditional, 18th century coaching inn, providing excellent hotel accommodation in the heart Newbury’s town centre. The 56 well appointed en-suite bedrooms are all fully equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, trouser press, television, direct dial telephone and modem point.

You can also take advantage of our 24 hour room service. The restaurant has a warm and welcoming atmosphere, and serves the finest modern and European cuisine. For those wanting a more relaxed dining environment, our comfortable bar offers a wide selection of hot and cold dishes daily. There are many local attractions to visit during your stay such as Watermill Theatre, the Corn Exchange, Newbury Race Course, Didcot Railway Centre and the Great Western Designer Outlet Village. In the heart of the Thames Valley and only 5 minutes from junction 13 of the M4, The Chequers provides an ideal venue for a business stay, meeting, conference or training course. The versatility of our six meeting and function rooms means the hotel can cater for between 6 and 160 guests. The HQ for Vodafone is close by and Bayer and Microfocus HQs are walking distance, as is Newbury Station. A popular venue locally for wedding receptions, christenings and wakes, private lunches and dinners and Christmas parties! The hotel has ample free car parking on site for guests.

Close to: Vodafone and Bayer HQ, Newbury Race Course, Didcot Railway and just an hour from London direct by train


Picture of The Chequers Hotel , Newbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 97 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Chequers Hotel
Pleasant, helpful and friendly staff. quiet room and a good nights sleep - thankyou.

Reviewed by
Peter W

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Party night
The hotel was very. Friendly , staff very helpfull.had a double room very nice and big . Nice bed , and it is nice to have bath and shower.didnit have food meeting friends down town. Would stay again

Reviewed by
S Smith

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Already rebooked for 2015 Hennessy
4th or 5th stay at this hotel for the Hennessy racing meeting at Newbury. Rooms have always been clean and well presented and already rebooked for next year. Great breakfasts and nice to have a bar to come back to in the evening. Can't really fault it.

Reviewed by
A Shockett

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

absolutely fantastic hotel.
That was the first time I've ever stayed there an I was very impressed. I will most definitely be staying there again without a doubt. So if anyone wants a good hotel then I more than recommend this hotel. An thank you to all your staff.

Reviewed by
paul callow

From Redruth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The lock out
They lock the doors at 11.00pm, but do not give guests a key!!!!! This is what they used to do in youth hostels.
We didn't use the restaurant as the radio was uncomfortably loud.

Reviewed by
J Marshall

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel
exhalent stay, room was clean and warm. Staff was very polite and helpful. will defiantly stay again.

Reviewed by
nigel gibson

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Has Never Disappointed
I booked this hotel as i have stayed here before. Travelling on my own, as i do on a regular basis, i like to know what to expect and this hotel never disappoints. The rooms have been updated since my last visit, and although the public areas are going through a face lift, i think this hotel is a Gem. The staff were attentive, polite and friendly - the food (room service) was excellent

Reviewed by
Joanne S

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Me and my wife had an excellent stay and have already talked about staying here again and

Reviewed by
Lee M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a Hotel with charm
lovely old hotel in a very central position. within walking distance of town centre. No lift because of the age of the building but the rooms were modernised and had all the facilities one needed

Reviewed by
Kathleen P McGregor

From Belfast, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room on second floor had double bed plus two chairs and settee, which could be made into sofa bed. Plenty of wardrobe space, with iron and board. Spacious bathroom, too. Only drawback (if it is), room was very warm and radiators didn't turn down. Staff very helpful and friendly, recommending places to eat within walking distance (we wanted to eat out for change of scenery)

Reviewed by
V Mawer

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next