No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cromwell

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
9-11 North Bar Street , Banbury, OX16 0TB
The Cromwell Lodge Hotel Banbury sits on the high street of the Busy Oxfordshire Market town of Banbury, very close to Banbury Cross with easy access to the M40 junction 11. The Cromwell Lodge Hotel an ideal base for exploring the local area. Banbury is a bustling town, with traditional street markets and high street chain stores.

There is a variety of night time entertainment, cinema, theatre, restaurant and clubs. The Hotel is nearby Oxford, Stratford-upon-Avon and Blenheim Palace, the birthplace of Sir Winston Churchill. You will be assured of a warm welcome and great hospitality. Car park is at the rear of the hotel.
Picture of Cromwell, Banbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Menu
Some misunderstanding about offers on the menu, but the staff were helpful in sorting out the problems.

Reviewed by
Alison H

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cromwell
Although the Hotel was very nice there were a few points to make- In my room there was no sink plug , no centre light, wallpaper was coming of the wall in the toilet and the tap did not run very well. My parents room was very nice and had no problems.

Reviewed by
wendy c

From Basildon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel staff were hard working and polite, they couldnt do enough for us, lovely place and would recomend the Cromwell Hotel to anybody.

Reviewed by
JOHN G

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast
Breakfast left a lot to be desires . 45 minutes to finally get given a very poor breakfast

Reviewed by
A Boland

From Honiton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not upto 4* standard
Went for a two night break. Bar and evening food was good and downstairs hotel looks nice. We had a superior room and the size was nice but standard of room disappointing. Bathroom clean but smells damp and musty which had also made the bedroom smell a bit,although mould had been cleaned off ceiling you could still see patches above the shower. Bed comfortable and clean but décor very dated and really looking tatty.
Such a shame as downstairs is nice its about time the hotel spend the money on the bedrooms. Staff all pleasant and didn't mind me noticing that they had forgotten some of the items that was meant to be included on the full English for breakfast and then added them to our plates.

Reviewed by
P East

From Fordingbridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay for 2- much improved customer service
We ventured back the the Cromwell Lodge, despite having quite a poor previous experience there, some time ago. I am pleased to be able to say that customer service has improved, vastly. It made our stay relaxing and enjoyable, instead of somewhat fraught.
Check in was prompt- no waiting around. Our room was adequate but fairly basic and just about OK for cleanliness- one cobweb next to the wardrobe and mould in the shower cubicle. The hot tap looked like it had been broken and it had been put in upside down so you have to turn it lefty-tighty and righty-loosy, which took a bit of getting used to. The room was near the marquee, in the garden again, but it was not as noisy as previously. The main hotel is beautiful so it was a shame we were in the extension again... I would not want to stay in that room, in Winter, as there was a gap under the door and would be very draughty. The bed was very comfortable so I forgave the room a lot. I could have done with 2 pillows, instead of one... but the linen and duvet was soft.
Our breakfast was good, despite some rather off-putting left-over, dried-up food on the floor, in the restaurant. The waitress was polite, cheerful and prompt in serving us. I decided to sit where we could be seen this time, as we had to wait ages, on our last stay, to be served. (The restaurant is L shaped so it is tricky for the waiters and waitresses to over-see.)
Check-out was as efficient as check-in had been. The only real negative was that the hotel car-park was full when we got back to the hotel late in the evening but there was free parking overnight at the front of the hotel. We had to move the car or pay, by 8 am next morning, though. It was only £1 for the whole day, as it was a bank holiday so we could leave the car there and go in to town, shopping, as the town centre is just a few minutes walk away.

Reviewed by
Nikki E

From Wells, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very tired hotel, cant belive its a 4 star, in need of an overhaul. Cant turn around in the shower

Reviewed by
J Lines

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a great place to stay in the heart of banbury
this was our first stay at the cromwell after it was recomended to us by family. the hotel was everything we wanted in olde worlde charm, our room was lovely with a lovely quiet double aspect window. the room was very clean and beds very comfy, all staff we encountered were pleaseant and professional at all times. the hotel is only a stonesthrow from the main part of banbury so was ideal for us. breakfast was ample and warm with plenty of tea and toast, we will definately return, hopefully for longer next time.

Reviewed by
karen leeming

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

warm freindly clean
warm freindly reception, claen tidy rooms, good choice at breakfast

Reviewed by
phil thomas

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and helpful staff - great breakfasts!
Very pleasant, helpful staff. Good food - particularly the breakfasts. Rooms looking very tired, soundproofing poor, fixtures and fittings poor or broken. There is a general look that the entire hotel needs refurbishing.

Reviewed by
Jude W

From , UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next