No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
55 Henderson Street Bridge of Allan, Stirling, FK9 4HG
Spoil yourself in the NEWLY REFURBISHED Royal Hotel. For your next romantic or short leisure breaks in Central Scotland – or for extended Scottish vacations or holidays in Scotland, stay in a great Scottish Victorian hotel. The Royal Hotel is an outstanding example of Scottish baronial architecture. A warm welcome to The Royal Hotel, Stirling’s premier leisure and business hotel. Relax and unwind in a very informal hotel, a delightful and tasteful combination of modern, professional service and comfort with a true concern for both customer care and environmental standards.

Superbly centrally situated in the delightful village of Bridge of Allan, right next door to Stirling city centre and excellent shopping, and close to local railway and bus connections. Excellent secure parking, rare in corporate hotels these days.

The hotel is a popular regular venue for the business or leisure travellers looking for a refreshing change from the standardised city centre ‘accommodation factory’. Here you are a valued guest, not a number, and a welcoming atmosphere of easy friendliness will strike you as soon as you enter. Offering FREE Wi-Fi

Picture of Royal Hotel, Stirling at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Service is great but the rooms badly need a refurb !
Staff, Food and Customer service all great - the biggest let down was the quality of the room and the facilities ( Bathroom door wouldn't shut, kept swinging open when on the toilet. Only one bulb out of 4 working in the bathroom, Main window wouldn't lock, shower a "Dribble" at best, very poor water pressure) - however suited our needs absolutely fine and you get what you pay for.

Reviewed by
G Nulty

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay Nov 14
we arrived late, they had all the paper work ready signed forms, paid money in room within 5 minutes, made use of late night bar,
Beds comfortable, not great but quite adequate. Shower could do with more power
Breakfast was good, plenty of choice, good quality cooked breakfast.

Reviewed by
David C

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly
Enjoyed our stay at the Royal Hotel - Previous reviews did not give this hotel credit. I have to add we were in a room looking over the main street - the room was lovely and warm with a large bathroom containing a bath although Thursday night was quiet on Saturday evening there was quite a bit of noise going on out side as a wedding was taken place in the hotel that day , so we just stayed up longer and had drinks in the bar and enjoyed the company of other guests. Breakfast was ok although we had a wait on Sunday morning as the hotel was busy due to the wedding the day before so it was obvious we would have a wait but staff we very good and did their best ( I would recommend the porridge it was very tastey).

Reviewed by
H Williamson

From Consett, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired dated and in need of a total refurbish.
This hotel needs a lesson in customer service and a total refurbishment. Everything is done on a very basic budget cash and carry style. Had to move room because the shower didn't work. Had to ask for basics eg toilet roll!

Reviewed by
f Mcdonald

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Hotel
We paid a budget price and got a budget room. Noisy central heating, could hear through the walls and experience the people above showering, bed was just OK. Lovely back of the hotel window vista of a roof and a chimney. On the plus the breakfast was good, nice staff and bright naturally lit restaurant aptly named "Windows". Hotel is central to everywhere and retains some olde world charm.

Reviewed by
RG B

From York, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice hotel with historic interest as Dickens and R.L. Stevenson stayed here. I had a very comfortable room and good breakfast. The hotel is very well located for Stirling University which is where we had business to conduct.

Reviewed by
L Porter

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired Room and Hotel
We have stayed here before but our room was very tired this time and we were dissapointed this time. The room was dark with no ceiling light just 2 bedisde lamps and a spotlight I had to take down to reception for a new fuse. It still made things difficult for my wife putting her makeup on. Especially as there was no mirror on the table just a large wall one on another wall. The shower head was lying in the bath when we arrived so I had to rig it up again. This was a delicate operation and it kept falling down. There was a knack to getting hot water out of the shower which involved runing the hot tap first. The towel rail was hanging off the wall and the shower head needed a clean. The bed was comfy but why do hotels still only have 3 pillows for a double room? The hotel seemed to be understaffed and breakfast was a bit disorganised. One jug of OJ doesn't last long in a full breakfast room! Drinks were expensive but there is a really good pub accross the road.

Reviewed by
C Bowden

From Ambleside, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. Unfortunately our room was not what we expected. When we walked into the room there was an odour which we suspected was smoke. There was a bulb out in the bathroom. The bath towels were quite rough. The power in the shower was poor. In the morning there was a noise in the room which we put down to the water tank which seemed to be directly above us. We did get an offer for Bed and Breakfast but the room let it down.

Reviewed by
E Strain

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Handy central location.
We picked this hotel in Bridge of Allan because it was close to the places we wanted to visit. The location of the hotel within Bridge of Allan is excellent and easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. However, the room we had was a bit tired and in need of a makeover. We were unable to open any windows and there was no form of ventilation either in the room or the bathroom which meant the room had a damp, musty smell about it. However, the size of the room was good and the facilities within the hotel were adequate for what we needed. One thing I would also point out though is that the hot water was scalding hot which was a bit of a concern with a 3 year old in tow.

Reviewed by
Alison M

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

poor customer experiance
room had dampness on walls , camp bed was uncomfortable due to join in middle which meant you had to lie on the bar this was not fit for purpose, floor boards were all uneven and made a lot of noise , smoke alram went off at 4am to which the hotel made no apology or explantion, we made a complaint about our room and our number was taken for the manager to call us back, still waiting

Reviewed by
raudy lockhart

From irvine, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next