No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Lime Avenue off Portsmouth Road, Camberley, GU15 2BG
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa is set on three acres of landscaped grounds. It's timeless design includes a grand, ornately carved victorian staircase which leads to rooms boasting leaded windows and inlaid mahogany furniture. Located on the Berkshire / Surrey border, approximately 10 minutes drive from Ascot Racecourse, 5 minutes drive into Camberley and 10 minutes drive to Farnborough, this classical manor house hotel is a perfect base for Royal Ascot, Legoland, Windsor Castle, Thorpe Park, Wisley Royal Gardens, Virginia Water, Farnborough Airshow 2012 and many more.

The Frimley Hall Hotel and Spa boasts 98 luxurious bedrooms, all with air cooling facilities and all equipped with every modern amenity. Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.
Frimley Hall's renowned award-winning Linden Restaurant is the perfect setting for any occasion, serving modern British cuisine with a menu that is both extensive and varied, supported by an excellent and carefully chosen wine list. The Gold Lounge serves a selection of Light Snacks and Traditional Afternoon Teas. The well established Sandhurst Bar is the perfect setting for pre-dinner drinks and after-dinner liqueurs.

Frimley Hall's Spa facilities include a 17 metre swimming pool, technogym, sauna and steam room plus 5 beauty treatment rooms.
Picture of Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, Camberley at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

SPA AND STEAK DELIGHT
The macdonald spa and hotel was set in lovely grounds and the staff were very friendly. We stayed for one night and used all the spa facilities which were also to a high standard. The basic double room was clean, a good size with a very comfortable bed. During the evening we went to the bar and sat by an open fire where we had quite possibly the best steak I have ever eaten.
This was a wonderful romantic getaway and I only wish we could have stayed another night. My one criticism would be that it was quite expensive for a young couple. I hope we can save up enough to go again!

Reviewed by
Georgina B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

TV not working and not rectified at £100+ per night equals poor effort.
We booked through laterooms and were looking for a decent quality hotel with spa facilities. We have a young baby so don't get to get away often so on returning from a wedding at close to midnight we were disappointed to find that the tv didn't work. Room service said they would come and fix it but we'd have to wait half an hour whilst he checked some people in. Not a major problem and left it as it was so late but in the morning we were told they could not discount the price of the room as we booked through a third party - last time we use laterooms!
Even more disappointing was that the receptionist offered to get the hotel manager to call me next day which bever happened. For a big brand premium priced hotel, this was pretty poor. The hotel itself was reasonable and spa facilities basic but it's the service that really ket it down.

Reviewed by
Jean W

From Wooburn green, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place, Lovely Location
Really enjoyed our stay - just wish I had more time to enjoy facilities

Reviewed by
Jon K

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We booked this hotel on line on our way back from a busy day and long drive . we went through the proceedure on line under the impression that we were booking a room and breakfast for £111 for the night only to be told on arrival that it was room only and we could pay £15 a head for the breakfast. very dissapointed

Reviewed by
brendan m

From salisbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ascot Racing weekend stay
Nice hotel, friendly staff but, with a large wedding being held, maybe service to non-wedding guests was overlooked

Reviewed by
M Robinson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel in great surroundings highl recommended

Reviewed by
T Street-Roberts

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money & a brilliant stay
We booked Frimley Hall Hotel as a last minute booking, the valur for money was great & the spa experience was just what we were looking for. We got to the hotel at about 7pm on a Friday night & headed straight to the spa where we were the only ones using the area. It was really calming, relaxing and a perfect wind down after a busy week of work. The only thing missing at the spa was a jacuzzi. The room we stayed in was comfortable, clean & the food we got from room service was great. Overall a great stay and we will be visiting again!

Reviewed by
Julie L

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Satisfactory.
The hotel and lawns are a beauiful welcome, and in line with the traditional 'country manor' hotel decor. The staff are pleasant, but not friendly. We had to wait over 10 mins every time we ordered a drink, a little bit tedious. Nice and clean though.

Reviewed by
John D

From England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great spa facilities and friendly staff

Reviewed by
Ian S

From Bakewell, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not impressed!
Firstly, our room service breakfast was late, my partners poached eggs were hard and they completely forgot my breakfast order...which finally arrived 45 minutes after the arranged time... No good if you've got a schedule to keep to. I rang reception the night before asking then to put our taxi booking back by 45 mins for the following day...however this never happened, which resulted in not one but two calls from reception trying to rush us, this was there incompetence not ours! I did feel sorry for the driver ...having to wait and missing out on potential jobs elsewhere. The second night we ordered more room service (more fool us I guess) the accompliments which we had asked for never arrivde which meant more phone calls and more delays before enjoying our meal. When it finally came to checking out we were charged for drinks that we hadn't had! It was only on closer inspection of the bill when packing the car we realised...we were refunded but it was annoying that we had to waste more of our own time reporting & correcting the issue. I have been in many hotels which don't market themselves as such calibre but which have ultimately delivered far superior services! Overall very disappointing!

Reviewed by
ELEANOR L

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next