Reviews - Olivers Lodge Hotel


50 Needingworth Road, ,, St Ives, PE27 5JP

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (28)

68% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • PAUL L

  • September 2015

Olivers Lodge Hotel

Enjoyable stay thanks to friendly staff and clean well equipped bedroom.

Comfortable bed and refurbished bathroom.Only point is the road noise at the rear of hotel.

  • Kieran H

  • July 2015

Er, don't............

Receptionist was fantastic, and great when serving in the bar late at night.

Didn't catch her name, excuse my ignorance of accents but my guess is she was Portuguese or Spanish. Deserves employee of the month, probably forever. The others, well least said soonest mended I believe the phrase is. In the morning, arrived for breakfast, basically told find yourself a table. Approximately 35 second later a slightly petulant teenaged demanded, rather than asked, what I wanted. I politely asked if I could have a couple of minutes to look at the menu. She returns 10 minutes later and asks if I've managed to make up my mind yet. Coffee was make it yourself instant, as was the tea. Food arrived expediently, not surprising as it was dried out having been cooked an hour before. Room had hole in the wall, shower less effective than a watering can. Scolding water out of the tap in the sink did burn my partner's hand. On checking out, no one on reception. Strange as they set the checkout time so would expect someone there. At this stage life was getting too short to ring a bell and wait. Left the keys on the desk and went to enjoy the sunshine. On the brightside, well located and free Wi-Fi is a bonus

Markets itself as a conference facility, more of a sub-budget hotel with lofty aspirations

  • Nigel H

  • July 2015

Not bad but noisy

The manager and staff were very accommodating and helpful.

The room was clean, but the bed was very soft. The room faced the street and being Friday night, all we heard all night was cars racing and drunk people talking and shouting. I'm sure the rooms at the back are less noisy.

  • Patricia W

  • April 2015

We were very impressed with Oliver's Lodge, the room was excellent, everything we needed was there.

the bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean and very nicely decorated. breakfast was excellent. the staff were very friendly. Being so close to St Ives town centre was great just a short walk to the shops and the bus station. We took the guided bus into Cambridge, a great way to travel to the city. we never needed to use our car during our stay.

  • paul s

  • March 2015


Hotel was clean and tidy friendly staff.only let down by breakfast not available until 8am on a saturday and shower not very powerful.

  • david c

  • February 2015

A friendly small hotel

We had a two night weekend break here in February.

The staff were very friendly. The room was quiet, a good size and comfortable as was the lounge area. Breakfast was very nice too.

  • A Green

  • December 2014

Business Trip

Standard hotel, the room was very cold and the bath/ shower was terrible tried to have a shower but the water just trickled out, ran a bath and it took 20 mins to fill

  • C Messer

  • December 2014

Oliver's Lodge Hotel

We found the staff at the hotel to be exceedingly polite.

The room was immaculately kept with all the facilities we needed. Service was fast and efficient. Comfortably warm and cosy all round.

  • Jenni M

  • December 2014

Oliver's Lodge Hotel

Worst breakfast ever upset stomach.

  • C Wood

  • November 2014

Couldn't do enough for us

The staff at Oliver's Lodge are all professional, polite and extremely helpful.

On arrival I explained that we would miss breakfast on the Saturday morning, as we had to leave early to set up for an event. I was offered a breakfast tray in my room, so that we were still able to partake of breakfast. This tray was duly supplied with cereals, fruit juice, 2 pieces of fresh fruit and milk in a bowl of ice to keep it cold. The room was pleasant and clean but the bath side was cracked and a light bulb was out. Apart from this and a few cobwebs above the arches as you walked down the stairs the hotel was great.