No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bridge Inn

0Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Bridge Inn, Santon Bridge, Wasdale, Holmrook, CA19 1UX
We welcome you to our little piece of England, which offers an experience which softer, prettier places cannot pretend to match. The Western Lakes and Fells are spectacular and here in this quiet valley there is still the peace and tranquility that should be Lakeland. There are still more sheep than people!!! Astonishing as it surely is "The True Lakeland" is unknown to the majority of visitors to the Lake District - we have space to mention only a little of what they are missing. Breathtaking lake and mountain scenery, Scafell Pike - England's highest mountain, Wastwater - the deepest lake and BRITAINS FAVOURITE VIEW and St Olaf's - the smallest church. "The Biggest Liar in the World" who is elected every year in November after a competition in The Bridge Inn, all this in the Wasdale Valley. The high level walking and climbing in the area is unrivalled, you don't have to be a champion - there are any number of walks and climbs for all levels of skill. Excellent “REAL” food, Cask Marque accredited “REAL” Ales, Log Fires and a "reet good welcome". Standards of accommodation today's travellers expect. “Home from home for the tired business person and the weary fell walker." The Bridge Inn has an excellent reputation for serving "REAL" food from our hearty Lakeland breakfast to our home cooked meals which are served either in the Dalesman Bar or the Eskdale Room, our "REAL CHIPS" are legendary. We also cater for informal meetings, training sessions or presentations to full company conferences. We now have new facilities available which include a Multimedia Data Projector, 92" screen, laserpointer and roaming microphone. Carvery/Buffet and A' la carte functions available for up to 120 in our function room for Wedding parties, dances or christenings. All our 16 ensuite bedrooms are equipped with flat screen freeview televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and wireless broadband. Some of our rooms are dog friendly at a charge.
Picture of Bridge Inn, Holmrook at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really friendly and welcoming staff. Cosy bar. Food is excellent and their is a great choice.

Reviewed by
S Lea

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location and food
Accommodation basic but nice.

Reviewed by
M Beardsworth

From Leyland, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint Country Inn
Quiet location and a very old country inn with plenty of character rooms although small were clean and tidy with uneven floors and squeaky floorboards but ideal for an out of the way break with excellent food served in the bar.

Reviewed by
L McVeigh

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room dated and lacking essential modernization. For example only single glazing. Impression of room being formed by collection of old odd pieces of furniture found at a clearance. Bed springs sounds like zebra dee from the magic roundabout kids program. The en suite bathroom is a cabin added to the room with old sliding door, again perhaps recovered from a house and painted. The top runner of the sliding door was fully of first and fluff, obviously accumulated over time!
Luckily we arrived late and only needed to sleep, otherwise we may have checked out. However, putting the location of the hotel into context, guests would probably only stay there if walking the fells, so in that respect the quality and old country charm permits it to get away with the lack of some basic standards expected from hotels these days! The bed itself was clean and proper.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your comments. The bed is due to been renewed shortly.

Reviewed by
Gerard V

From Luxembourg
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent!
Fantastic place, great room and just what we were looking for.
Friendly staff
Great pub/restaurant atmosphere
Would definitely recommend

Reviewed by
C Dawick

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic food & drink
Have stayed here before, many years ago for work but also within the last 12 months on a weekend. This time was on business & it was a good choice. Rooms are a little tired & floorboards very creaky. Staff i found were all very pleasant & helpful. Food was fantastic, lovely breakfast but superb evening meal. Hardly any mobile signal here but Wifi is good & there is a payfone in reception

Reviewed by
Nigel Smith

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Off the beaten track accomadation
Not so impressed with the evening meal which we took as an extra.

Reviewed by
gail b

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
booked one night on a whim just to have nice break from christmas , as regular visitors to the Bridge we knew what we were going to get and were not dissappointed great staff great food and comfortable accomodation all in a fantastic location . The unspoilt beauty of waswater and the peaks keeps bringing us back We have booked alonger stay for March I think our seventh stay which says it all.

Reviewed by
norman langton

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service, friendly people with superb beers.

Reviewed by
s simmonds

From Billingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 night weekend stay to climb scafell pike
Stayed in this lovely hotel while doing a mountain climb for charity. Great welcoming place and friendly staff, stayed in a single room and although the floor was very creaky the room was perfect for the stay.Comfortable bed and power shower, just what you need after a day climbing. The food is fantasticwith a good range of meals, reasonably priced and large portions of good quality food. Breakfast is just as great and sets uou up for the day. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the lakes or staying to climb scafell pike which is just a short drive. Would definately stay again!

Reviewed by
P Black

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next