You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Chequers Hotel

3

6-8 Oxford Street, Newbury, RG14 1JB

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (28)

82% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Nigel M

  • February 2016

Chequers Once More

we have stayed at Chequers on a number of occasions and we have been very pleased with our experience.

The staff are very helpful and friendly and make you very welcome. The rooms we have stayed in are very clean and tidy and everything you would expect for this type of hotel. The hotel is very old however it has been freshened up and I would imagine its an up hill battle to maintain it. The new section can be noisy if the room above is occupied and this does ring true in the other rooms if the neighbours are inconsiderate. The hotel on the whole is very good value and ideally located in the town centre and not far from the race course..

  • Hayley E

  • December 2015

Lovely hotel

Was pleasantly surprised with this hotel.

Thought for the price it would of been a lot more basic but was amazing value for money. Staff were very professional and am all round happy with my stay here. Will definitely be returning here soon.

  • Peter D

  • December 2015

Chequers Hotel

Comfortable good value and great location.

Thoroughly recommend.

  • J Sylvester

  • November 2015

Ok

Hotel in need of some TLC

  • r coate

  • August 2015

Curly Hair

The bathroom was dirty there was the previous occupiers curly hair on the bath side, disgusting

Bed Linen stained, Reported to reception, very dissatisfied

  • Alan B

  • July 2015

Good decent accommodatiom.

Well located & central hotel with all amenities required.

Good sized room & wellequiped for my needs.

  • C Henry

  • June 2015

Hidden Gem

This was a lovely clean hotel, the room and bathroom were spotless with excellent facilities.

Staff were friendly and helpful. The outer facade of the hotel was dilapidated with dead flowers in the window boxes therefore the quality of the room and facilities inside was a very pleasant surprise. Scaffolding was being erected as we were leaving so the exterior appears to be getting sorted out.

  • C Hutt

  • April 2015

Moved rooms 3 times.

First time because room was on the 3rd floor with no lift and the second and third time because of bed stains and dirty baths. The staff were very quick to help us move and I thought they were very helpful.

  • C Green

  • February 2015

Single Room Old Fashioned

I suspect the double rooms were furnished more modern but not sure..Dark furniture in the single room made it a bit gloomy.

  • C A B

  • February 2015

Excellent value for the money

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

The room was clean and comfortable, and quiet (but I was towards the rear of the building, away from the road). Breakfast was very good. Met a friend and we had a very nice three course meal there, which was excellent, and not bad value for money. I have more trips to Newbury in the pipeline and I shall definitely look to stay here again.