No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sandymount Hotel

Herbert Road Lansdowne Road, Dublin, 4
Sandymount Hotel enjoys an excellent location in Ballsbridge, close to the city centre and Dublin's famous Sandymount Strand. The DART train station is only 2 minutes from the hotel and 2 stops to the city centre. All of the main shopping, tourist and business districts are within easy reach including the O2, RDS, Bord Gais Energy Theatre and Aviva Stadium.

Following a recent refurbishment, Sandymount Hotel now boasts 168 contemporary-styled guest rooms. All rooms include luxury beds/designer bed throws/modern artwork/comfortable furniture/ensuite bathroom with bath and shower/plasma TV/in-built wardrobe/dressing table with large mirror/tea & coffee facilities/direct dial telephone/iron and board/hair dryer/FREE WIFI/FREE parking/FREE access to hotel business centre.

Breakfast is served in Whitty's Restaurant which leads to the hotel's 2 acres of private landscaped gardens. The Line Out Bar is open for casual dining throughout the day and evening.

The hotel was recently awarded Eco-Label status by GreenHospitality.ie and are now working for a Silver Award. This internationally recognised organisation promotes greener tourism in Ireland and the hotel boasts an electric car charger and a free library exchange as part of this initiative. They are also proud to be TripAdvisor Silver Greenleaders.

Picture of Sandymount Hotel, Dublin at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location for Aviva Stadium (soccer)
Spent 3 nights at hotel. Comfy beds in very pleasant updated room. However, the bathroom was another story: peeling paint on window, rust on huge pipe from toilet, grout coming out of bathtub tile, etc. In all fairness,I did not complain to staff (who were exemplary for the most part). And, I would not hesitate to stay at this lovely hotel again - just not in room 555! Also, the location is terrific, in a nice neighborhood, close enough to the bay to take a stroll and an easy walk to the Dart.

Reviewed by
Jan D

From USA
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awesome!
Beautiful & comfortable hotel with a friendly atmosphere about the place. The location is perfect, with easy access to the city centre. I totally recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
Michael M

From Holywood, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stopover
Nice looking hotel, good reception, we had a meal in the bar area which was good and it was a pleasant and relaxed atmosphere.
The room was clean, small television.
Breakfast was okay although a little disorganised tables needed to be cleared of breakfast dishes and re-laid quicker.

Reviewed by
Kenneth G

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service but needs a facelift
Lovely helpful staff & great location beside landsdowne dart stop & near ballsbridge & sandymount.
However inside once you get out of the lobby area it is a bit shabby & really needs cleaning painting & modernising.
Same applies to room.
However service was great including shuttle to aircoach & driver even waited for us to board which was lovely.

Reviewed by
Rebecca R

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was in desperate need of modernising. Not a very good impression was given when entering the reception area due to wear and tear, although staff very friendly we would not stay there again for the amount of money we spent for the accommodation.

Reviewed by
D Barley

From England
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
We only stayed overnight here on route to the ferry. It is a nice hotel with comfortable rooms, enough for our needs. Staff were friendly and a good breakfast. Good value as booked online. Just around the corner from the Aviva stadium.

Reviewed by
M Williams

From Folkestone, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Met expectations
Nice and clean and tidy hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived to leaving. Served as a good point to access city centre and the 02 Arena, if I'm back over in Ireland I would use again

Reviewed by
Neil R

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room, staff very friendly, remembered me from my last visit.
Just love this hotel, the staff are fantastic, rooms lovely and food very good.
Lovely walks into Sandymount village and Ballsbridge.
The receptionist remembered me from my last visit and made sure I was given a lovely room.
We sat out in the garden and had our drinks...just lovely.
A real gem of a hotel in Dublin.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thanks for your review. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay so much. Our gardens are fab aren’t they? Perfect for a summer day! We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, John Loughran, Owner

Reviewed by
Mary Hamill

From Ballymena, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good food and convenient location
The bar food and breakfasts are good. The location is very good easy for the Dart and easy walking to many places. Room size is variable so good to check when booking and on arrival that you get the type of room you need.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thanks for your review. We appreciate the feedback. Yes our location is certainly a bonus with our proximity to the city, the train line and the beach. We hope you’ll visit us again on your next stay in Dublin. Kind regards, John Loughran, Owner

Reviewed by
JACQUELINE D

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Handy for the Dart
The Sandymount is a very nice, well appointed hotel with friendly staff. Accommodation is reasonably priced Sunday to Thursday, with compatible prices to similar hotels at weekends.
It is very handy for the Lansdowne Road Dart station and conveniently situated close to the Aviva Stadium (if you are a rugby or music fan) and Ballsbridge centre with a range of shops, pubs and restaurants.
The red Dublin sightseeing bus stops right outside daily for an 8:50am pick up - this is a feeder bus that takes you to join the main service on O'Connell St.
Breakfast is until 11am Sunday so you can have a lie in!

Reviewed by
Richard Outram

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next