No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Chequers Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
6-8 Oxford Street , Newbury, RG14 1JB
WELCOME TO THE CHEQUERS HOTEL, Newbury - now an independently owned hotel. The only hotel located in Newbury itself, walking distance from the many shops, bars and restaurants, The Chequers Hotel is a traditional, 18th century coaching inn, providing excellent hotel accommodation in the heart Newbury’s town centre. The 56 well appointed en-suite bedrooms are all fully equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, trouser press, television, direct dial telephone and modem point.

You can also take advantage of our 24 hour room service. The restaurant has a warm and welcoming atmosphere, and serves the finest modern and European cuisine. For those wanting a more relaxed dining environment, our comfortable bar offers a wide selection of hot and cold dishes daily. There are many local attractions to visit during your stay such as Watermill Theatre, the Corn Exchange, Newbury Race Course, Didcot Railway Centre and the Great Western Designer Outlet Village. In the heart of the Thames Valley and only 5 minutes from junction 13 of the M4, The Chequers provides an ideal venue for a business stay, meeting, conference or training course. The versatility of our six meeting and function rooms means the hotel can cater for between 6 and 160 guests. The HQ for Vodafone is close by and Bayer and Microfocus HQs are walking distance, as is Newbury Station. A popular venue locally for wedding receptions, christenings and wakes, private lunches and dinners and Christmas parties! The hotel has ample free car parking on site for guests.

Close to: Vodafone and Bayer HQ, Newbury Race Course, Didcot Railway and just an hour from London direct by train


Picture of The Chequers Hotel , Newbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 98 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

absolutely fantastic hotel.
That was the first time I've ever stayed there an I was very impressed. I will most definitely be staying there again without a doubt. So if anyone wants a good hotel then I more than recommend this hotel. An thank you to all your staff.

Reviewed by
paul callow

From Redruth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The lock out
They lock the doors at 11.00pm, but do not give guests a key!!!!! This is what they used to do in youth hostels.
We didn't use the restaurant as the radio was uncomfortably loud.

Reviewed by
J Marshall

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel
exhalent stay, room was clean and warm. Staff was very polite and helpful. will defiantly stay again.

Reviewed by
nigel gibson

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Has Never Disappointed
I booked this hotel as i have stayed here before. Travelling on my own, as i do on a regular basis, i like to know what to expect and this hotel never disappoints. The rooms have been updated since my last visit, and although the public areas are going through a face lift, i think this hotel is a Gem. The staff were attentive, polite and friendly - the food (room service) was excellent

Reviewed by
Joanne S

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Me and my wife had an excellent stay and have already talked about staying here again and

Reviewed by
Lee M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a Hotel with charm
lovely old hotel in a very central position. within walking distance of town centre. No lift because of the age of the building but the rooms were modernised and had all the facilities one needed

Reviewed by
Kathleen P McGregor

From Belfast, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room on second floor had double bed plus two chairs and settee, which could be made into sofa bed. Plenty of wardrobe space, with iron and board. Spacious bathroom, too. Only drawback (if it is), room was very warm and radiators didn't turn down. Staff very helpful and friendly, recommending places to eat within walking distance (we wanted to eat out for change of scenery)

Reviewed by
V Mawer

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

its was very nice and relexing

Reviewed by
s parker

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room - fantastic bed
I had a very nice room (up-to-date furniture etc), welcoming, clean and a fantastic bed. I slept so well after a long day at work. Best room I ever had in this hotel. I can recommend the hotel, but I have to say it was the best room I have been given as I stayed there before. The rooms on other occasion were good and definitively clean. Staff is also very friendly and knowledgeable.

Reviewed by
Geraldine W

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old tired rooms
Attended this hotel previously and very happy with accommodation but on this visit my card showed we had been allocated a room but was crossed off and was given an alternative. The room given was very poor,we asked for an alternative and was informed there was no doubles left. We were offered a twin room at the same price or an upgrade for £20,was not prepared to pay this as previous visits the rooms were excellent for only £5 more. We decided to take the twin as it was late even though we booked in advance. Next morning we stated we were not happy with the room and was offered the £20 upgrade next time we booked, why could they not have done this the night before then this niggling complaint would not be here. The food though was excellent it's just a disappointment the experience was not as good as before.

Reviewed by
John Cairnes

From Wetherby, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next