No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Westbourne Guest House

3AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
46 UPPER ROCK GARDENS , BRIGHTON, BN2 1QF
A beautiful Victorian period house conveniently situated a short stroll from the seafront, conference centre, & the world famous lanes. The Westbourne Hotel appeals to guests who appreciate a personal & professional service, in tasteful surroundings with a friendly atmosphere.
This 3 diamond establishment has 11 bedrooms in total and majority with en-suite bathrooms, the Westbourne hotel can without doubt make your stay here a most comfortable experience.

The Westbourne Hotel has a flexible choice of rooms, so whether your alone on business or pleasure, a couple wanting a intimate break, or a family wanting to experience the fun that can be found in Brighton, the Westbourne Hotel will appeal to you. Breakfast is individually freshly prepared to order and with a wide variety to choose from, whether you appreciate a full English breakfast, or vegetarian/vegan options, or just simply something lighter like fruits, yogurts, cereals, the Westbourne Hotel can make the most important meal of the day, a good one!
Picture of Westbourne Guest House, BRIGHTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good
Good

Reviewed by
Philip Jennings

From Dover, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Collette makes you welcome in a straight forward guest house
We were met by Collette who was friendly helpful and a nice person.The 4 bedroom we were in was quite a few floors up with a shared bathroom but we knew this in advance. Good value for money and room what we expected. All you need it's not the Grand where we stayed last time but a perfectly reasonable basic guest house. All enquiries and help provided by Collete who made us welcome

Reviewed by
M Philp

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleased
We were all very pleased with our stay at Westbourne guest house. The people that run it were very accommodating and friendly. The rooms were great, with high ceilings and nice décor. The location is great, just up from the sea front! Finally the price was reasonable too!

Reviewed by
Kelly L

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic, decent accommodation in a very good location
We had a positive experience at Westbourne. It's just a block and a half from the water and a short walk to the Lanes. The person greeting us was very friendly and even helped us with a parking permit. Our room was on the top floor, so it was quite a hike up three tall flights to get there, but the room had ample space for the four of us (we have two grown daughters). The wifi did not work in our room, and it was very spotty even on the main floor, so that was a pain. The room was also very hot, but they got us one small and one large fan to help. I expect this won't be an issue all that often, as it was unusually hot the day we stayed. It's nothing fancy, but it was in a good spot and all went smoothly beyond what I mention above. And the price was very reasonable for accommodating all four of us.

Reviewed by
J Hill

From Florissant, USA
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not the worse place ive stayed in
First of all i would just like to say i don't know why there are so many bad reviews about this hotel. most of the people that have stayed here must of been snobs.
When we first arrived we was welcomed by a man called Anthony that was very helpful and friendly. We arrived late in the evening and and couldn't found a place to park. With all the bags we had to carry (you can imagine how many bags we had a group of 3 young ladies) we didn't want to park too far away. Anthony very kindly asked us if we wanted to park in he's personal garage, which helped us out so much thank you! Obviously we paid him for the use but its was a lot cheaper than what it would have been parking somewhere else.
After sorting all that car parking drama Anthony showed us to our room and we was very happy with it. It was nice and clean and big enough for the 3 of us. We even had our own little balcony. Also I have to mention the beds were very comfortable The only problem we found was hair in the shower around the plug hole that was it.
If you do chose to stay at this hotel I would suggest bringing your own shampoo, con, and body wash as the bottles that they gave us was no way big enough for our stay. Also there was a slight problem with the shower on out last day the water kept going hot then cold but that was only the last day so it wasn't that much of a big deal. I cant give a review about the breakfast as we didn't wake up early enough.
The hotel location is great! around a 5min walk from the town centre if you want a weekend away but don't wanna pay to much for a place to stay for the night I would suggest to stay here. It was perfect for us 3 girls. thank you

Reviewed by
josie h

From Dagenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, only a few minutes walk from the beach and very near pubs and restaurants. The rooms are quite small but do the job. It can be a bit difficult to find staff during the day. Overall a decent place though quite expensive, even with the laterooms discount.

Reviewed by
Zoe N

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great customer service
The hotel was really old fashioned with dated decor but was very clean . I was so excited to see the room we were staying in as it was a birthday surprise for my girlfriend , the bed was fantastic but the bedroom was very cosy , the bathroom however was a absolute joke , when I was informed it was on suite I was quite excited but the shower electrics were back to front , which was signed but the frame of the shower was held up with what I can only describe black masking tape , which i was a tad dissapointed about for 205.00 for 3 days stay excluding breakfast , I did want to say something but I was told by my girlfriend to leave in the review , the lady that owned the place was sooo lovely and her customer service was 10/10 but the poor thing looked exhausted and ready to retire and relax. I would stay again but only as a last resort and the building has a makeover , but throughly a ok stay

Reviewed by
Michelle Pole

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beautiful room, great location
staff could have been a little friendlier but room was fab and location was brilliant! bathroom was a bit dodgy, was shared and shower didn't work but overall fine considering the price

Reviewed by
Christopher Allen

From Edenbridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for a cheap nights stay
My friend and I went for one night for my birthday and it was fab! Rooms were of a good standard and we had nothing but friendly service. Was a bit further than we thought but once we re-acquainted ourselves with the area we realised it was not actually too far from the pier! Overall lovely stay and very cheap. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
Ashleigh M

From Sutton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spacious central Brighton hotel with a brilliant view
Booked this place last second at 10:30 on a Saturday night so very surprised to find such spacious accomodation and a friendly-enough welcome turning up at the house as we did very late and unexpected in a small family b&b.

Reviewed by
Rosemary L

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next