Cromwell

2

9-11 North Bar Street, Banbury, OX16 0TB

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (39)

79% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • R Shermer

  • August 2014

excellent central location, really nice friendly hotel with a clean spacious room

  • J Lines

  • August 2014

very tired hotel, cant belive its a 4 star, in need of an overhaul. Cant turn around in the shower

  • d norris

  • August 2014

right in the heart of banbury

stayed here many times it does its job excellent breakfast good staff you wouldn't wont to be paying more than £70 for a night however.

  • karen leeming

  • August 2014

a great place to stay in the heart of banbury

this was our first stay at the cromwell after it was recomended to us by family.

the hotel was everything we wanted in olde worlde charm, our room was lovely with a lovely quiet double aspect window. the room was very clean and beds very comfy, all staff we encountered were pleaseant and professional at all times. the hotel is only a stonesthrow from the main part of banbury so was ideal for us. breakfast was ample and warm with plenty of tea and toast, we will definately return, hopefully for longer next time.

  • phil thomas

  • July 2014

warm freindly clean

warm freindly reception, claen tidy rooms, good choice at breakfast

  • Jude W

  • July 2014

Friendly and helpful staff - great breakfasts!

Very pleasant, helpful staff.

Good food - particularly the breakfasts. Rooms looking very tired, soundproofing poor, fixtures and fittings poor or broken. There is a general look that the entire hotel needs refurbishing.

  • Kathleen P

  • April 2014

A lovely hotel with character.

The only criticism was the delay with breakfast. There was obviously staff shortage and we waited 45 minutes for our breakfast to be served. I only asked for beans on toast. There was no apology. If staffing for breakfast is increased I would stay again.

  • Phil J

  • April 2014

Great town-centre stop over

I have used the Cromwell many times and am pleased that the rooms have finally been re-furbished.

Service can be a bit hit and miss as they are trying to staff reception, the bar and the restaurant - same with the car park, it is also used as a local pub, so there were no spaces for guests when I arrived. Bar prices are the usual over-priced that seems to be the norm in Oxfordshire. The food quality was not brilliant, but certainly adequate. If you want Banbury, this is a fantastic location - this place tends to fluctuate between adequate and good - I did not catch them at their best on this occasion, but no complaints.

  • A Bailey

  • March 2014

We had a Lovely room, the bed was amazingly comfortable.

It was a bit noisy on the main road in the morning, so request a room out the back. Breakfast was superb, plenty to eat and very tasty. I would use this hotel again.

  • Robert H

  • February 2014

short stay

Had a lovely stay Cromwell lodge great for exploring Canterbury and surrounding cotswolds.

Fab room with real character and a real nice breakfast with plenty of choice. All staff friendly and helpful. Would definitely return again.