No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cromwell

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
9-11 North Bar Street , Banbury, OX16 0TB
The Cromwell Lodge Hotel Banbury sits on the high street of the Busy Oxfordshire Market town of Banbury, very close to Banbury Cross with easy access to the M40 junction 11. The Cromwell Lodge Hotel an ideal base for exploring the local area. Banbury is a bustling town, with traditional street markets and high street chain stores.

There is a variety of night time entertainment, cinema, theatre, restaurant and clubs. The Hotel is nearby Oxford, Stratford-upon-Avon and Blenheim Palace, the birthplace of Sir Winston Churchill. You will be assured of a warm welcome and great hospitality. Car park is at the rear of the hotel.
Picture of Cromwell, Banbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
We stayed on a Thursday night for one night.
We were made very welcome and checked in earlier
Than the stated time.
The hotel is over 300 years old so has lots of character,and
Is modern.
The hotel was clean and the food was excellent
We would definaltely recommend.
The hotel is very well located in the town and is near to bars and
Shops but was still quiet.

Reviewed by
Julie H

From Notts, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Couldn't ask for anything more!
Great, free parking. Easy, friendly check in. Great room, perfect size and value.
The food was underwhelming at dinner, but breakfast was excellent.
Wifi was excellent.

Reviewed by
Tom I

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice food and staff but room rather pants
Lots of character to room but quality poor overall given cost, though I think we did get one of the lesser rooms in this place. Small room with floorboards sagging in middle of room and sub-optimal ventilation. Nice staff however and nice(ish) breakfast. Would not recommend however.

Reviewed by
R Hendra

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cromwell
Had a brilliant time here. Manager and staff extremely friendly would go back and stay.

Reviewed by
Mark Smith

From England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel close to all amenities
We were in Banbury for a Funeral. The room was good value as we got a deal. A great bar and garden area. Very pleasant and helpful staff. The Breakfast could have been warmer but was okay. In honesty I feel the food for buffet and the sugar in open dishes needed to be covered to stop flys . More noticeble because of the heat. I like the Cromwell though and would stay again as it is in keeping with the town.

Reviewed by
Angela P

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs a makeover
The hotel is in need of some TLC. The bedroom was okay but lacked drawer space of any description, the bathroom dark and the shower poor. We only stayed for one night so it was okay but I would have been disappointed had we been staying longer. Outside our room were dirty linens obviously removed from rooms but they remained there the following day also along with a vacuum cleaner which had not been put away. On the positive side the breakfast and service we received was excellent.
On checking in the receptionist greeted us in a friendly manner and advised there was a party being held at the hotel later that evening but it would be okay as we had been put at the front of the hotel away from the noise. On arriving back at our room at 11:15pm the party was continuing and was being held at the back of the venue as advised, however, what the receptionist failed to mention was our bedroom was over the bar area where the disco was being held. The noise was so loud it made the floorboards shake!

Reviewed by
J Jones

From DONCASTER, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice pub + garden, nice people, no shower and low ceilings, plenty of character. too busy for food

Reviewed by
Adam F

From Saxmundham, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad at all
The hotel itself is very well presented with the staff being warm, friendly and inviting creating a very nice environment. The rooms, whist comfortable and clean could do with smartening up as they are looking very old an worn. The food was very nice and the restaurant, garden and bar areas are all very nice places to relax. All in all a pleasant experience. A good hotel that could be great :)

Reviewed by
James H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable stay
Nothing to prevent me from enjoying a comfortable stay, with a high level of specification, spacious room and all the extras I would want.

Reviewed by
S Peters

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Staff, Poor room
Room was in need of a serious update, i would have been well mifted if I had paid the full charge for this room instead of the late booking price. Traffic noise was very intrusive through the night. That aside the new manager was brilliant and the staff serving breakfast were very helpful and friendly. The food was good.

Reviewed by
Steve N

From Hales, Norwich, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next