No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - THE HOLT HOTEL

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Steeple Aston , Oxford, OX25 5QQ
Set within 9 acres of land, on the edge of the stunning Cotswolds and close to Oxford. The Holt Hotel blends the atmosphere of a 15th Century inn with the modern requirements of any discerning conference/event organiser. Providing a versatile, flexible, spacious and individual venue. Whether you are launching a new product, seeking a perfect team building/outdoor pursuit location, organising an AGM, desiring a central location for monthly meetings or arranging a wedding, The Holt Hotel has the experience, depth of knowledge and vision to support all of your requirements – be it for two or 260 delegates.

Hotel Facilities
• 86 individually decorated en-suite
bedrooms with the capacity to sleep up to
164 guests
• Eight versatile conference rooms all with
natural daylight
• Theatre style for up to 195 delegates and
banqueting for up to 240 guests
• Nine acres of land for outdoor pursuits or
just to relax in
• Excellent cuisine in the Du Vall’s restaurant
by our award-winning chefs
• Free car parking for up to 200 cars
• Located close to M40, Oxford airport,

Blenheim Palace, Bicester Outlet Village, Oxford City, the Cotswolds, Silverstone and various other attractions. We tailor our experience and facilities to suit your requirements and budget.
Picture of THE HOLT HOTEL, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely character hotel
Really lovely character hotel. Staff extremely friendly and polite. Room was a lovely size and was perfect for overnight accommodation. Breakfast was fantastic, food was wonderful. Very idyllic country hotel. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
Kerry C

From Bishop's Stortford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay in the holt
75 pounds for a 40 pound hotel??
smelly shabby expensive ans they wanted 2.50 for wifi access
the evening meal was a surprise in that ti was well prepared and tasted excellent
breakfast the other hand was more what I expected, very poor and I was charged twice for it with no offer of a refund
My advice
have an evening meal there and sleep in you car

Reviewed by
c cooke

From delgany, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming place
Girlfriend and myself stayed here as we had appointment in oxford the following day, Hotel was very easy to find and checkin was quick and easy. The room itself was very quaint and had everything we needed. Would stay here again no qustions very enjoyable.

Reviewed by
D Saunders

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Room
Good room, good shower, comfortable bed - was hot (even without heating) but managed it by opening windows and the door for awhile (corridor was cold). Good lounge and bar, pleasant surroundings

Reviewed by
Charika S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Place for a Quiet Mini-Break
We were only there one night for the wife's birthday as we wanted something different but within an easy drive of the main Cotswolds towns and also Bicester shopping mall (maybe 8 miles away). The place lacked a little atmosphere, only 2 other couples in the dining room, but the food was great. We both had lamb and my wife said it was one of the best lamb dishes she'd ever had. Breakfast was also very good - though an option for fried eggs rather than the tub of scrambles eggs would have been nice. I normal rate hotels on "breakfast sausage quality" and for me The Holt's were very good - scoring 8/10 from me on my quality/taste scale! We had a superior room which was spacey, although the double bed was still a bit too small for our liking - we do have a super-kingsize at home though so generally UK hotels beds disappoint us. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Stay again? Yes I think so. We didn't see any of the supposed ghosts though!

Reviewed by
E Davies

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shocking
The room seemed to be laid out for aesthetic purposes rather than functionality.
Dead or dying insects along the edge of the carpet, extremely uneven floor, staines on surfaces and loose tiles in the bathroom. The wardrobe was ridiculous and could only be used if you were a borrower as there is no rail for clothes just hooks and due to the fact our stay was for a wedding im sure anyone could understand the difficulty. Its clear why the Holt Hotel only got 3 stars and for the price of the room you coupd have alot better at travelodge. Overall not impressed.

Reviewed by
Robert Z

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet location
Nice hotel, pets allowed but only in the room. Large bed but very uncomfortable. Nice room, staff very friendly. Night buffet not very good in restaurant, but excellent breakfast buffet. Beautiful bar, large with pool table, just basic television, no sky etc. Out door garden very nice, but outdoor space poorly lit. Did not run into the ghost, Claude. Nice pub The Bell just a few minutes down the road and petrol station across the road.

Reviewed by
Karen c

From Morden, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holt in the name of comfort and quality
The Holt is pleasant and quiet. Staff are great and I like the fact that there is ample parking. I did ask for a smoking room but due to work being carried out at the hotel, it was not possible. I would have liked to have been made aware of this when I spoke to the hotel confirming my booking. My one criticism is the place does need some updating regarding the showers. Although I the hotel is going for that traditional Oxford look it would be nice to have updated rooms.
Would I recommend the Holt. 100% yes.

Reviewed by
Raj Kalsi

From Ilford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mis-advertised, an absolute nightmare
If you are about to book a room in this hotel based on; wifi access in rooms, a nice well appointed room in a beautiful looking hotel or a quiet friendly relaxing hotel experience, my advice to you is Do not stay at the holt hotel.
I stayed in the hotel overnight on Wednesday 10/09, after booking through Late Rooms, for £79. I was incredibly disappointed by the whole experience. I arrived late on the Wednesday night, at around 9pm (as I had stated in the booking).  On arrival, I was asked ‘do you mind walking, there are lots of steps?’ I presumed this meant I was on the upper floor of the hotel, but was then led out through a fire exit into the hotel’s grounds to an external building, where I was again taken in through a fire exit, to room 322. 
The hotel’s website shows pictures of well appointed rooms, promising "Wi-Fi broadband connection is available in our bedrooms and public areas” and that "Every room has a Trouser Press, Hair Dryer, Colour Television, Direct Dial Telephone, Tea and Coffee Making Facilities.” This clearly didn’t apply to my room. I asked the employee how I went about getting the wifi connection, and he told me I’d have to walk back to reception to get it - which I did, and was given a code. I walked all the way back to my room, entered the codes, and nothing worked. I rang reception, who told me that I was in a room with poor connection, and that I needed to stand outside the room for the wifi to work, this is completely unacceptable at a hotel which promises wifi connection in rooms. I requested a change to a room with wifi availability, but was told the hotel was very full, but they’d get back to me - nobody ever did. I had an important interview in the morning which I needed to do some final preparation for and was unable to do so. The room also came without a trouser press, or a hair dryer. The curtains were old, dirty and didn’t close fully, there were cobwebs in the corners, and dust hanging from the ceiling. The bed covers appeared to be stained with some form of bodily fluid on the underside, and there were hairs in the shower, and around the sink, and I have photographs to support this. I wish I had booked into a hostel - at least then I’d have been expecting this standard.
In the morning I decided I needed to find a way to do some work, and remembered the receptionist saying there would be wifi in the building’s ‘communal area’. I couldn’t work out how to get to this area, then decided to walk through the door at the end of the corridor saying ‘Fire extit only: No throughfare’. Through this door, I found the main entrance to the building, and a table, covered in cleaning materials, along with empty cans of beer - probably accounting for the horrendous racket through the night (I had requested a quiet room). I was horrified to find signs on the corridor doors saying ‘Night porters sleeping in this corridor, please try to keep it quiet until lunch time!’ As I sat down to try and connect to the wifi, a woman walked through in her nightwear, and walked into a laundry room to do her washing, and then, to my surprise the man who had shown me to my room appeared from his own room. The only conclusion which I can draw from this, is that during my stay on Wednesday night, I was accommodated in staff accommodation, not the guest accommodation.
My advice - avoid the Holt Hotel at all costs.

Reviewed by
Matthew B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holt Hotel
An excellent hotel, staff all so helpful, rooms lovely

Reviewed by
M Hall

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next