No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Chequers Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
6-8 Oxford Street , Newbury, RG14 1JB
WELCOME TO THE CHEQUERS HOTEL, Newbury - now an independently owned hotel. The only hotel located in Newbury itself, walking distance from the many shops, bars and restaurants, The Chequers Hotel is a traditional, 18th century coaching inn, providing excellent hotel accommodation in the heart Newbury’s town centre. The 56 well appointed en-suite bedrooms are all fully equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, trouser press, television, direct dial telephone and modem point.

You can also take advantage of our 24 hour room service. The restaurant has a warm and welcoming atmosphere, and serves the finest modern and European cuisine. For those wanting a more relaxed dining environment, our comfortable bar offers a wide selection of hot and cold dishes daily. There are many local attractions to visit during your stay such as Watermill Theatre, the Corn Exchange, Newbury Race Course, Didcot Railway Centre and the Great Western Designer Outlet Village. In the heart of the Thames Valley and only 5 minutes from junction 13 of the M4, The Chequers provides an ideal venue for a business stay, meeting, conference or training course. The versatility of our six meeting and function rooms means the hotel can cater for between 6 and 160 guests. The HQ for Vodafone is close by and Bayer and Microfocus HQs are walking distance, as is Newbury Station. A popular venue locally for wedding receptions, christenings and wakes, private lunches and dinners and Christmas parties! The hotel has ample free car parking on site for guests.

Close to: Vodafone and Bayer HQ, Newbury Race Course, Didcot Railway and just an hour from London direct by train


Picture of The Chequers Hotel , Newbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 97 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend in Newbury
We had a great weekend in Newbury. The hotel staff made us very welcome and the room was large and clean. A good experience overall.

Reviewed by
Steve S

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Chequers Hotel
The room was really lovely, stayed in the main hotel. Only problem was the main heating didn't work in the room but an electric heater was provided so it didn't cause an issue. Bed was a lovely size. Breakfast was wonderful and staff very pleasant.

Reviewed by
Natalie B

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tidy and adequate
I stayed at the hotel for one night for a business meeting. I used previous reviews to make up my mind. However my experience.
The reception staff both evening and morning need a little bit of customer service training. Not friendly, but not unfriendly, there was nothing. In the morning I did not get asked if I had enjoyed my stay or was everything OK. It concerns me how they would have dealt with a complaint had I made one. When given my key there was no indication as to which direction to go. Little things but important to a tiered traveller.
The room was small but had double bed and bath, although the bath is one of those short ones. But the bed was comfortable, and there was everything I required for the night.
It appeared clean, and was obvious it had been cleaned, the sinks and bath were shiny and everything tidy, I will say however to the management that the cleaners need to once a week spend some time dusting, all the door frames were dusty as were things like light switches, work surface and the desk and TV were fine. It's just that little touch, and I know I can be fussy and it's not the biggest issue in the world.
Overall I would use the hotel again for business at the price I paid which according to the website was over half price, £49, had I had paid full price I would not be happy the room is not worth more than around the £50 - £60 a night fee.
Would I stay for a romantic weekend, unless there are nicer rooms, which I am sure there are, and would be more expensive would expect , then maybe. This is actually a nice hotel, nothing flash and nothing to shout about, but serves its purpose at the right price.
Its location to the town is ideal although a traveller with luggage may want a taxi from the station.

Reviewed by
a pearson

From Ely, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very convenient and comfortable hotel
I stayed here on the night of a Christmas party that I was attending. Room was hot when I checked in, but the windows open and the radiators are adjustable. No noise carried from the party room to the rest of the hotel. Drinks were reasonably priced. Comfortable bed, nice big bathroom and very good breakfast. The location at the top of Northbrook Street is extremely convenient for the rest of the town, especially with parking at the hotel (I was able to leave my car in the car park even after checking out). I'd be very happy to stay here again.

Reviewed by
Neil P

From Hungerford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Chequers Hotel
Pleasant, helpful and friendly staff. quiet room and a good nights sleep - thankyou.

Reviewed by
Peter W

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Party night
The hotel was very. Friendly , staff very helpfull.had a double room very nice and big . Nice bed , and it is nice to have bath and shower.didnit have food meeting friends down town. Would stay again

Reviewed by
S Smith

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Already rebooked for 2015 Hennessy
4th or 5th stay at this hotel for the Hennessy racing meeting at Newbury. Rooms have always been clean and well presented and already rebooked for next year. Great breakfasts and nice to have a bar to come back to in the evening. Can't really fault it.

Reviewed by
A Shockett

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

absolutely fantastic hotel.
That was the first time I've ever stayed there an I was very impressed. I will most definitely be staying there again without a doubt. So if anyone wants a good hotel then I more than recommend this hotel. An thank you to all your staff.

Reviewed by
paul callow

From Redruth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The lock out
They lock the doors at 11.00pm, but do not give guests a key!!!!! This is what they used to do in youth hostels.
We didn't use the restaurant as the radio was uncomfortably loud.

Reviewed by
J Marshall

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel
exhalent stay, room was clean and warm. Staff was very polite and helpful. will defiantly stay again.

Reviewed by
nigel gibson

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next