Reviews - Westbourne Guest House



Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (38)

71% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Wendy H

  • August 2014

Little gem

Basically good clean little gem, value for money B&B, blackout blinds gratefully used.

My only downside is that I have a physical mobility difficulty and use walking aids, I struggled on the stairs leading to the accommodation and to the bedrooms saying that, I'm not sure that this can be rectified. We didn't eat breakfast choosing to sleep in till 10am. The electricity supply to the room went off at midnight on one of the nights however the owner put it back on and was okay about being disturbed

  • Ashley B

  • August 2014

Good place to stay

4 lads went for a long weekend break.

Good location near the beach and pier but also in good proximity and walking distance of bars and clubs. No problems at hotel, would stay again.

  • Philip Jennings

  • August 2014



  • Phil M

  • August 2014

basic but clean - somewhere to sleep

  • Iris K

  • August 2014

Great Location

We just spent one night and did not have breakfast, we were very happy with the room and hotel.

Nice, friendly welcome, fast and easy check in. Room had nice furniture, bathroom was modern and clean. For a longer stay the room that we had would be too small, though, probably they gave it to us as we were not staying longer and for us ist was fine. Location is great, just a short walk from the pier. Breakfast room looked cosy, clean and inviting. Free, good working wifi. Parking on the street with cash and display machines.

  • Kelly L

  • July 2014

Very pleased

We were all very pleased with our stay at Westbourne guest house.

The people that run it were very accommodating and friendly. The rooms were great, with high ceilings and nice d├ęcor. The location is great, just up from the sea front. Finally the price was reasonable too.

  • M Philp

  • July 2014

Friendly Collette makes you welcome in a straight forward guest house

We were met by Collette who was friendly helpful and a nice person.The 4 bedroom we were in was quite a few floors up with a shared bathroom but we knew this in advance.

Good value for money and room what we expected. All you need it's not the Grand where we stayed last time but a perfectly reasonable basic guest house. All enquiries and help provided by Collete who made us welcome

  • J Hill

  • July 2014

Basic, decent accommodation in a very good location

We had a positive experience at Westbourne.

It's just a block and a half from the water and a short walk to the Lanes. The person greeting us was very friendly and even helped us with a parking permit. Our room was on the top floor, so it was quite a hike up three tall flights to get there, but the room had ample space for the four of us (we have two grown daughters). The wifi did not work in our room, and it was very spotty even on the main floor, so that was a pain. The room was also very hot, but they got us one small and one large fan to help. I expect this won't be an issue all that often, as it was unusually hot the day we stayed. It's nothing fancy, but it was in a good spot and all went smoothly beyond what I mention above. And the price was very reasonable for accommodating all four of us.

  • josie h

  • July 2014

not the worse place ive stayed in

First of all i would just like to say i don't know why there are so many bad reviews about this hotel.

most of the people that have stayed here must of been snobs.

When we first arrived we was welcomed by a man called Anthony that was very helpful and friendly. We arrived late in the evening and and couldn't found a place to park. With all the bags we had to carry (you can imagine how many bags we had a group of 3 young ladies) we didn't want to park too far away. Anthony very kindly asked us if we wanted to park in he's personal garage, which helped us out so much thank you. Obviously we paid him for the use but its was a lot cheaper than what it would have been parking somewhere else.

After sorting all that car parking drama Anthony showed us to our room and we was very happy with it. It was nice and clean and big enough for the 3 of us. We even had our own little balcony. Also I have to mention the beds were very comfortable The only problem we found was hair in the shower around the plug hole that was it.

If you do chose to stay at this hotel I would suggest bringing your own shampoo, con, and body wash as the bottles that they gave us was no way big enough for our stay. Also there was a slight problem with the shower on out last day the water kept going hot then cold but that was only the last day so it wasn't that much of a big deal. I cant give a review about the breakfast as we didn't wake up early enough.

The hotel location is great. around a 5min walk from the town centre if you want a weekend away but don't wanna pay to much for a place to stay for the night I would suggest to stay here. It was perfect for us 3 girls. thank you

  • Michelle Pole

  • June 2014

great customer service

The hotel was really old fashioned with dated decor but was very clean .

I was so excited to see the room we were staying in as it was a birthday surprise for my girlfriend , the bed was fantastic but the bedroom was very cosy , the bathroom however was a absolute joke , when I was informed it was on suite I was quite excited but the shower electrics were back to front , which was signed but the frame of the shower was held up with what I can only describe black masking tape , which i was a tad dissapointed about for 205.00 for 3 days stay excluding breakfast , I did want to say something but I was told by my girlfriend to leave in the review , the lady that owned the place was sooo lovely and her customer service was 10/10 but the poor thing looked exhausted and ready to retire and relax. I would stay again but only as a last resort and the building has a makeover , but throughly a ok stay